We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punting on the Avon

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2 Cambridge Terrace, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-366 0337
Website
Today
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Description: Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing...
Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing. Your Edwardian Punter will guide you quietly past trailing willows, woodlands and leafy banks as you absorb the beauty of Christchurch’s Botanic Gardens. Punting on the beautiful Avon River is an iconic Christchurch attraction not to be missed. Each Punting tour is 30 minutes duration with informative commentary, and you are returned to your point of departure.
read more
Limited Time! Save 10% when you spend $600
Book ahead on Viator
$17*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 116 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 78
    Excellent
  • 31
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
A Must Try.

You feel like you're in Europe if you do these. Our ticket cost us (family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids) about NZ175 and includes this and 3 other attractions (Botanical gardens... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 15, 2015
gi2ern
,
Sydney, Australia

Similar Things to Do in Christchurch

Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Visited 2 weeks ago on Sunday afternoon which was not busy at all. Nice garden, Nice punter and Nice ducks but terrible ticket officer! Paid for 3 adults and 2 children and wait for more than 1 hour but still need to share the tiny boat with another 3 full size adults who tried any possible ways to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am deeply disappointed that you did not enjoy your time on the river and am sorry that you feel 'cheated' out of the experience. However, I am also confused by some of the information in your review, which I do take very seriously. You state that it was not... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

You feel like you're in Europe if you do these. Our ticket cost us (family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids) about NZ175 and includes this and 3 other attractions (Botanical gardens, Tram and Gondola ride. They're right next to each other except for the Gondola ride. You can take the courtesy bus from the Botanical gardens to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Many thanks for coming punting and posting a review! I see you took advantage of our 'Christchurch Pass' which gives you access to all of the Welcome Aboard attractions in Christchurch. This offers you a substantial saving over separate purchases of tickets for the individual attractions. Again, many thanks for coming punting and we hope we might see your family... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We enjoyed a punt along the Avon, it was a magical and fun trip. People on the banks waved, we chatted with our fellow puntees and our hard working guide. The gardens along the river were lovely and despite seeing some Earthquake damage, in many ways it was time out from the CBD's sad state.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatan-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

My husband and myself visited Christchurch for only a quick day before our flight home after a busy 11 days exploring both the North and South islands. We wish we could have had more time in Christchurch but punting on the Avon was a definite highlight! After a very adrenaline-filled and exhausting (though amazing) 11 days, we both could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

11 days to explore both islands would be exhausting! Thank you for choosing to come punting when you had limited time in Christchurch. We really appreciate your custom and are very happy that we could offer you one of your highlights during your trip. If you ever come back to Christchurch it would be lovely to take you out on... More 

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Quite and inexpensive trip Punting on the water, and the views, gorgeous, and the staff outstanding, it was cold but we were given a blanket. Highly recommend. What a beautiful sight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking a trip with us! We strive to offer great service and keep punting as much an authentic English experience as possible. Your comments make us glad that we are achieving our goal. It would be wonderful to see you on the river again in the future, next time you are in Christchurch. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Its a really great and romantic way to spend the 30mins. The Punter will provide you with commentary and introduction. I went on the ride on end of May so the weather was rather chilly. They provided us with a blanket and hot water bottle which made the ride more enjoyable. The scenery was beautiful and the experience was relaxing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for coming punting with us and taking the time to write a review. We are now moving into the cooler months and as this is an outdoor activity, we try to keep you as warm as possible. I am very happy to hear that you appreciated our blankets and hot water bottles Passengers find them so hard... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We went on the trip that went up the north of the river. It was a nice chilled out experience but the scenery wasn't amazing - I think the southern ride is a little more picturesque as it takes you through the botanic gardens. The river is quite shallow in places so we got stuck a couple of times! Nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for coming punting with us and taking the time to write a review! You are correct about our City site being shallow at the moment. We have had a hot and dry summer and this leads to less water running through the Avon. Coupled with new channels being designed, this has meant that the boats do touch the... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The only negative thing to say is I wish it went longer! It was truly relaxing and we enjoyed sitting back whilst the gentleman took us along the river. I loved that the employees were dressed to fit the part. Ours had a long mustache :) one suggestion I have is even though he was informative about the questions my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

We are glad you got a chance to experience Punting before you left NZ! We wish that we could spend longer on the river too, but with a finite amount of hours in the day that would mean that others would miss out on the experience. However, if you book in advance it is possible for us to arrange a... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

We had a lovely morning punting on the River, with many ducks, flowers and a charming young man doing all the work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time on the river with the ducks. Morning is a very peaceful time to get to enjoy the Avon. If you are ever in Christchurch again, we hope that we might see you on the river again. More 

Berwick St John
Level Contributor
253 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

I went punting as part of a 'Grand Tour' and it was lovely and one of my favourite parts of the day. I don't think it is expensive, all the staff are wonderful and the photos for sale were both well taken and reasonably priced. Wished I could have gone again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

We are glad that found your punting experience to be 'surprisingly lovely'. Sometimes people think punting will be cheesy or be a cliche, but once they have been out on a boat with the guide, they find it to be quite refreshing. We think the Grand Tour includes some of the city's best attractions and sights, so we are extremely... More 

Travelers who viewed Punting on the Avon also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Punting on the Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punting on the Avon

Address: 2 Cambridge Terrace, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-366 0337
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Punting on the Avon and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Punting on the Avon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?