We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Coconut Grove | Port of Airlie, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number: +61 427 863 474
Website
Today
7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:30 am - 9:00 pm
Description: Half Day & Full Day fishing charters to some of Whitsunday's best fishing...
Half Day & Full Day fishing charters to some of Whitsunday's best fishing locations.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 53 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 12
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 18
    Terrible
Good day out

Went out on the charter with my kids. First half of the day was good with a few nice fish. Lunch was nice at the cafe. Second half of the day wasn't as enjoyable as the skipper... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed July 21, 2014
David D
,
Nelson Bay, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This is my first and probably only review, but after this tour in particular I feel compelled to leave this for others to definitely go on. I went on this tour a month ago as well as few other tours whilst on a holiday to The Whitsundays. Most tours up there are designed as 'moneymakers' which unfortunately seems the 'norm'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your feedback.. We will pass all your comments to our skipper / fishing guide - Matt... I am sure he will be very happy as we are.. On another note, could you please let us know in what way ypu find our brochure misleading? We want to make sure that the product is promoted properly... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Matt the skipper was great, looked after everyone and tried his hardest to find us fish. Unfortunately not too many people caught any fish but not for lack of trying. It's a small boat and any more than 6 it gets tight but got my money's worth and the service was great. Overall a great day out. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Good day out on the boat company very professional and plenty of fishing gear to use but disappointed that we Did not catch many fish to take home

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Not sure how this can be considered a Whitsunday islands fishing adventure when we only traveled about 5 minutes out of the Airlie Beach harbor and spent most of the day within 100m of the mainland. Actually we spent the majority of the day with the skipper trying to anchor the boat amongst alot of fellow boat traffic. No one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Customer, to be honest we are quite puzzled by this review.. If you would include a day of the travel and your name I would be able to deal with this complaint directly with the skipper working that day. Saying that I would like to respond to issues outlined as bellow: First of all.. Are you sure you travelled... More 

Nelson Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went out on the charter with my kids. First half of the day was good with a few nice fish. Lunch was nice at the cafe. Second half of the day wasn't as enjoyable as the skipper spent most of the four hrs waiting for the tide change whilst basically wasting time with no real purpose. Owners were nice and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

boat over crowded 9 people on a 6 metre boat was very windy and cold,not a pleasant day at all but owner was nice & friendly, would try a different charter next time

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback. The boat is surveyed for 8 passengers however we have capped thee number of passengers to 6 people for extra personal space. In regards to the weather.. Unfortunately there is nothing I can do.. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have just arrived back from a morning fish with 'Gone Fishing'. Our son , Jack(12 yo) is the keen fisherman so we went for the ride and we are not disappointed! Matt was our skipper and looked after all of us; tracking down good areas for us to fish. Jerry and his wife were so helpful from the beginning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for the feedback. We are really glad that you and your family enjoyed your time on Gone Fishing. I will pass your comments to Matt - The skipper.. He would be very happy! See you soon! Tight Lines! More 

Sunshine coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

James our skipper was fantastic! The owners were Great, and did their best to ensure everyone had a great day, it was very cold and windy! But that's fishing. The boat is probably to small for 9, very cramped and hard to move around, a Max of 6 people would have been ideal. Thanks Again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear you have enjoyed yourselves despite the weather.. In regards to the number of passsangers on our boat, the boat is surveyed for 8 passangers & 1 Skipper however we have decided to "cap" the number of people booked for share charter to 6, for the comfort and more personal space. More 

Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Skipper was beyond rude , weather was so bad should if been cancelled, only caught small fish , waste of time and money! Would definitely not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Customer, you have wrote us an email with your feedback prior this review, asking for refund and I can only respond here what we have responded than. You have booked full day charter and yes the weather was not ideal however you have decided to travel. For the record we have cancelled afternoon part and you have been refunded... More 

Hervey Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A bit disappointing, all fish caught were small, rough seas, rain, total fishing time about 2 hours,Gerry and Mick were friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Airlie44, Public Relations Manager at Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for your feedback.. Yes, the weather and tide conditions were not ideal when you have travelled.. Unfortunately that is something we cannot control.. On positive note, great to hear that our staff have tried their best..hopefully next time sun will be shining and fish will be biting.. More 

Travelers who viewed Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB also viewed

 

Been to Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gone Fishing by Coral Sea Fishing Charters AB staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?