We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Cnr Marsden & Williams Roads, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Dolphin Discoveries - Swim with Dolphins cruise)
Phone Number: +64 9-402 8234
Website
Description: Discover dolphins in their world. Cruise the sparkling waters of the Bay...
Discover dolphins in their world. Cruise the sparkling waters of the Bay of Islands and spot these playful mammals leaping and dancing over waves. Take the plunge and join them for an unforgettable encounter…
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 55 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 31
    Excellent
  • 14
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Fantastic Family Experience

This was the highlight of our trip to the Bay of Islands. We are a family of 4 with 2 kids 11 and 7, we purchased a family pass which we thought was excellent value. It took a... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed January 19, 2013
NiknakNZ
,
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Add Photo Write a Review

55 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked an Explore NZ 'swim with the dolphins' experience and we didn’t get to swim with the dolphins, which is not necessarily the fault of the trip organiser but the odds of getting to swim seem quite low so beware when booking a trip. There are conservation rules that say, if you find dolphins, they must want to play,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to the Bay of Islands. We are a family of 4 with 2 kids 11 and 7, we purchased a family pass which we thought was excellent value. It took a couple of hours to find dolphins but we got to see a large part of the harbour, The first pod we found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mid wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Was supposed to be highlight of the trip, but ended up a damp squib. Nothing more the crew could have done but $89 pp is a lot of money to pay for trip around the bay with 10 mins dolphin viewing. We went because they offered a guaranteed dolphin view or another trip, but didn't realise that we wouldn't be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We went on a morning four-hour trip with Dolphin Discoveries - four adults (two visiting from the UK) and a seven-year-old. We found dolphins in the first half-hour - unfortunately we couldn't swim with them, as there was a baby, but the crew ensured that everyone got extensive viewing time. Unfortunately we were unable to find another pod, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this cruise, we were blessed with warm weather and calm seas so were able to go through 'The Hole in the Rock' and enjoy the wonderfulmscenery. We also saw bottle nosed dolphins and Brytus Whales. We stopped off at Otehei Bay on the way back and booked the guided walk, what a 'rip off'. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DE
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We did this trip about two weeks ago with a 4 year old. The first plus of this company over the others is that they do not charge for under 5 - major savings there. They also only charge if you choose to do the swim. We found two pods on our 4 hour trip - one swimmable and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had wanted to swim with dolphins for years and was delighted to get the opportunity for such a reasonable price! We were slightly late (oops) and the made sure to wait around until we arrived, which was nice. The boat trip itself was great even before we got to the dolphins, lovely little deck to lie out on and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We took a 4 hour cruise with our children aged 3, 3 and 9. The young kids were a little board except when we saw groups of dolphines (once during the cruise). The cruise at the bay of islands was very beautiful and the wether was good. When we first saw the dolphines everybody were excited and took lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My friend and I did this trip in Paihia last week. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great which obviously can't be helped. However, whilst other companies cancelled their trips, this one went ahead. At the time we thought this was good, but in hindsight we think it was just so they didn't have to refund us. The water was very choppy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nzl4041, Manager at Explore - Swim with Dolphins, responded to this review

HI Stacey First of all thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you rating your experience. Of course we are very disappointed that we didn't live up to your expectations. We understand the day was rather rough and the conditions were not ideal on the day. However we are often able to find the dolphins in a sheltered bay by... More 

Travelers who viewed Explore - Swim with Dolphins also viewed

 

Been to Explore - Swim with Dolphins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Explore - Swim with Dolphins staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?