We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number: +61 7 4948 0856
Website
Description: The best day sailing, snorkelling and diving in the Whitsundays. Relax on...
The best day sailing, snorkelling and diving in the Whitsundays. Relax on a 12m catamaran, with space to lounge, and escape the elements too. Perfect for all ages. Visit the beautiful Blue Pearl Bay on Hayman Island, and Langford reef, where you may even get to swim with turtles. We might not look like an old pirate ship or charge like one, but we do offer more sailing and snorkelling time than most, and we charge much less. Small numbers too mean plenty of space to sit or lie down.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 74 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 47
    Excellent
  • 11
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 7
    Terrible
Overall great day out on the water

There is very little room for complaint when you are spending the day out on the water at the beautiful Whitsundays! Booking a tour on a weekend we were surprised to get a spot on... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 24, 2014
Lozihope
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014 via mobile

This revue is not rating the operators only the Whitsun days, the operators of this craft ate rude to the public and there passengers !

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
negreta, Owner at Illusions Whitsundays, responded to this review

We have checked all our records for the period of time prior to this review and cannot find anybody with this name on our manifest. If we ever speak to the public or any passenger in an abrupt or stern manner it would be because someone has broken the rules for the safety and well being for our passengers or... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Our family had a great day out with Naomi, Josef and the other 12 travellers. Illusions was the first boat out of the marina in the morning and the last to return providing a full day of entertainment. The snorkelling was wonderful, coral was stunning on the first stop and swimming behind turtles on the 2nd. Lunch provided was brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

There is very little room for complaint when you are spending the day out on the water at the beautiful Whitsundays! Booking a tour on a weekend we were surprised to get a spot on the boat being a weekend and such a small vessel. Pickup was on time and weather was great! We were asked to place our shoes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
negreta, Owner at Illusions Whitsundays, responded to this review

We do appreciate and thank you for your comments. We would like to address a couple of the issues that your brought up. 1. As per all vessels operating in the Whitsundays shoes are not worn on the boat for safety. We therefore store them in a large container to keep them tidy. 2. It is impossible to carry wetsuits... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Was an ok day out - was windy so some passengers were sick early on. Whole thing felt very rushed - not much relaxing thats for sure - dropped off at Blue Pearl Bay for snorkelling - coral beach without our shoes so most people I met had cuts on their feet from just trying to walk around. Wetsuits had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
negreta, Owner at Illusions Whitsundays, responded to this review

As we explained to your friends in a previous review below..."Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you felt rushed, considering that we are the boat that allows more time for snorkelling than any other vessel in the Whitsundays. Not only that on the day you travelled with us we actually spent over 15 mins longer at the... More 

Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked this cruise as we absolute love snorkeling, we were not disappointed. Thankfully the weather was beautiful and warm. We got picked up from Club Croc and collected the rest of the group before heading down to the marina where we boarded Illusion. Very friendly welcome from the skipper and Naomi. Headed out to our first snorkeling area called Blue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From start to finish it felt as if we were rushed a little, I felt it was a little unprofessional to not introduce the crew properly as every other day trip we did they have us a bit of a background on the crew which have it a nice touch....the first beach we went too was nice but the coral... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
negreta, Owner at Illusions Whitsundays, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you felt rushed, considering that we are the boat that allows more time for snorkelling than any other vessel in the Whitsundays. Not only that on the day you travelled with us we actually spent over 15 mins longer at the second location than we normally do, due to the weather... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were going for snorkeling with this company. We were picked up from the hotel on time. It was a long trip from Airlie beach marina to Hamilton island. So if you have seasickness this trip is not for you. Sea conditions were moderate, strong wind, so passengers didn't feel well. The snorkeling spots were not the best - water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
negreta, Owner at Illusions Whitsundays, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and positive comments. We would like to clarify a couple of points. 1. We do not go to Hamilton Island - our destinations are Hayman and Langford Islands. 2. People can get seasick in any conditions, and any types of vessels, though most commonly on motor vessels. Generally sailing catamarans have less cases of seasickness... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is long but if you are on the fence, read this! The previous day we were on one of the big charters to the Great Barrier Reef...It was not a good experience for me as a diver. We booked this charter and I almost cancelled because I had such a bad experience the day before....I am glad I did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The Illusions trip is a well-organized, efficient and enjoyable sailing trip. Joseph and Naomi are amiable hosts. They make you feel at home on their boat and do their best to ensure a comfortable atmosphere. The service and food were fine. I very much enjoyed our dive at Hayman Island under the supervision of Naomi who is a proficient and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We spend a day on the boat with lovely Naomi and Joseph. Very friendly people and the boat is great, with different areas you can chill out. Lunch was okay, it was all a bit blend but enough for everyone. We choose to dive and ended up with 5 people plus one instructor. We felt that wasn't enough because 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Illusions Whitsundays also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Illusions Whitsundays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Illusions Whitsundays and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Illusions Whitsundays staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?