We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 23 Tamaki Dr | Orakei, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number: 64 9 528 0603
Website
Today
9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New...
Kelly Tarlton’s Antarctic Encounter & Underwater World is home to New Zealand's only sub-Antarctic penguins and offers a myriad of opportunities to get up close and personal with incredible marine life from the Pacific and Southern oceans.For a truly incredible experience, take the plunge on an Animal Adventure – we offer cage-free shark dives, PADI-recognised diver training, snorkel and scuba safaris through the Oceanarium or the chance to hand-feed the giant stingrays!
read more
Visit Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$28*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 983 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 358
    Excellent
  • 347
    Very good
  • 185
    Average
  • 65
    Poor
  • 28
    Terrible
Loved the beautiful Penguins

Went there on the morning before we leave for Singapore. The ticket a bit too pricey though but the penguins makes it worth the while. I love the penguins. My hubby & I find that... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 2, 2015
Connie G
,
Singapore, Singapore
Add Photo Write a Review

983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Went there on the morning before we leave for Singapore. The ticket a bit too pricey though but the penguins makes it worth the while. I love the penguins. My hubby & I find that the tunnel that rotates a little when u passed through seem pretty interesting. There's not much variety of sealife and the excursion is short abt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunshine Coast, Aus
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 attraction reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

Really enjoyed our time here, especially the Penguin enclosure. The main walk though aquarium was great too. Nice experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 NEW

The penguins were very interesting & delightful [the highlight of the place], but much of the rest of the Sea Life Aquarium seemed average, tired, overhyped, & overpriced. We had expected better and were disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 NEW

As something to do, to get the kids out and about, this attraction is fine. But it does feel a little old/tired, relatively small, and with relatively few sections/zones for the money. Struggled to spend more than an hour there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
26 attraction reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

I have been to other aquariums in Europe and this is below their standard. I was hoping to see some southern hemisphere fish and marine creatures but the labelling was poor. The best was the penguin enclosure which held my interest for a considerable time. The walk through the large tank need better information because you just ended up looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. We value all the feedback we receive from guests so thank you for taking the time to share yours with us. We are sorry to hear that your standards were not met when visiting our special attraction. Your feedback will be passed on to the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

We went there on a onshore excursion from a cruise ship. Great exhibition but not enough time..I would have stayed looking at the penguins all day...Bit limited with food for a GF person but everyone else liked the snack food. Souvenirs here were cheaper than a lot of places but only found that out after leaving...All up a great way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time visiting our special attraction. Our penguins are a highlight for most of our guests who visit so it is nice to hear it was a highlight for you also. We hope to see... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

A really good display of underwater sea life. I loved the penguins and the brightly coloured fish. The sharks and stingrays were scary up close but the children that were in our party were intrigued - they also liked the seahorses. We also enjoyed the Scott Base display. What was disappointing were the queues to buy tickets - it seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. It is great to hear that you and your family had a great time visiting our special attraction. As you mentioned Kelly Tarlton’s is a great place for family and children and it’s great you noticed this. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly... More 

Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

We visited Kelly Tarlton's couple of times. Every time we had fun as a family, my son absolutely loved it. I find it a bit expensive- it should be more affordable for everybody. Great place for child education.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. We value all the feedback we receive from guests so thank you for taking the time to share yours with us. It is great to hear that you had a fantastic time visiting our special attraction and we hope to see you again soon. Thank... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW via mobile

The price is high for something that takes about 20-25 minutes to get through. We had to go through it a couple of times to try and get our money's worth (at the expense of my sanity).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. We value all the feedback we receive from guests so thank you for taking the time to share yours with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time visitng our special attraction. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly... More 

North Tustin, CA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
31 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

The aquarium was small and expensive for the experience. The penguins were interesting and a good exhibit. The walk through shark tank was also interesting. Try to get to the feedings although there is a lot of time between the various feedings. Much more of an attraction for younger children.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KTs_Phil_McG, Manager at Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kelly Tarlton's SEA LIFE Aquarium. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our penguins, sharks and the feedings that we offer. We appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. Kelly Tarlton's, has high operating costs due to our care of the animals, which is the cornerstone of our operation. If... More 

Travelers who viewed Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Geilenkirchen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Geilenkirchen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kelly Tarlton's Sea Life Aquarium staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?