We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Get directions
Address: Obley Rd | PO Box 831, Dubbo, New South Wales NSW 2830, Australia
Phone Number: 61 2 6881 1400
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 843 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 528
    Excellent
  • 219
    Very good
  • 58
    Average
  • 24
    Poor
  • 14
    Terrible
Most recent review
Fun!

We had driven through Dubbo on a couple of occasions and always wanted to go to Dubbo Zoo. We hired a buggy and had a great time driving around. It would have been a different... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 30, 2015
ljr2612
,
Melbourne, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015 NEW

We had driven through Dubbo on a couple of occasions and always wanted to go to Dubbo Zoo. We hired a buggy and had a great time driving around. It would have been a different experience if we had used our own car. I am glad we didn't hire the bikes as I originally wanted to do as it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW

We were passing through Dubbo and decided to visit the zoo after reading great reviews about it. I wasn't disappointed. Overall very good but there are some pro's and cons as listed.... Pro's Spacious, well laid out park, very clean, no litter etc A real variety of animals that you can get up close to You can drive, cycle, walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comprehensive review of your day at the Zoo. We are happy to hear to that you had a good day out with your family. Thank you also for providing us with some constructive feedback, that will be useful for us for future planning. We look forward to having you back to the Zoo again in... More 

Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW

Yes its in the middle of nowhere but wow. We were fortunate enough to stay a night in the zoofari section of the zoo and its the way to go. It was 5 star all the way. Your in a private enclosed part of the zoo which has a beautiful restaurant/bar/pool area, you get an afternoon tour, dinner, an evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your fantastic review of your stay at Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time, and hopefully created memories to last a lifetime. We look forward to having you back to stay with again in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW

I have been to the Zoo a few times. There are lots of ways to get around while you are there. Depending on your level of fitness you can walk, ride a bike or take a cart. Alternately drive your car. Recommended for any age.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of the Zoo. We are glad to hear that you came back for another visit, and that it was a great day. We look forward to having you back again in the future. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015 NEW

We stopped in Dubbo for 2 days & always wanted to see this zoo & we were not disappointed, had a fabulous day walking around with perfect weather. It's obvious that the place has been built with the animals as the first focus. We went to a few of the talks at the enclosures given by the keepers which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are so glad to hear that you had a fabulous day exploring our Zoo. You are correct in saying that our animals do come first. We hope to have you back to visit us again when you are passing through Dubbo. More 

uk vulcan
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

Can really see the animals well. Lots of ways to tour but the electric buggies are the best. Also early morning guided tour gets more background info

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your day at the Zoo and partaking in an Early Morning Walk. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. More 

Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 NEW

the extra inside tours are worth considering if you want to get closer to the animals e.g. the african animal tour was $29 for about an hour and the tour guide was friendly and informative

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review your day at the Zoo. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day and the Wild Africa Tour. We hope to have you back to visit us again in the future. More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 NEW

My family of 5 stayed a night in the Zoofari Lodges at Dubbo Zoo. It was absolutely first class and an experience both my husband and my children will always remember. The accomodation was excellent, the food delicious and the behind the scenes tours educational and exciting. This was the highlight of our road trip and we would recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello Fiona, Thank you for your excellent review of Zoofari Lodge. We are delighted to hear that your family had a wonderful stay, taking away memories that will last them a lifetime. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again in the future. More 

Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW

You can hand feed a giraffe for $7.50!!!!! Highly recommend as even young children are allowed to participate (my son was 13 moths old SG the time)

Was this review helpful? Yes
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 'Giraffe's in Focus' encounter. We look forward to having you back to visit the Zoo again in the future. More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We hired bikes, went single speed as we figured that'd be fine for young fit family like ours. Well, we hear they have ordered some new bikes which is a good thing as the $60 we spent to hire these was a complete rip-off. Spend the extra few dollars and get the geared bikes, they're much newer and you'll probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TarongaWesternPlains, Guest Relations Manager at Taronga Western Plains Zoo, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your review of your day out at the Zoo. We are very sorry to hear that you found our hire bikes to be too expensive, and to be of a low standard. We are currently in the process of updating and replenishing our bicycle fleet, however due to the number of bikes we have, and the... More 

Travelers who viewed Taronga Western Plains Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Taronga Western Plains Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taronga Western Plains Zoo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?