We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Huka Falls Road | Lake Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number: 64 7 374 8474
Website
Description: New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo...
New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 362 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 142
    Excellent
  • 113
    Very good
  • 68
    Average
  • 26
    Poor
  • 13
    Terrible
Family fun day out :)

It was nice to find a place that had a family pass that worked for us (2 adults 5 kids) with a reasonable price! 😄 Due to the time of our arrival, we went for lunch first. My... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 28, 2015
JEMS6989
,
Rotorua, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

It was nice to find a place that had a family pass that worked for us (2 adults 5 kids) with a reasonable price! 😄 Due to the time of our arrival, we went for lunch first. My partners parents had joined us for our family day out which was a nice change. Service was acceptable with one lady (Jo?)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your day out and that the issues in the restaurant were resolved quickly. More 

Bath
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Worth a detour to buy some expensive but very-well packaged (ice bag included) prawns. Delicious on a barbie!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we are pleased you enjoyed your prawns. We hope you can come back for more soon and maybe even try fishing for them yourself. More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Half kilo of steamed prawns were ok. Prawn salad turned up (at same time as entrees which was awkward) and we were really disappointed to find 3 skewers of tiny prawns on a measly handful of greens. They looked like the same prawns on sticks you buy at the supermarket or fish shop. Really average. I would have assumed (obviously... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Your comments will be past on to the Restaurant management. More 

Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Spent nearly half a day here with 11 year old twins. Only one of us caught one prawn which was disappointing but still fun trying. May need more prawns per pond and less of those little fish that steal the bait lol. Nice walk and things to do and see along the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day even if you didn't do so well with the prawn fishing. Please come back and visit again as we are constantly working to control the little fish. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

We stopped by here for a bite to eat. My husband came here when he was a little boy when they first introduced prawn fishing so we had to come back to check it out. $28 for entry is a bit steep so we didn't go into the fishing pools. We had some prawns which were quite meaty. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you enjoyed the prawns in the restaurant. The entry fee is an all day fee, you can be in the park from open to close and even bring a picnic in if you wish. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015 via mobile

Please do no attempt pawn fishing. They only allow you to fish in certain ponds where there is probably low stock.wasted 2hrs and no prawn and not much help either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We have four ponds normally available to fish from. From time to time we need to empty the public fishing ponds to clean them and restock them with new Prawns, this is what we are currently doing. There are still two fully stocked ponds for you to fish from. All... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

We have been to the Prawn Park twice now and both times have thoroughly enjoyed it! The setting is amazing. Nothing beats sitting next to the river while devouring a kilogram of delicious prawns

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are thrilled that you enjoy visiting us, come back soon. More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

very disappointed. its big, its commercial, its impersonal, its mass production, its corny. If you have to, go, but don't expect memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are naturally disappointed you didn't enjoy the Prawn Park as much as we hoped. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Restaurant was great.We did the tour then some prawn fishing for two hours.Caught 5 prawns.Enjoyed the walk around the park afterwards feeding the trout and trying out the other activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Sounds like you really enjoyed your time here. Thanks for the great review. More 

Woolgoolga, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Great to do "something different" only caught 5 prawns but fun trying we went on a rainy day and there were plenty of dry places to sit very clean and well set up area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed our quirky fishing park. We hope you can come back one day soon and have another go. More 

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huka Prawn Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?