We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: State Highway 30 | Tikitere, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 7 345 3151
Website
Book ahead on Viator
$275*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 199 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 79
    Excellent
  • 68
    Very good
  • 30
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Most recent review
First Impression of Hell's Gate

The experience to book through website was not good as it was not confirmed online. Best to confirm booking through phone directly. The private mud bath is a small tub that not... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 24, 2015
kassee2015
,
Singapore, Singapore
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

The experience to book through website was not good as it was not confirmed online. Best to confirm booking through phone directly. The private mud bath is a small tub that not allow for much movement. Luckily the staff had advised us to see and consider before payment. Overall the trip was interesting, we had enjoyed the knowledge shared by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
salisbury
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Went here for the twilight trip!! Did not start well 40 mins late for being picked up from the hotel! No apology or real information that they were going to be late. Then I was just extremely disappointed with the facility's and it just looked all dated and old really need a good refurbishment! The service from the pool side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Budgewoi, Australia
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Luckily they are not banking on return customers - it is a great natural environmental attraction but is not enough for the $35 minimum charge which was about half an hour value. If they charged about half or maybe $20 Entry I would not be so harsh on my review

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jacquie, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hells Gate. We apologise that you did not find the walk to be good value. I hope that you did take the time to explore the park fully as there are two thermal areas to the Hells Gate Geothermal Walk. It would be a shame if... More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
54 attraction reviews
493 helpful votes 493 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We came here for the private mud bath for two. Thinking this could be romantic we went for it. Problem is these mud baths are right next to the highway which you find out once they got you in. So you get all the noise of the traffic and no feeling of romance at all. This mud bath is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hells Gates private mud baths and spas. We encourage and welcome people to look through both our spa areas before making their decision to where they would like to bath at Hells Gate so we apologise that the private mud baths and spas did not meet your... More 

Noumea, New Caledonia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

After a walk between geyser and mud pools we are happy to go and have a bath in the mud, alas the attendant told us to leave after just 20 minutes, too short, even if the ticket master at the entrance told us we could in and out ife a cold shower between we hav

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Yves, Thank you very much for your review of your experience at Hells Gate mud baths and spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We are sorry that there was misunderstanding in regards to your experience with the mud baths. We do have a 20 minute time limit on the mud bath due to the way... More 

Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
114 attraction reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile

I had a couple of hours before my flight and found Hells Gate. Very lucky here. Not sure how I had missed this attraction, but enjoyed my walk through as much as most if the other thermal attractions. Several very unique features including a 104 degree waterfall, and the option to use their thermal spa, mud baths etc. next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora George, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hells Gate Geothermal Park and Mud Spa. We are pleased that you managed to find us before you had to leave Rotorua. Safe travels and we hope to see you again so you can enjoy the spa as well! Thanks, Hells Gate Team More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We visited with Canadian family and found the presentation of the region, while preserving the natural nature of the terrain and thermal features, to be very well done. Surely those complaining about the smell had some rudimentary knowledge of the nature of the thermal activities? We did not find the smell to be too bad at all, and I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Frommy, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Hells Gate, a great summary of your experience with us! We do try to keep as much of the park and pathway in its natural state so our visitors really get to experience our thermal landscape. It is important for us to maintain this balance with the safety... More 

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visited Hell's Gate as part of our honeymoon, and really enjoyed it. It gives you a good close-up view of thermal pools, and some information about how hot they get and the history behind some of the names. The walking path gives ample photo opportunities. We also had a mud bath, which was quite touristy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback of Hells Gate Geothermal Park and Mud Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed and will recommend this experience to others. Thank you for the review of our spa rules and safety recommendations as well. We are careful to let everyone know about the benefits and also safety concerns before using the geothermal... More 

New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We were staying in Rotorua and the Black Swan Hotel staff recommended we come here. The service was great and the staff were very knowledgable and we had a really good time bathing in the mud and then the sulphur pools. I definitely prefered the sulphur to the mud though. Will definitely come here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and sharing your photo of you enjoying the Hells Gate mud baths and spas. We look forward to seeing you again on your next time through Rotorua. Safe Travels, Hells Gate Team More 

Terang, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Returned with a new visitor to Hells Gate, and it was great to see that there was work to enhance the attraction, without taking away from the natural landscape. While the smell to some can be overpowereing, we didn't find it so, but the fact that there was places that you could try some things (the foot mud bath and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Kirsty, Thank you for your review of Hells Gate Geothermal Park. We are pleased to hear that you have been returning to visit with new people to share what you have found at Hells Gate. We hope to see you back in the future with more time to relax and enjoy the spa as well! Safe Travels, Hells... More 

Travelers who viewed Hell's Gate also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Hell's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hell's Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?