We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mohaka Rafting

Address: 3408 State Highway 5 RD 2 | New Zealand, Napier 4182, New Zealand
Phone Number: +64 6-839 1808
Website
Improve this listing
100%
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Napier
Type: Bodies of Water, Nature & Parks
Owner description: Mohaka Rafting is situated at Napier in Hawkes Bay, North Island, New Zealand provides day and...
Useful Information: Activities for older children
More attraction details
Attraction details
Type: Bodies of Water, Nature & Parks
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 11:30 pm
Owner description: Mohaka Rafting is situated at Napier in Hawkes Bay, North Island, New Zealand provides day and multi-day trips on grade 2, 3, and Grade 5 water. Grade 2 is for young families. The full day grade 3 is our most popular trip - cliff jumps, gorges, and canyons, visit a gold mine and swim rapids in a full day adventure. The Grade 5 is for serious rafters. All have awesome scenery. Rafting expeditions; Helicopter in - raft out through the Kaweka Forest Park over 3 or 4 days. Camp at thermal pools, float, swim, cliff jump, or sit back and relax your way back to our base.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 NEW

The team at Mohaka were fantastic. Well organised. Very knowledgeable and professional. Really knew their stuff and safety was paramount throughout. I would have to say that the day we spent with Mohaka was the best day on our NZ tour. Top marks to the Mohaka Rafting team.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
111 attraction reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

A really good experience. We did a half day 'cruise ship' tour, which picked us up right from the center of the town, nice and early. The staff were really friendly and easy to get along with. We were really impressed by the safety and professionalism of the staff - there was another company using the river before us that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Wattostudios. You have it correct. The Grade 2 cruise ship package and the normal Grade 2 rafting trips are "Float trips" and advertised as that. We do try and make sure clients are on the correct trips but some miss our scrutiny. Unfortunately the grading system is a global one so we have to call the trip a grade... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Our cruise ship itinerary gave us only a 1/2 day in Napier. An (out of business hours) e-mail to Mohaka Rafting requesting confirmation that we would still have time to complete the rafting and transportation from/to our ship was answered promptly and courteously. We booked directly, choosing to bypass a similar excursion offered by the cruise line, and I believe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review. I hope the rest of the cruise went well and you get to share some great stories. We look forward to rafting you down the grade 3. Allthe best Norm More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We did a full day awesome 3 grade route. We had the nicest kanadein instructor who was lovely and just doing all he can for us to injoy. Great river, great water hole jumps and over all amazing service by a professional and warm company. Thank you so much and shalom!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Papakora. Thanks for the review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the trip. We believe it is a great all round trip. I will pass your words on to the guides. They are always pleased to get feed back. All the best with your future travels. Norm More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Our journey began with our host picking us up from the ship as soon as we disembarked. Norm, our host, drove us through beautiful scenery and township of Napier, explaining history and points of interest on our drive to their office to prepare us for our adventure. Once we reached their offie we were introduced to two tour guides, Ashley... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Slavica B Thanks for the review. I will inform Jon and Ash of your words. Allways great to get good feed back. I hope you have time for the grade 3 when you visit next. Regards Norm More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

This was a great experience. The people were fantastic, the ride was good. They were on time picking us from the cruise ship and returning us. The rapids were fairly tame (grade2) and I was expecting more but still had a great time. I loved stopping and getting to swim. We went down the rapids on our backs. Well worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Edieandsarah Thanks for the review. Great to get good feed back. Yes, we would love to give you a little more in the way of rapids but we simply do not have time to raft Cruise ship clients down the grade 3. Perhaps next time you visit NZ we can get you down our great grade 3 trip. All... More 

Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

I did a grade 2 tour with these guys and could not fault them!! I arrived on a cruise ship and booked this tour privately and they were waiting for us as soon as we docked and had us back on time. Guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. I can't wait to come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi RoshRich Thanks for the note. I am glad you enjoyed the trip. You now know why we call it our "fun run". Hope to see you back for the grade 5 Regards Norm More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I went on the grade 3 trip today and it was great. Great value for money, a lot of variety on the river, great guides, good gear and that's it, nothing bad to say. If you area: do it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Great day out on Grade 3 rapids. Good for beginners and the scenery was wonderful. The Mohaka team are well trained and very professional. Excellent equipment. Well organised. Great day out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi RoshRich Thanks for the feed back. Always good to hear that people have enjoyed themselves. All the best Norm More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I did a grade 2 tour with these guys and could not fault them!! I arrived on a cruise ship and booked this tour privately and they were waiting for us as soon as we docked and had us back on time. Guides were very friendly and knowledgeable. I can't wait to come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norm B, Owner at Mohaka Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Angie D Thanks for those words. Make sure you let us know that you have rafted before when you book you next adventure. Regards Norm More 

Travelers who viewed Mohaka Rafting also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Mohaka Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Mohaka Rafting and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mohaka Rafting staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?