We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broome Historical Museum

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Robinson Street, opposite Seaview Shops | Kimberley Region, Broome, Western Australia 6725, Australia
Phone Number: +61 8 9192 2075
Website
Today
10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Description: The museum is opposite the Seaview Shopping Centre on Robinson Street.From...
The museum is opposite the Seaview Shopping Centre on Robinson Street.From May to September the museum is open from 10am to 4pm. For the remainder of the year it is open 10am to 1pm.Museum admission is $5 for adults, $3 for Seniors and $1 for children over 12.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 186 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 112
    Excellent
  • 65
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Most recent review
Very informative for the historians

Very informative on huge beginnings no Broome and the impact of hone pearling industry to shaping the town as it is today. Largest shell collection in the world is housed here... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
Kadarzz
,
Bunbury, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Very informative on huge beginnings no Broome and the impact of hone pearling industry to shaping the town as it is today. Largest shell collection in the world is housed here, just a little unorganised in the way it is set out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This is a wonderful attraction. It is run by lovely volunteers who want to be there and it shows. The museum is clean and well presented. A wonderful way to preserve history and they provided a fun activity for the kids to search out going around which kept their interest enven more and then got a prize at the end.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ingham, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

In saying this is all volunteer worked it was disappointing to go there and it is closing over the xmas/new year time as I understand everyone needs a break. The day we went to go for a look there was lots of visitors turning up as well only to find it was closed they may have to look if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kylie J, Manager at Broome Historical Museum, responded to this review

The Museum is closed for refurbishment, not simply because the volunteers required a "break" . We are usually open all year to cater for both locals and tourists, apart from a short Christmas period. The refurbishments and closing dates are listed on our website and facebook page. Sorry you missed visiting the Museum. More 

Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

This place was closed....till end of February! They obviously take the "off season" quite seriously. Was a shame really, because this time of year is lovely in Broome - no crowds etc. bit of rain, but that's not a problem for us. Must be a problem for the locals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kylie J, Manager at Broome Historical Museum, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you arrived to find the Museum closed. We normally do not close for such an extended period, but we are undergoing refurbishments as notified on our facebook page. Thanks for your understanding More 

Birdwood, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

Small and a bit hard to find if you don't go to Town Beach, but what a collection!! Great history preserved, great local staff, and a honest and factual collection from around Broome. Now folks, this is not the National Museum, but what a gem. Make the effort, it's worth your while!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

Well worth visiting to understand Broome's unique history and a feeling for the place. Suggest making this one of your first stops before exploring the rest of the town and its many local attractions and historic locations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Fasinating in sight into the Pearling Industry and the Bombing in Roebuck Bay which i never new about

Was this review helpful? Yes
Palmerston, Northern Territory, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

They have got a lot of history packed into that little place. Volunteers were very chatty and helpful..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

What an amazing little find, History of the pearling industry to the effects of the war, local CWA to the slave labour you will find it all here. All very well presented, kind of pulls you along from one place to the next. Highly recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

On a day were we did not have plans made , we drove around town and saw the Museum sign on a street pole. Followed it and came to the museum which was not very attractive looking. We had to wait for opening time because we were early.(open at 10am).Went inside at opening and were captured by the display's shown.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Broome Historical Museum also viewed

Broome, Western Australia
Broome, Western Australia
 
Broome, Western Australia
 

Been to Broome Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Broome Historical Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?