We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Adventure Playground

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 451 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand (Formerly QuadZone ATV Tours)
Phone Number: +64 274 084 322
Website
Description: We offer fully guided quad bike tours, horse treks and clay bird shooting...
We offer fully guided quad bike tours, horse treks and clay bird shooting in Rotorua. All activities take part on working farmland on Mount Ngongotaha travelling over varying grades of tracks to suit all abilities from novice to competent riders. You will see spectacular views over Lake Rotorua. Guided tours start from $75 per person. Great fun for all ages, families, stag do's, hen weekends, school groups and corporate entertaining. The best fun in Rotorua ! A fantastic experience! Call us 24/7 to make a booking.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 234 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 219
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Great fun

Did the half an hour quad biking. Once got the hang of it, it was great fun. Glad we opted for the paper suits though! Half an hour wasn't really long enough though, should have... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 29, 2015
Nathan E

Similar Things to Do in Rotorua

Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015 NEW

Did the half an hour quad biking. Once got the hang of it, it was great fun. Glad we opted for the paper suits though! Half an hour wasn't really long enough though, should have gone for the hour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kearny, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

My husband and I are avid Quad riders and have had the opportunity to ride around the world. We went on the mud tour and it did not disappoint! Trails are well maintained and safety and comfort of guests is a priority (do wear the protective gear available if you don't want to be cold and muddy). The ride offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

This is one of those adventures where I think a lot more effort needs to be implemented when it comes to prepping. I was here with five others in my family gowning up and shown to our quad bikes. We were then given basic instructions and with it the ultimate bombshell which goes something like this: you break any part... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi We were quite shocked to read your review after your quad ride with us earlier this week. As you will see from the majority of our reviews, we take pride in our business and train our staff to a very high standard for obvious safety reasons. We have to make customers aware of the costs involved should the bikes... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

My partner and I booked the quad biking and clay shooting and thoroughly enjoyed it! I originally booked in for a farm bike which is $105 for an hour tour, however when we got there we were suggested to get the $140 sports quad bike because it's automatic and easier to steer. This threw me off because I had already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for taking time to place your review after your quad and clay shooting with us recently. We note your comments about deciding to upgrade to sports quads. They are great fun in the mud as you found! We hope if you come back to Rotorua again, you can visit us again and do the horse trek! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Went with my girlfriend to try out the clay bird shooting. Staff was really nice and professional. Had a really great time. When we come back to Rotorua we'll definitely go there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi Thanks very much for taking time to put up your review after your clay shooting visit. We appreciate you mentioning the professionalism of our staff. Regards Cheers from The Team at Adventure Playground More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015 via mobile

Awesome fun for two adults and two teens, Steve and Sean really looked after us and showed us why Vegas is such a fun place to spend the weekend. Will def be back there soon Julian Oneill Auckland

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks so much for your review, we are glad you and your kids enjoyed your visit. Look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Vegas! Cheers from The Team at Adventure Playground More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

The quads looked good fun, but instead we got led up a hill, with a view that saved this from being 1 star. Teenage girls texting and talking to each other about their Saturday night is not what you expect on a tourist activity. We occasionally got a bit of attention if the horse looked like it was going to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi We are so sorry you did not enjoy your horse trek recently. We take our reviews about our business very seriously. We can only apologise for the girls who took your trek, and would like to make it clear that they are no longer allowed to take treks without a senior member of staff with them. Phones are needed... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

Was in charge of activities for family holiday so spent a lot of time researching on the Internet. Rung Adventure Playground and they were able to give us a great deal for Quad Biking and Clay Shooting. The Quad Biking was scary but Talia was awesome with us encouraging us and allowing us to beat our fears my brother was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi We just wanted to thank you for your fantastic review after you visited us with your family. We are so glad you were impressed with our guides, to say they are ambassadors for our country and our industry is praise indeed. We really appreciate your comments and are glad you enjoyed all aspects of Adventure Playground. Thank you so... More 

2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Had a blast! Got extremely muddy and wet and got to hoon sport quads through farm land, bush and water, a wicked experience and a must do in Rotorua! Thanks heaps

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review after your quad bike ride with us. Glad you enjoyed yourself even though you were soaked in mud ! We appreciate you taking time to review us. Cheers from The Team at Adventure Playground More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

A great ride in horrible weather! Lemar was a great instructor who took us on more and more technical bits as we got more confident. Gloriously muddy good fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linda R, Manager at Adventure Playground, responded to this review

Hi There, Many thanks for your review after your trip to Rotorua whilst you were on holiday. We are glad you enjoyed the mud even though it was very wet the day of your quad bike ride ! Hope you had a safe journey back to the UK. Cheers from The Team at Adventure Playground More 

Travelers who viewed Adventure Playground also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Adventure Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Playground

Address: Address: 451 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3072, New Zealand (Formerly QuadZone ATV Tours)
Phone Number: +64 274 084 322
Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Bay of Plenty Region  >  Rotorua District  >  Rotorua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Adventure Playground and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Adventure Playground staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?