We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: State Highway 30 | Tikitere, Rotorua, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 7 345 3151
Website
Visit Hell's Gate like an insider
$280*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 202 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 79
    Excellent
  • 70
    Very good
  • 31
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Good experience but don't wear jewellery.

When we arrived it was pouring rain but what a good experience. The guide took us on a walk around the reserve for 90minutes and was very informative and hands on. We then enjoyed... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
MrsB41014
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 NEW

We were advised to go to the Twilight spa session at Hells gate as it would be a better experience than during the day. I booked the session on line and we were taken to the spa area where we got changed. The night was not too cold. We spent about 15 minutes in the sulphur spa then it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 NEW via mobile

When we arrived it was pouring rain but what a good experience. The guide took us on a walk around the reserve for 90minutes and was very informative and hands on. We then enjoyed the mud bath and sulphur bath. This was very unique and we both enjoyed this despite the rain. The only downfall was before the walk I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Really enjoyed our visit, don't understand all the negative reviews. The place is a great environmental experience. My first visit was 25 years ago and it seemed bigger than I remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

The experience to book through website was not good as it was not confirmed online. Best to confirm booking through phone directly. The private mud bath is a small tub that not allow for much movement. Luckily the staff had advised us to see and consider before payment. Overall the trip was interesting, we had enjoyed the knowledge shared by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

Went here for the twilight trip!! Did not start well 40 mins late for being picked up from the hotel! No apology or real information that they were going to be late. Then I was just extremely disappointed with the facility's and it just looked all dated and old really need a good refurbishment! The service from the pool side... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora FlourecentAdlt, I would like to apologise for your missed pick up. I have been unable to determine why this happened and your pick up was missed but we are sorry that it delayed and put a damper your Hells Gate Mud Bath and Spa. This is not the experience we hope to create at Hells Gate. We can... More 

Budgewoi, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Luckily they are not banking on return customers - it is a great natural environmental attraction but is not enough for the $35 minimum charge which was about half an hour value. If they charged about half or maybe $20 Entry I would not be so harsh on my review

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Jacquie, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hells Gate. We apologise that you did not find the walk to be good value. I hope that you did take the time to explore the park fully as there are two thermal areas to the Hells Gate Geothermal Walk. It would be a shame if... More 

Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
54 attraction reviews
542 helpful votes 542 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

We came here for the private mud bath for two. Thinking this could be romantic we went for it. Problem is these mud baths are right next to the highway which you find out once they got you in. So you get all the noise of the traffic and no feeling of romance at all. This mud bath is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hells Gates private mud baths and spas. We encourage and welcome people to look through both our spa areas before making their decision to where they would like to bath at Hells Gate so we apologise that the private mud baths and spas did not meet your... More 

Noumea, New Caledonia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

After a walk between geyser and mud pools we are happy to go and have a bath in the mud, alas the attendant told us to leave after just 20 minutes, too short, even if the ticket master at the entrance told us we could in and out ife a cold shower between we hav

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Yves, Thank you very much for your review of your experience at Hells Gate mud baths and spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience. We are sorry that there was misunderstanding in regards to your experience with the mud baths. We do have a 20 minute time limit on the mud bath due to the way... More 

Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
117 attraction reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015 via mobile

I had a couple of hours before my flight and found Hells Gate. Very lucky here. Not sure how I had missed this attraction, but enjoyed my walk through as much as most if the other thermal attractions. Several very unique features including a 104 degree waterfall, and the option to use their thermal spa, mud baths etc. next time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora George, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hells Gate Geothermal Park and Mud Spa. We are pleased that you managed to find us before you had to leave Rotorua. Safe travels and we hope to see you again so you can enjoy the spa as well! Thanks, Hells Gate Team More 

Greater Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We visited with Canadian family and found the presentation of the region, while preserving the natural nature of the terrain and thermal features, to be very well done. Surely those complaining about the smell had some rudimentary knowledge of the nature of the thermal activities? We did not find the smell to be too bad at all, and I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WaiOra_Manager, Manager at Hell's Gate, responded to this review

Kia Ora Frommy, Thank you for your feedback on your experience at Hells Gate, a great summary of your experience with us! We do try to keep as much of the park and pathway in its natural state so our visitors really get to experience our thermal landscape. It is important for us to maintain this balance with the safety... More 

Travelers who viewed Hell's Gate also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Hell's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hell's Gate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?