We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bantry House & Garden

Bantry, Ireland
353-27-50047
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 attractions in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Gardens, Historic Sites
Owner description: Bantry House and Garden is a stately home in southwest Ireland situated right on Bantry Bay with panoramic views of the bay and the caha mountains.... more » Owner description: Bantry House and Garden is a stately home in southwest Ireland situated right on Bantry Bay with panoramic views of the bay and the caha mountains. The estate is owned by Egerton and Brigitte Shelswell-White and is managed by their daughter Sophie and her partner Josh. It has been in the family since the 1700s. The house contains original furniture and objects d'art. The garden is laid out over 7 terraces with a fountain, large wisteria circle and 100 steps leading up to the woodland. The house, garden and tearoom is open to the public daily from easter to october. The estate hosts weddings, music festivals and fairs. We have a separate review page for our B&B accommodation. « less
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    45
    14
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Annes
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 NEW

This was a very good house in a spectacular location overlooking Bantry Bay, but is sadly in a very very poor state of repair. Internally the decoration is original and there are some very nice tapestries that are, I understand,to be sold soon; so if you want to see them do so before they are lost (presumably for a song... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 NEW

traveled a great distance to see this based on other reviews. the house is dilapidated and in disrepair. the portions of the house available for touring are limited and poorly appointed. no live tours are available - just self guided. grounds are likewise variably kept up, with weeds overgrowing the steps and other shortfallings. the stables were basically storage for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
51 attraction reviews
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I believe that Bantry House is to sell all it's beautiful contents in October 2014 (approx). This is to fund further developments at the house. If this is the case, then I URGE you to visit this wonderful place before October. After this, it will not be possible to take in this very important part of Irish heritage, unless you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Dear Bryno thanks for your detailed and interesting review. Its lovely to think you took in nearly every aspect of the estate. I'll forgive you sneaking in a few photos! Next time let one of us know and I am sure we would oblige! Sorry you didn't find the tearoom inviting - what a shame. Perhaps you might get in... More

Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Spent a lovely afternoon in Bantry House and Gardens during visit to West Cork in June. €11 entry fee but worth it. The tour of the house but could do with updated guide sheets. Lots of furniture in rooms other than those on the information sheets and information is limited. The gardens (100 steps) are fantastic - worth the climb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Dear Larry C thanks for visiting us in June. Glad you enjoyed your time in West Cork and so much of the house and garden. I know the guide book needs some work and sorry this has not been done yet. We will be making some significant changes over the next year and hope to deal with the guidebooks then... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We loved our stay at Bantry House and it will remain memorable for us. The staff was very friendly, we enjoyed our talk with the gardeners, too. They gave us nice advices for our own garden. The breakfast was excellent. We say thank you Brigitte for serving our afternoon tea in the greenhouse. We would love to come back next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Dear goli2611 thank you for staying and reviewing. Glad you enjoyed looking around and spending time in the garden. Tea on the terrace is certainly a lovely way to spend an afternoon. Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White More

Westport
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely & interesting stately home - just outside the pretty town of Bantry. Well worth a visit - lots of interesting artefacts and antiques from the family who owned the house. Beautiful setting overlooking Bantry Bay. Unfortunately it was raining heavily the day we visited -otherwise would have looked around the beautiful gardens more.. The nice lady at ticket desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Dear Marzi_1711 thanks for coming to visit and reviewing your time with us. We have had some gorgeous weather lately (thankfully) and hope on your return the weather is better. Best wishes, Sophie Shelswell-White More

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We enjoyed our stroll around the garden and grounds but felt the house rather disappointing for the entry charge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry you did not enjoy the house. We have some big changes and ideas we are hoping to put into practise by next year so do hope you return then. Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

great gardens and the 106 steps to the top are worth the climb even though the day we were there was not so good. the house is lovely but it need of investment although the family are doing their best

Was this review helpful? Yes
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us. The view from the top of the steps is beautiful. Hope to see you at the house again soon. Regards, Sophie Shelswell-White More

Bantry, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stately home worth visiting for its history and setting overlooking Bantry Bay. Tea room is really uper for its cakes and tea. The gardens are lovely with walks to a walled garden as well.s

Was this review helpful? Yes
SophieSW, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Hello, Really glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for your lovely review and I hope you return in the future. Kindest regards, Sophie Shelswell-White More

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I visited the gardens only with my husband so can't comment on the house. We began with refreshments from the tearoom which we were able to enjoy on the outside area along with the newly acquired hens who were very interested in our cake. It was a novelty I guess. We did have to return a slice of coffee cake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sophiemanager, General Manager at Bantry House & Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for your suggestions. They have been taken on board. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and I hope your next visit will be even better. Yours truly, Sophie Shelswell-White More

Travelers who viewed Bantry House & Garden also viewed

 

Been to Bantry House & Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bantry House & Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing