We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Opera Australia

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Sydney Opera House, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Phone Number: +61 2 9318 8200
Website
Description: No trip to Sydney is complete without seeing an opera at the Sydney Opera...
No trip to Sydney is complete without seeing an opera at the Sydney Opera House. Opera Australia performs at the Sydney Opera House January-April and July-November every year. Opera Australia also performs at Arts Centre Melbourne and on the Sydney Harbour stage.
read more
Visit Opera Australia like an insider
$71*
and up

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 564 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 424
    Excellent
  • 111
    Very good
  • 22
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Aida opera experience

At first we were not expecting much from opera outside of Opera House. However once we got there we understood how wrong we were. Absolutely professional team. Everything was... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 3, 2015
Vladimir G
,
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

The NSW Premier was taking the weather forecasts seriously and urging everyone to avoid unnecessary travel. The organisers of Aida took a different view - one that seemed to be motivated by greed on April 22nd. Continued rain was forecast, the performers were in raincoats, everything was slippery and wet. We were in Boston last year for the Fourth of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OperaAust, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Dear Culinarykids, Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding your experience at Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour. We very much appreciate our audience’s feedback. We did not take the decision to continue with the performance lightly on 22 April. On the night we actioned our comprehensive wet weather contingency plan for the safety of our performers and audience, and as... More 

Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 attraction reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

At first we were not expecting much from opera outside of Opera House. However once we got there we understood how wrong we were. Absolutely professional team. Everything was perfectly organized: food,toilets,seating. Performance is absolutely astonishing. There were camels, fireworks, loads of persons in the performance. And of course singing quality was really good. Worth every cent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OperaAust, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Dear Vladimir G, How wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations! I hope we'll see you again next time you're in Sydney. Kind regards, Lara, Customer Service Coordinator More 

Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We came up to Sydney from Victoria especially for this production of Aida, and it was spectacular. It did not let us down. The weather was appalling, and we were caught in a freak hailstorm coming to it, and we were so worried it would be cancelled. But they pushed through, the actors were so great in the rain. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OperaAust, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Dear Marie-Clare T, Thanks for taking the time to write this feedback. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed 'Aida'! I've passed on your feedback regarding our beverages to our producers. Kind regards, Lara, Customer Service Coordinator More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I am a patron of Opera Australia for the past few years, ex Syd sider. Yes AIDA in the right conditions is fantastic but 4 april was not the case. . We flew up interstate for the Opera on 4 April for the outdoor opera. We had looked at the weather forecast and knew that it was raining. The temperature... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi sparktoflame, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm very sorry that your experience was so heavily impacted by the rain on Easter Saturday. We do tell people that the performance will proceed, regardless of the weather, as long as wind and lightening don't pose a danger to the artists or audience. We take... More 

Canada
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
227 attraction reviews
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

the back drop of the CBD, opera house, sydney bridge, and harbour is a stunning background to the stage of Aida. Aida has brilliant sets accompanied with live camels and fireworks in the harbour at 8.30 pm. Even if you are not a opera fan, the event itself is worth attending to view the harbour. The walk through the botanical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi haileythegolden, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our production of 'Aida'! I'll be sure to pass on your feedback about the food to our producers and catering company. Kind regards, Lara, Customer Service Coordinator More 

Alameda, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We attended the outdoor performance of " Aida " by the Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour. The singing was great and the stage situated with a backdrops of Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Sydney Opera House. There wasn't any scenery changed for the whole opera and we have mixed feelings with the costumes with the entire opera. Majority of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi John1516, Thanks for spending some of your time in Sydney with us! I'm disappointed to hear that the costuming wasn't to your taste, but there are always varied opinions about production aspects, and it sounds as if it didn't spoil your evening. Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Kind regards, Lara, Customer Service Coordinator More 

Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

By good fortune the night I went to the performance of Aida was rain free. From the stunning set, to the singers and orchestra it was a truly memorable evening. And with the further backdrop of Sydney harbour, opera really does not come better than this. I had been fortunate to buy a ticket for the same evening after 4.30... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi FJHH24, Thank you for your very kind review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our production of Opera on Sydney Harbour, and that you were able to take advantage of our rush tickets! Kind regards, Lara, Customer Service Coordinator More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

We have been to every one of the Operas on the Harbour, Aida this year, and it has rained every time! I thought that we might be jinxed but the weeks before Easter when we usually go are traditionally wet in Sydney. Regardless, we enjoy the music, the singing and, of course, the spectacle. You don't need to be an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi AandM_10, thank you for providing us with this lovely feedback. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the performance in spite of the weather! I hope we see you again next year. Kind regards, Lara More 

Havelock North
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Third time lucky......it didn't rain. Outstanding opera in one of the world's most beautiful harbour settings. An interesting production with amazing costumes, innovative touches , fireworks and very powerful singing voices. Bravo to the beautiful Aida from Austin, Texas. Huge cast including three camels and an adorable baby camel. And this time taxis rolled up nonstop instead of the long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi ausgezeichnet70, thanks for the lovely feedback about our production of 'Aida'! I'm very pleased to hear that your experience has improved overall, we'll keep doing our upmost to improve our transport. Cheers, Lara More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Champagne overlooking the harbour, The Opera (Tosca on 31 Jan) - excellent cast, costumes and Props. Supper at the restaurants along the Opera boardwalk which are open late into the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Georgia R, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this review

Hi JCTraveller2011, thanks for the high praise about 'Tosca'! We really appreciate it. It sounds like you had a lovely evening. Cheers, Lara More 

Travelers who viewed Opera Australia also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Opera Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Opera Australia and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
sydney,aus
sydney,aus

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Opera Australia staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?