We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punting on the Avon

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2 Cambridge Terrace, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 3-366 0337
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Description: Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing...
Come aboard your classic Punt at the historic Antigua Boat Sheds landing. Your Edwardian Punter will guide you quietly past trailing willows, woodlands and leafy banks as you absorb the beauty of Christchurch’s Botanic Gardens. Punting on the beautiful Avon River is an iconic Christchurch attraction not to be missed. Each Punting tour is 30 minutes duration with informative commentary, and you are returned to your point of departure.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
$16*
and up
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 32
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
A must do!

My partner booked is in to go punting for my birthday and I loved every minute of it! The staff were great and made us feel very welcome! Adrian was the man who took us for the... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 25, 2015
Samarah007
,
Christchurch, New Zealand

Similar Things to Do in Christchurch

Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2015

My partner booked is in to go punting for my birthday and I loved every minute of it! The staff were great and made us feel very welcome! Adrian was the man who took us for the ride, and he was awesome! Funny and engaging, what a great asset to the company! I would love to do this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015

First, their brochure information is confused. there are 2 depots for this "relax" and "romantic" punting. But no any mention that there is one depot isn't open during the week days. 2nd, we asked the guy who sold the ticket to us where to park and find this depot, unfortunately , he gave us "wrong" information and let us walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2015

Just completed punting on the Avon! I must say, great service from all the lads. I would highly recommend this to others. They made us feel comfortable and warm with a blanket, when it started to rain they offered us a water proof blanket and an umbrella. I cannot express enough about how welcoming the guys were! Great service!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your punting experience, even if it did rain. i will pass on your appreciation of the service to the staff who were on that day. Many thanks again for coming punting with us! More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2015

Amazing day, such helpful staff and a very knowledgable and entertaining tour guide. Would recommend to all friends and family and would defiantly come again if back in Christchurch. And thanks for the beautiful photos!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

We are really glad that you had an amazing time out on the river with us! I will pass your comments on to our staff. They are always happy to hear that they are doing a good job impressing visitors with their knowledge. Thank you for recommended Punting to your family and friends as well. It is always pleasing to... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015

This is an inexpensive fun boat ride. You will feel relaxed watching the beautiful scenery from the gardens and watching ducks in the clear spring water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Many thanks for writing a review about your punting experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your time out on the water among the ducks. Punting is a very relaxing experience and one that is highly recommended if you want to take a break from busy city life. We hope that we might see you out on the river again... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

Visited 2 weeks ago on Sunday afternoon which was not busy at all. Nice garden, Nice punter and Nice ducks but terrible ticket officer! Paid for 3 adults and 2 children and wait for more than 1 hour but still need to share the tiny boat with another 3 full size adults who tried any possible ways to get the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am deeply disappointed that you did not enjoy your time on the river and am sorry that you feel 'cheated' out of the experience. However, I am also confused by some of the information in your review, which I do take very seriously. You state that it was not... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

You feel like you're in Europe if you do these. Our ticket cost us (family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids) about NZ175 and includes this and 3 other attractions (Botanical gardens, Tram and Gondola ride. They're right next to each other except for the Gondola ride. You can take the courtesy bus from the Botanical gardens to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Many thanks for coming punting and posting a review! I see you took advantage of our 'Christchurch Pass' which gives you access to all of the Welcome Aboard attractions in Christchurch. This offers you a substantial saving over separate purchases of tickets for the individual attractions. Again, many thanks for coming punting and we hope we might see your family... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We enjoyed a punt along the Avon, it was a magical and fun trip. People on the banks waved, we chatted with our fellow puntees and our hard working guide. The gardens along the river were lovely and despite seeing some Earthquake damage, in many ways it was time out from the CBD's sad state.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chatan-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

My husband and myself visited Christchurch for only a quick day before our flight home after a busy 11 days exploring both the North and South islands. We wish we could have had more time in Christchurch but punting on the Avon was a definite highlight! After a very adrenaline-filled and exhausting (though amazing) 11 days, we both could have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

11 days to explore both islands would be exhausting! Thank you for choosing to come punting when you had limited time in Christchurch. We really appreciate your custom and are very happy that we could offer you one of your highlights during your trip. If you ever come back to Christchurch it would be lovely to take you out on... More 

Palmerston North
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Quite and inexpensive trip Punting on the water, and the views, gorgeous, and the staff outstanding, it was cold but we were given a blanket. Highly recommend. What a beautiful sight.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomeAboardCHCH, General Manager at Punting on the Avon, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking a trip with us! We strive to offer great service and keep punting as much an authentic English experience as possible. Your comments make us glad that we are achieving our goal. It would be wonderful to see you on the river again in the future, next time you are in Christchurch. More 

Travelers who viewed Punting on the Avon also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Punting on the Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Punting on the Avon and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Punting on the Avon staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?