We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Huka Prawn Park

Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Huka Falls Road | Lake Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number: 64 7 374 8474
Website
Description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo...
New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 346 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 139
    Excellent
  • 108
    Very good
  • 64
    Average
  • 23
    Poor
  • 12
    Terrible
Most recent review
Don't go!

Me and my friend went there for lunch on a weekday and it was PACKED with people. We ordered 1/2 kg of prawns, we waited for ages and the prawns came out uncooked! I sent it back... read more

1 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
Sissy_Lan
,
Geelong, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

Me and my friend went there for lunch on a weekday and it was PACKED with people. We ordered 1/2 kg of prawns, we waited for ages and the prawns came out uncooked! I sent it back and when they come out again, they were NOT fresh! The prawns are tiny and the meat were mashy and seemed to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your time here. Your comments will be passed on to the Restaurant and Kitchen Team. More 

Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 NEW

Please avoid this attraction, extremely disappointed. Appears run down, pools were empty, staff not informative, the only prawns visible were silicone, cable tied to rusty baskets.we were given fish food to feed trout,all 7 of them. We feel this sadly is not a New Zealand tourist attraction, and we felt very disappointed to spend hard earned money on such a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you feel this way. We have thousands of visitors come through every year that enjoy what we have to offer and come back time and time again. I am pleased you left happy with your refund. More 

Whakatane, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

The huka prawn far is a great family day out. We took our son here and the whole family had an awesome enjoyable day. Even though we weren't able to catch an of our own prawns the cafe there provides fantastic food with a prawn theme.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit even if the Prawn fishing wasn't that successful. We hope you can make it back one day to try again. More 

Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I love the experience to go fishing for prawns, then explore the surroundings as it is a huge park. Also features a guided visit to the prawn farm, which is educational. Then a relaxing lunch at the restaurant with the stunning view of the river! A must to be when in Taupo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoy the Prawn Park and the Restaurant. Hopefully you can visit again soon. More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

It's an easy walk from Taupo and it's not like your average waterfall enough water flows through there to fill 5 Olympic swimming pools every second it's a nice evening experience that will cost you nothing except if you would like to give everyone a donation optional off course!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi, That's a great review of HUKA FALLS. Huka Prawn park is located further down the river. More 

Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

For $30/pp this was definitely a waste of time and money! We got our rods, bait and a quick lesson from the staff at the park, then we were on our own to catch some prawns. Little do they tell you that it is near impossible to catch anything! After nearly 3 hours fishing, we had each caught only 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are of course disappointed that you did not enjoy your time here. There are thousands of Prawn in our fishing ponds and many are caught everyday. Prawn fishing is however like any fishing, some days are good and some days are not so good. More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

This was an overrated attraction the tour was average and while different fishing for prawns save your cash for the restaurant which was pricey but good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. Naturally we are disappointed that you did not enjoy the Prawn Fishing and Tour as much as others have. We hope you might return one day to have another go. More 

Sydney
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
149 attraction reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

We didn't do any prawn fishing, just ate at the restaurant. We had a half kilo of steamed prawns with garlic butter. Not bad but not great. Not as sweet as we expected perhaps because they are farmed prawns not ocean caught. Plenty for two people for lunch and we also ordered some fries which were the best we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Prawns are fresh water so will never taste the same as ones grown in the salt water of the ocean. They do have a milder flavour. We do sell uncooked prawns to take away over the counter in our reception area. We sell lots of prawns this way. We... More 

Waikanae, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Every time we go to Taupo the kids want to go prawn fishing! It's a great fun family activity which gets very addictive trying to catch a prawn, the kids seem to be better at it than me. It's a nice relaxing setting and attached is a restaurant which is a nice place for a meal and drink

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoy Prawn Fishing so much. It can be very addictive to catch the little critters. More 

Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We were impressed with the many families who were all involved- they came with picnics and were assisted by very helpful staff. What a great way to spend a morning or a day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are delighted to hear how impressed you were and that the staff were so helpful. We will be letting them know. More 

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

Taupo, Waikato Region
Taupo, Waikato Region
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huka Prawn Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?