We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 96 Fore Street, Saltash, England
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 24 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Friendly Straff a warm welcome.

Climbed the spiral staircase and sat upstairs looking out the window over Fore street. There was a parade on so it was nice to watch it from an elevated level. Had a mug of... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 19, 2015
Mark G
,
Saltash, United Kingdom

Similar Things to Do in Saltash

Add Photo Write a Review

24 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015 via mobile

Was in the saltash centre at the start of december and went into the shop and asked if the had a certain book for a Christmas present and was told by the cashier that I could be ordered in and that they would contact and be about 5 days, contacted the shop yesterday as still didn't hear anything back to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Climbed the spiral staircase and sat upstairs looking out the window over Fore street. There was a parade on so it was nice to watch it from an elevated level. Had a mug of coffee. I did eat but my children did and they eat all there food. We paid for father Christmas to come around and give our children... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

Lovely welcome on arrival. Proper china mugs and tea cups. Looks v festive with christmas pud tea cosey on tea pots. Sorted a few christmas presents before leaving!

Helpful?
Thank Di G
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

Two of my favourite things under the same roof: an independent bookshop, run by book-lovers, and a lovely little teashop on the first floor. Good tea in good china, excellent home-made scones and other light snacks, service always with a smile and often a joke or a chuckle. A lovely place to relax after a mornings shopping - and there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

We go to this coffee shop about twice a week . Staff very friendly good choose of hot and cold drinks and light meals all cooked to order. Very clean. Would recommend to any one.

Helpful?
Thank Warrol1
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

The Bookshelf in Saltash is a lovely little tearoom, lovely lunches are served and always a cheerful and welcoming atmosphere from the owners, browse the books and if you don't find what you are looking for Debbie or Andrew will order it for you, if you haven't tried it then give it a go, you won't be disappointed .

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I have just had the most wonderful afternoon tea with my friends in The Bookshelf. The Theme was Ascot. Firstly I am Gluten Free and expected something cobbled together ! how wrong was I .Debbie and Andrew presented my with an array of delights in no way inferior to my friends. All served on exquisite China and Cake Stands also... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Speck145
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

We are so pleased you had such a lovely time with your friends. It was a pleasure to serve you all. Your gluten free comments are much appreciated as we strive to cater for special diets, allergies etc. We always value feedback, however to receive another shining review it makes all our hard work since taking over worth it. We... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

What a lovely afternoon, with an Ascot theme. Customers came in their finery and glorious hats. The sandwiches were exquisite. Also quiche which was full of flavour. Also petit fours and scones with jam and cream. Also a beautiful gateaux. Thank you to Debbie Andrew Paul and all the staff for a brilliant afternoon. Will do it again. Can't wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geraldine G
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with. We welcome feedback but how lovely to receive such glowing praise. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Andrew More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

I was surprised to read the Gluten review . I am diabetic and have never had a problem .The team are Brilliant . Debbie and Andrew are fab and are the new joint owners are a great double act . The rest of the team are also so helpful . Well done all can only see the Bookshelf is on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank June J
Andrew M, Manager at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our new venture. I am pleased you feel we are catering for special diets, we strive to do this as understand first hand the problems some people gave when eating out. I am glad you enjoyed the experience when visiting the shop and I hope to see you again soon.... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

This has been a regular pit stop when we are passing Saltash. I understand it is under new management. Normally I have no problem on finding a healthy gluten free option and have plenty of choice. It's not difficult to cater for gluten free - just a couple of g.f.rolls in the freezer covers it!

Helpful?
2 Thank gurney298
Andrew M, Owner at The Bookshelf, responded to this review

Whilst I thank you for your review, I feel "Left Hungry" a little harsh. Taking over a new business is hard without poor publicity. We have not changed the menu, so nothing has changed since your last visit. As you can see from other reviews all diets are catered for and have received no complaints. Most things on the menu... More 

Travelers who viewed The Bookshelf also viewed

 

Been to The Bookshelf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bookshelf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?