We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number: 0412 811 838
Website
Description: Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild...
Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.
read more
Visit like an insider
$54*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 102 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 48
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 14
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Enjoyable trip just a bit unfortunate

After reading previous reviews it, it angers me when people have complained about the 'swim'. I had no trouble with the swimming, in fact I was very happy to see some dolphins in... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 31, 2015
Fiona M
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

I was really looking forward to this trip but it was mainly ruined by one of the staff members (young guy, probably about 21, blonde hair who's name I think begun with a T) Firstly, the wetsuits you are provided with are very old and torn in places, the snorkels are completely ruined and it's hard to get them to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen W, Staff member at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Hi my name in Trent and I am the person who handed out your wetsuit and conducted the second wetsuit and snorkel briefing at the back of the boat. Firstly I would like to apologise if you felt that I was rude, I was certainly not trying to be. I remember you as we have never had someone say a... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

It was a really bad experience. We had to withstand the rough sea and cold wind for 4 hours but could not see any dolphins. They should have just cancel the tour if they know that the weather is too bad and the dolphins will not appear! The crew claim that they saw dophins and do not want to refund... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your wild dolphin experience. Firstly the conditions on the day you went out were a lot worse than was predicted, it was OK first thing then the water got a lot choppier than expected and we had very cloudy conditions which made it very hard to spot dolphins. It was cold but this does not... More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

If you order a cheese platter you will have to collect it yourself prior to departure from a cafe on the marina. We ordered a few platters so we had to queue for a while juggling cheese platters. Boarding took a while then we had to sit on the floor of the vessel as there is barely enough room for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do order our platters through one of the cafe’s in the marina, but that cafe you do need to walk past to get to the boat which is easy to pop in and pick it up – the reason we do it this way is to keep the platters as fresh as possible as... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We were looking for an interesting place to host my parents' 40th wedding anniversary, and decided on the Temptation catamaran out of Glenelg. Best decision ever. We were able to take platters for catering and could have up to 50 people on the boat. The staff were friendly, helpful when needed and discrete when we didn't need them. Everyone on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so please that you all enjoyed your time on-board and hope your parents had a good anniversary. More 

Nowra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We recently did this "dolphin swim or watch tour", we had a glorious day but with the grey cloud it made visibility somewhat difficult. Admittedly you don't need to be a strong swimmer in actual fact you really don't need to be a swimmer at all your wet suit will keep you bouyant. The boat did a total of 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately the dark clouds can make it difficult to spot the dolphins and see them in the water. We hope to be able to welcome you back on-board when the sun is out. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Wow!!! What an experience, We saw lots of dolphins and they came very close to us. Even one pod swam under the boat. The crew was fantastic, very friendly, Knowledgeable and helpful. They worked hard to spot the Dolphins and direct the swimmers to the water. It was an overcast day with grey sky, grey water and we were looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time on-board and with the dolphins, it is truly amazing seeing them underwater in their natural environment. We hope to be able to welcome you back on-board should you ever be back in Adelaide. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

After reading previous reviews it, it angers me when people have complained about the 'swim'. I had no trouble with the swimming, in fact I was very happy to see some dolphins in their natural habitat. Unfortunately, I only seen 6 dolphins and would have liked to see more but that is no fault of the crew at Temptation. Folks,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate your honest feedback. More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Had a lovely day seen bottle nose and common Dolphins common Dolphins swim right next to you and you. We were in the water for a long time which got lots of veiws. Bad side is other passengers putting terrified young kids in the water and not following simple rules which destroyed one of our swims.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

The dolphin swimming experience is definitely an unforgettable one, noting that they're completely wild and that you're being towed behind a boat in open waters! Because of the skittish nature of the animals, you shouldn't expect this to be an experience like you might get at sea life or another theme park, but you can be confident in knowing that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your realistic review and understanding the nature of wild dolphins. More 

Blackburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

A great way to spend 4 hours...with close dolphin encounters! We saw heaps of Dolphins and the "swim" also got us close up views! Parts of it...particularly for the swimmers could be better organised. I believe there was an unnecessary delay on boarding - signing the forms! And then the instructions for the swimmers were really not the best. Suggestion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and had many close encounters with the wild dolphins. We appreciated your improvement suggestions, some of which cannot be done due to legal documentation, but others that we can definitely adapt. Hopefully we will see you back on-board... More 

Travelers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Port Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Temptation Sailing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?