We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 96 Fore Street, Saltash, England
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 21 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 19
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Lovely coffee shop

We go to this coffee shop about twice a week . Staff very friendly good choose of hot and cold drinks and light meals all cooked to order. Very clean. Would recommend to any one.

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 20, 2015
Warrol1
,
Saltash, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Saltash

Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We go to this coffee shop about twice a week . Staff very friendly good choose of hot and cold drinks and light meals all cooked to order. Very clean. Would recommend to any one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

My husband and I pass by Saltash quite often on ourjourney home to Cornwall and are delighted to have discovered The Bookshelf. It is not just the delicious cakes and selection of hot and cold food but the warm welcome from their friendly and efficient team that make it such a special experience. On each visit I have observed Deborah... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The Bookshelf in Saltash is a lovely little tearoom, lovely lunches are served and always a cheerful and welcoming atmosphere from the owners, browse the books and if you don't find what you are looking for Debbie or Andrew will order it for you, if you haven't tried it then give it a go, you won't be disappointed .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I have just had the most wonderful afternoon tea with my friends in The Bookshelf. The Theme was Ascot. Firstly I am Gluten Free and expected something cobbled together ! how wrong was I .Debbie and Andrew presented my with an array of delights in no way inferior to my friends. All served on exquisite China and Cake Stands also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had such a lovely time with your friends. It was a pleasure to serve you all. Your gluten free comments are much appreciated as we strive to cater for special diets, allergies etc. We always value feedback, however to receive another shining review it makes all our hard work since taking over worth it. We... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

What a lovely afternoon, with an Ascot theme. Customers came in their finery and glorious hats. The sandwiches were exquisite. Also quiche which was full of flavour. Also petit fours and scones with jam and cream. Also a beautiful gateaux. Thank you to Debbie Andrew Paul and all the staff for a brilliant afternoon. Will do it again. Can't wait... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with. We welcome feedback but how lovely to receive such glowing praise. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I was surprised to read the Gluten review . I am diabetic and have never had a problem .The team are Brilliant . Debbie and Andrew are fab and are the new joint owners are a great double act . The rest of the team are also so helpful . Well done all can only see the Bookshelf is on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, Manager at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our new venture. I am pleased you feel we are catering for special diets, we strive to do this as understand first hand the problems some people gave when eating out. I am glad you enjoyed the experience when visiting the shop and I hope to see you again soon.... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

This has been a regular pit stop when we are passing Saltash. I understand it is under new management. Normally I have no problem on finding a healthy gluten free option and have plenty of choice. It's not difficult to cater for gluten free - just a couple of g.f.rolls in the freezer covers it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Whilst I thank you for your review, I feel "Left Hungry" a little harsh. Taking over a new business is hard without poor publicity. We have not changed the menu, so nothing has changed since your last visit. As you can see from other reviews all diets are catered for and have received no complaints. Most things on the menu... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Nice warm scones, no need to ask they come warm. Strawberry jam very good as well. Staff friendly, will return, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about our Traditional Cream Tea. We are so pleased you enjoyed iit, and the small touches are noticed. I hope you may return soon. Andrew More 

Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

The Bookshelf is an exquisite little bookshop and a charming tea room. The large multinational book shops have now welcomed in the corporate coffee houses yet The Bookshelf has nurtured and perfected this partnership for years. The new owners and staff are warm and welcoming and the place has a real sparkle about it. I went for lunch on Saturday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Thank you Madam for writing such a glowing review of our new venture. It is lovely to see written that our hard work and constant striving for high standards is so appreciated. We hope that we will see you again soon. Andrew More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

What a wonderful place! heaven for me - books and coffee! I visited Saltash properly for the first time ever yesterday (stupid really as I am only from Plymouth!) and I came across this place and could not resist going in for a read of my book and a cuppa (I was already full up on coffee!). The tea comes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed The Bookshelf also viewed

 

Been to The Bookshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bookshelf

Address: 96 Fore Street, Saltash, England
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Saltash
Open Hours:
Monday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bookshelf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?