We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driftwood Ecotours Limited

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 749 Dillons Point Road, Blenheim 7273, New Zealand
Phone Number: 64 3 5777 651
Website
Today
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Description: Driftwood Eco-tours is operated by Will Parsons, whose family has farmed...
Driftwood Eco-tours is operated by Will Parsons, whose family has farmed in Marlborough since the 1870s. Will has extensive local knowledge and personal contacts allowing you access to a 2200 hectare wildlife park. Tours are by 4WD vehicle, kayaking or hiking and cater your party exclusively.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 99 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 88
    Excellent
  • 8
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Will's Mystery Tour

Great trip exploring parts of the river system not seen before. Will is a very good guide and knowledgeable on the points of interest, A very interesting afternoon.

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 13, 2015
David D
,
Blenheim, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

A serene experience on a calm day paddling down the Opawa with the outgoing tide and paddling back again with the incoming tide.Will Parsons has a wealth of historical knowledge and a depth of appreciation of his environment which he passes to his fellow paddlers with great enthusiasm.We only had a taste but will be eager to go out on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Manager at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

This was a birthday present 'Meet the spoonbill tour' which we finally succeeded in implementing and what fun it was. This couple were a delight to share our environment with and would be welcome again anytime. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Great trip exploring parts of the river system not seen before. Will is a very good guide and knowledgeable on the points of interest, A very interesting afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

This was a fascinating tour with some local historians and those who wanted to share and contribute to this environment. It's always encouraging to see locals wanting to enjoy and appreciate so thank you for your review. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

I was told the only option available for me was the 4 hour tour so even though it was priced extremely high compared to the other kayak venues I had used in the Able Tasman I decided to get out of the vineyards and go for it. Halfway through I regretted this decision. The website clearly states at your own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your tour with us. We hope that you had a pleasurable holiday in New Zealand. Cheers Will and Rose. More 

Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The Kayak was very stable and I wish I had taken my DSLR camera in the Kayak. The photo opportunities were excellent. If you can pack a longer lens circa 300mm even better. Will's knowledge is vast and he is so enthusiastic. At the same time he is very friendly and supportive. If I get the chance to revisit New... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Hi Max, We loved hosting you both. Hope we see you again on a future visit to New Zealand. Cheers Will. More 

Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We paddled out on to the river as the sun was rising over the hills – a beautiful, warm clear morning. Travelling in two double kayaks we proceeded down the river - easy paddling going with the tide. As we paddled Will told us much about the birdlife and history of the river and its surroundings. Birdlife is abundant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking time to review your experience with us. Glad you enjoyed it so much. We live in paradise! Cheers Will More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We´ve planed a Kayaktour on the 30th of Dezember 2014. But the windy weather said no to our planing. Instead we made sightseeing by car and tried Olive oil from Rose. Will knows a lot of the land, the animals and the history about his homeland. So we took a lot of impressions back to Germany. Only the rate was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. As per our website" if the weather is not suitable for kayaking a van tour to the same area will be offered". Other options include a refund or postponement. This tour has the higher value of $220 per person but we offer at the kayak tour rate. The... More 

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

We booked this trip with Will very spontaneously. He is very funny and has a high knowledge about the animals and the surrounding itself. We felt very safe at any time. It was really funny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Manager at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Sabrina, Cheers Will. More 

Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I really wanted to enjoy this tour....and give a good rating....esepcially knowing it is family run and an eco tour. HOWEVER, i felt the tour was far to expensive at $180 per person for what is essentially, just kayaking down a river. Will the guide, is as mentioned in other reviews, a superb ambassador for the area. He is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your tour and apologise for not giving you the other tour options before you made your decision. Cheers Will and Rose. More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I booked this trip very spontaneously and it was worth it. Will (owner) is very friendly and has a high knowledge about the animals and the surrounding itself. I felt very safe at any time. Great Trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Manager at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

Great to have you along Alex, hope we see you again. Thanks for the review. Cheers Will and Rose. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

We have enjoyed one of the very best days imaginable on the Wairau Lagoons with Will - his knowledge and love of this stunningly beautiful area is utterly incredible. He could best be described as a true Eco-Warrior who has great passion for sharing this very special part of N.Z. We saw such a variety of birds and we all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oscar2NewZealand, Owner at Driftwood Ecotours Limited, responded to this review

We are blessed with a lovely environment. It is always a pleasure to share it with people with an appreciation for nature and history. Come again! The river and lagoon like the seasons are always changing... More 

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Ecotours Limited also viewed

 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Driftwood Ecotours Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Driftwood Ecotours Limited staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?