We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

103 Napier-Taupo Rd, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
+64 7-377 2913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 43 activities in Taupo
Type: Spas
Owner description: Living Waters Spa at Taupo DeBrettsA Volcanic Spa ExperienceRelax your body and soothe your soul in the tranquil world of this unique spa experience.... more » Owner description: Living Waters Spa at Taupo DeBrettsA Volcanic Spa ExperienceRelax your body and soothe your soul in the tranquil world of this unique spa experience. This is where the healing mineral waters of DeBretts Hot Springs combine with therapeutic massage and luxurious body treatments to leave you feeling amazingly relaxed and rejuvenated.Each treatment starts with a complimentary soak in the therapuetic warm waters at Taupo Hot Springs. Then, enjoy a unique New Zealand treatment including massage, Hot Volcanic Rock Massage, Warm Thermal Mud Wrap or Tribal Body Ritual. Rejuvenating Facials and other body and beauty treatments make this a spa experience you will not soon forget. « less
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    61
    14
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taumarunui
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

An excellent and safe environment for family and individuals. All-round success. My family and friends have spent many occasions at this venue. Very safe, friendly and affordable too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 NEW

A wonderful place to relax with the children either after a day skiing or simply as a means of relaxation on its own.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Taupo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

Lovely spot, very pretty at night time with the lighting and the steam. Hot soak in private pools, different temperatures to suit, everything is very clean and well maintained. Staff very friendly. Outside pools great too, need to go back to try out the water slide.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 NEW

I am surprised to read that Debretts is seen as overpriced. I guess because we had a Campervan stay deal included it was different for us. My wife & I actually felt it was great value & we did use the facilities a few times, again that's where the value is to be had. Really liked both the private &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gisborne, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked a 3 night midweek special beg June in a superior lodge, the rooms exceeded expectations with underground heating which made it cosy and lovely furnishings. The pools were used everyday I tried the dragon water slide and never again! But my 8 year old just loved it. We had breakfast there twice and enjoyed by the whole family.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Brendanna, Thank you for your review of your stay here at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, we're delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed our underground heating in your accommodation, this is apart of our on-going plans to upgrade all of our existing rooms with geothermal heating. We're also delighted to hear your enjoyed your breakfasts and our... More

Auckland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stopped for a refreshing dip in these hot pools and a plunge down the waterside. Definitely a must stop experience for the family. Best if you bring a picnic lunch for the children and that way reduce the overall cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Kia Ora Kp p, Thanks for your review of Taupo DeBretts Hot Springs, we are quite a popular spot to stop in for a bit of a break while travelling. Yes, a picnic is definitely a great idea when spending the day here enjoying our facilities. See you again! Warm Regards Michelle More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a pedicure at the resort spa. Says on their website you get a massage with your express pedicure but even when I asked she said no.$50 is too expensive for a buff and polish. The lady who does the treatments was nice but the lady at the spa reception was just rude.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Booked in for a pedicure says on their website you get a foot massage. They never gave me one even when I asked and the lady at the spa reception was rude. Overpriced. On the plus side the lady who does the treatments was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Lottyshot, Thank you for reviewing your experience at Living Waters Spa, we do appreciate your feedback. I have spoken to our spa receptionist's and they informed me that a foot massage isn't included in the 30 minute express pedicure, however I have reviewed our spa section on our website and noticed that it states "massage" in the Express Manicure... More

Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I went to the hot pools after a day of sight seeing in Taupo. For an adult they charge $21 for a swim in thermal pools. The place is looking tired. There is a variety of pools and varying temperatures which is good as it suits everyone. However it is far too expensive for what it has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hello Bernadette C, Thank you for your honest review of Taupo DeBretts Hot Springs. Our pricing reflex's admission to all facilities: Outdoor/Indoor pools, Dragon Hydro Slide and Interactive Water Play Park, you can return as often as you like until 9.30pm. We have the most reasonable rate you will find in New Zealand for a thermal complex. We do hope... More

Aldgate, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed in a Lake Villa at DeBretts and it was the loveliest accommodation of our trip. Lovely to see views across the lake from morning to night, very comfortable and well appointed. The spa pools were wonderful to relax in and the kids loved the Dragon Water slide. If you are considering this place, do it, it is a fabulous... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this review

Hi Kearsen, Thanks for your review of Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, we are thrilled to hear you loved the Lake Villa's, the views of the lake and the mountains are quite spectacular from the deck. We hope to see you again. Warm Regards Michelle More

Travelers who viewed Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort also viewed

 
Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing