We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course

6100 S Kings Ranch Road, Gold Canyon, AZ 85219
480-982-9449
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
Description: Recently redesigned, this course is challenging, secluded, and surrounded by beautiful mountain scenery.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Enjoyable golf experience on an enjoyable course in excellent condition. Challenging greens with plenty of break. Very friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Bob H, We appreciate you taking the time to review our Dinosaur Mountain course. We are happy that you enjoyed the conditioning of the course, the staff and our service. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to AZ. Kind Regards More

Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The course is my favorite any I have played in my 45 years of golfing. It is in great shape, has incredible elevation changes, and is smack dab in the middle of the Sonoran desert with Saguaro cacti, ocotillo, and mesquite trees. It will challenge every golfer! Be sure to take a club if you hit into the desert to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Trey C, Thank you for the glowing review and the great photos. That is quite the compliment to be your favorite golf course that you have played in 45 years of playing golf! We appreciate you taking the time to review our Dinosaur Mountain golf course and we hope to see you soon. Also, since you live in the... More

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The course is always in great shape even in the summer.The staff is pleasant and the pace is perfect. Challenging but playable for all levels of golfer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear miken, Thank you for the great review! We are fortunate to have a terrific golf course Superintendent who has been with us for over 17 years. He and his team do a great job of keeping the golf courses in top shape year round as you witnessed last month. Summer can be challenging in AZ as you are aware.... More

Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We come to Phoenix every year for a week of golf in the winter and will never miss a chance to play Dinosaur Mountain. The elevation changes are dramatic and the views are spectacular. The course was in excellent condition as were the greens. The staff was helpful and the tee times were spread apart nicely so as not to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Lucita9, Thank you so much for taking the time and commenting on our Dinosaur Mountain course. We are delighted that you choose us each time you return to Phoenix to play golf. I'm glad that you mentioned that the tee times are spread apart. Our intervals are every 10 mins which dramatically helps with pace of play leading to... More

Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Off the plane, onto the course, no time to warm up. Loved the course, great conditions, Elevation changes are magnificent. As sun set the course cools off and the shadows are welcomed. Greens ran true. Most enjoyable of the 4 I played.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Jlbod, Thank you for the glowing review and we are happy that you enjoyed our Dinosaur Mountain course the best out of the 4 that you played in Phoenix! We hope to see you again on your next adventure to the Valley of the Sun! Best Wishes, More

Gold Canyon, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

not the toughest course in AZ, but absolutely spectacular vistas. Staff is on top of things. Greens are very good and generally fast. Bring your camera. Great buffet breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Walt M, Thank you for the wonderful review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Dinosaur Mountain golf course as well as our service. We hope to see you soon! Best Regards More

Gold Canyon, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

At the base of the Superstition mountains you will find the Gold Canyon Resort. Amazing place to play golf, food is excellent and the spa is wonderful too! You will not be disappointed--check it out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Cary H, Thank you for your glowing review. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed our golf course as well as our restaurant and spa. We hope to see you in the near future. Best Regards More

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Not too Challenging but difficult enought to keep you coming back for more. The views are fantstic, and the greens are well kept. For being in the Desert I am impressed

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear TonyD, Thank you for taking the time and writing a review of our Dinosaur Mountain golf course. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed our beautiful and unique golf course. Our golf course superintendent and staff really do a terrific job in maintaining both of our golf courses. We will pass along your comments. We hope to see... More

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our group of 8 played this course on March 11, 2014. I have to say, this course was perfection. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We went early to have the breakfast buffet ($10.95 Monday-Saturday) and were not disappointed. After that, we headed over to the driving range. The practice facility was nice. The only complaint that I have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Candicemh, Thank you for review and kind comments. I'm glad that you and your guests enjoyed your day at Gold Canyon. I wanted to address the one concern that you had about our driving range because others have mentioned the same thing. The original nine holes of golf and driving range were built in 1982. Today this is the... More

North Vancouver
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Gold Canyon Dinosaur is one of our 'must do's' on our annual 4 day guys trip to Phoenix, coming from Vancouver. Beautiful course,views, great service, just a treat. Unfortunately, this year on March 1 we hit the first day in 70 of rain. We were worried about the 72 hr cancellation policy but they were kind enough to waive the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
DirectorofGolf, Manager at Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, responded to this review

Dear Mydogsnameisdog, Thank you for your kind words about our facility and staff. We were just as disappointed as you were about the weather last Saturday. We hadn't seen a drop of rain for over 70 days and unfortunately it had to happen on the day you were scheduled to play our Dinosaur Mountain course, which was sold out. We... More

Travelers who viewed Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course also viewed

Fountain Hills, Central Arizona
 
Gold Canyon, Central Arizona
Gold Canyon, Central Arizona
 

Been to Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Canyon Resort - Dinosaur Mountain Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing