We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Huka Falls Road | Lake Taupo, Taupo 3330, New Zealand
Phone Number: 64 7 374 8474
Website
Improve this listing
Description:

New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo...

New Zealand's only Prawn Fishing Park. Located just 5 minutes from Taupo and offering hours of entertainment for people of all ages. Experience the thrill of landing the fiesty prawn at Hook-a-Prawn Fishing, enjoy the delight of hand feeding, baby prawns in the Prawn Nursery, and get up close and personal with Shawn the Prawn, in the Aquarium. Then head out to more than 6 hectares of fun and entertainment throughout the park, including interactive water features, adventure playgrounds, trout viewing and feeding, and geothermal foot baths. The day wouldn't be complete with relaxing beside the mighty Waikato River at the Riverside restaurant and bar and enjoying a mouthwatering selection of meals and beverages on offer. Huka Prawn Park, a day of fun and adventure for all!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 540 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 214
    Excellent
  • 174
    Very good
  • 95
    Average
  • 37
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Fun

Had a great time. Great fun trying to catch prawns. A great day out and I thought it was good value for money. Be great for families but also good for all!

4 of 5 starsReviewed 4 days ago
Dircho
,
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

540 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a great time. Great fun trying to catch prawns. A great day out and I thought it was good value for money. Be great for families but also good for all!

Helpful?
Thank Dircho
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

We're glad you enjoyed your day at Huka Prawn Park. It certainly is great fun trying to catch prawns and great value for money considering it is an all day pass which includes lots of different activities as well as prawn fishing. Thanks for the review More 

Porirua
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is cool if you want to kick back for an hour or six! Our family of two adults and three kids had a great time. Staff were welcoming and helpful with instructions. If you are there for the prawns, you're issued with a bamboo rod, bait, and handy bucket for your catch. Then you have multiple mini lakes... More 

Helpful?
Thank hunterbear_nz
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, We're glad you had such an awesome day at our park! Prawn fishing is all about the awesome combination of relaxation coupled with the thrill of the chase. As you've mentioned, like any fishing, it does have it's days. But there are heaps of other activities as well so there is always plenty to do. We look forward... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were they last week spending 4 hours there and fish nothing! About 12 to 15 others in the same area to fish also equally disappointed. They charge $28/adult, $16/child opening only 2 ponds, which can only see school of small fish fighting for the baits, and no prawn be seen. Besides, the tasteless prawn is charged at $100/kg at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lee0802
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, We're sorry to hear that you didn't manage to catch any prawns. Unfortunately we cannot guarantee a catch, as with any fishing some days are better than other days. There are 20,000 prawns in each pond. The reason you cannot see them is the ponds green colour which protects the prawns from sunlight and birds, this applies to... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Fun and relaxed time under the Sun. Quite some fun things to do if you're not a patient fisher.. Does require some patients. Staff is very knowledgeable and friendly.. If you're a patient person and love fishing chilling in the sun this is a must do in Taupo. Great to learn about the whole process too. We caught a 43cm... More 

Helpful?
Thank uttamsinghf
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, We're glad you enjoyed your day fishing and relaxing by the prawn ponds. It sounds like you caught a great prawn, only narrowly missing out on this months record of a 44cm long prawn! It's great that you took a tour and learnt about how we operate, it's definitely an interesting experience. We look forward to seeing you... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a different attraction, fishing for prawns... They give you a bambo rod and some bait and you can sit and catch prawns... This is a good time waster if you have nothing better to do... I enjoyed myself and I caught one Prawn..Lol. Give it a go!! :)

Helpful?
Thank Ustwoguys
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed yourself fishing for prawns. We'll see you again next time. More 

dunedin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a half kilo of prawns to share cooked in garlic butter with dipping sauces. Tasty but not outstanding with a price tag of just under $50. We were also told to order some sides or entrees to make it a filling lunch. We had a prawn cocktail which was tasty and the old trusty fries an aioli. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank jubesDunedin
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stopped at this place twice in last years (with kids). It is a total waste of money and time. You need to pay a high fee to enter even if you will not fish. The pressure is so high, you hardly many people do not catch a single prawn for a half a day.

Helpful?
Thank Leonowski
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy yourself at our park. We would love it if all of our visitors could catch prawns however just like any other fishing you can never guarantee a catch. The reason that you do need to pay to enter is because we have plenty of activities available in the park other... More 

Greater Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The behind the scenes tours are interesting, learning the history, and hand feeding baby prawns. But the admission cost is very expensive. And we spent an hour fishing for prawns but only caught 1 smallish one. Likewise, the restaurant has nice food, but quite expensive for the amount of food (also, not a lot of non-prawn dishes on the menu).

Helpful?
Thank kieran776
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, We're glad that you enjoyed the guided tour of our nursery and hatchery. We think $69 for a full day of entertainment for a whole family is a reasonable price however I guess it's a matter of opinion. We do add extra activities to the park when we can without increasing the cost of admission. We're glad you... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fairly relaxing place where you can spend hours doing not a lot if you want to relax. It's pretty darn hard to catch a prawn though so be warned you may leave with nothing. Great experience for first timers but a bit of a let down coming back for a second time. Only caught one in 3 hours.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, We're glad you enjoyed yourself relaxing in our park. We'd love it if all of our visitors could leave having caught a few prawns however unfortunately just like any fishing we cannot guarantee a catch. Some days our visitors don't catch many prawns other days everyone catches quite a few prawns. Hopefully next time you catch more :) More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were stranded at lake tekapo as the road to Napier was closed due to accident. We ended up having dinner here (not a good decision) and spent the last 2 hours shrimping. It costs $28 per person to enter the park, but you can fish non-stop and keep the shrimp until they close. Although it's our own fault that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen H
Prawn101, Director of Sales at Huka Prawn Park, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for visiting. We are sorry to hear that you only caught one prawn. We would love for our visitors to catch more however as is the nature of fishing we cannot guarantee a catch. We do have a lot of other activities available such as row boats, pedal boats and a guided tour of the nursery and... More 

Travelers who viewed Huka Prawn Park also viewed

Taupo, Taupo District
Taupo, Taupo District
 

Been to Huka Prawn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huka Prawn Park staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?