We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Temptation Sailing

Address: Marina Pier, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number: 0412 811 838
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$54*
and up
68%
Ranked #5 of 16 Attractions in Glenelg
Owner description: Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    9
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Had a lovely day seen bottle nose and common Dolphins common Dolphins swim right next to you and you. We were in the water for a long time which got lots of veiws. Bad side is other passengers putting terrified young kids in the water and not following simple rules which destroyed one of our swims.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Lavington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

The dolphin swimming experience is definitely an unforgettable one, noting that they're completely wild and that you're being towed behind a boat in open waters! Because of the skittish nature of the animals, you shouldn't expect this to be an experience like you might get at sea life or another theme park, but you can be confident in knowing that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your realistic review and understanding the nature of wild dolphins. More 

Blackburn, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

A great way to spend 4 hours...with close dolphin encounters! We saw heaps of Dolphins and the "swim" also got us close up views! Parts of it...particularly for the swimmers could be better organised. I believe there was an unnecessary delay on boarding - signing the forms! And then the instructions for the swimmers were really not the best. Suggestion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience and had many close encounters with the wild dolphins. We appreciated your improvement suggestions, some of which cannot be done due to legal documentation, but others that we can definitely adapt. Hopefully we will see you back on-board... More 

Workington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015 via mobile

We have been to lots of places in the world where there are Dolphins but had only managed to see them from a great distance. At last I saw them! My husband and I booked this trip through a travel company who had booked 2 swim tickets. Now I am terrified of deep water so no way! My husband went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We are glad that you both enjoyed your dolphin experience, it was a shame you changed your mind and just done the watch - I am glad you were reimbursed your down grade with no problems. More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

When interacting with wildlife nothing is guaranteed, however, listen carefully to the instructions you're given and with Poseidon your side, you could end up with a day you remember for a long time. Every effort was made on my cruise and there were several encounters. Whether the dolphins come to you is the luck of the draw and they must... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review, we really appreciate it. Your review is very realistic and we appreciate that. We hope to see you back on-board in the near future. More 

Adelaide
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Went today with my family in 38 degree heat which was probably the best heat to be out there. The guys working on the boat were friendly and laid back like ourselves and made us feel comfortable, as well as explaining cautions and instructing clearly before commencing activities. We went in the water about 5 times behind the boat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed the Dolphin experience and saw so many, it is great seeing them in the wild and we feel blessed every day. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back on-board in the near future. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I came out on the 3rd of January 2015 and had one of the best experiences of my life! Awesome hot weather, educated and friendly staff as well as Dolphins that didn't leave us alone... Well I couldn't have asked for it any other way! We left Glenelg marina and cruised for a while whilst we had a safety brief,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your Wild Dolphin Swim experience with us, dolphins are truly amazing creatures. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back on-board in the future. More 

England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Beware anyone visiting Adelaide deciding to go on a swim with the dolphins trip, avoid at all costs Temptation Sailing, Marina Pier, Holdfast, Glenelg. Had the most terrible experience, and expensive. Treated like a heard of cattle, move to the front, sit down, (small amount of floor space per person), jump in, stop, get out! 2 attempts were made, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen W, Owner at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Sorry you did not enjoy your wild dolphin experience. Unfortunately being wild dolphins we are unable to guarantee what the interaction will be like as it varies from day to day, this is mentioned on our website. But please be aware we do not put any swimmers in the water unless the dolphins are coming over to the boat, and... More 

Glenelg, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

3rd January'15. 18 Excited "Hens" embarked on the Temptation for a fun day at sea for my daughter's hen party. We had been checking the forcasted weather conditions for 3 days leading up to our "BIG DAY OUT" & made several calls to the Temptation raising our concerns only to be told weather would be fine for sailing & dolphin... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stephen W, Owner at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

We do encourage feedback for our cruises as this helps with improving our services, however, I do find your feedback incorrect and slanderous and this kind of defamatory feedback is really not necessary. Firstly the cruise the organiser of your party booked and paid for was an afternoon private coastal sailing cruise, this has nothing to do with our morning... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015 via mobile

Let me start off by saying that the adults in our group enjoyed the 'swim' portion (once we got out heads around what it actually consisted of) and the kids saw plenty of Dolphin pods while riding at the front. It was a lovely day for it. However the attraction was a far cry from how it was advertised and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Stephen W, General Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, all reviews good or bad will help us become better at what we do. We are sorry to hear that your children did not enjoy their dolphin swim and that it was not what you expected The minimum age for a swimmer on our boat... More 

Travelers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Port Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Temptation Sailing staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?