We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bodiam Boating Station

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Rye Road | Riverside Cottage, Newenden TN18 5PP, England
Phone Number: 01797 253838
Website
Improve this listing
Description:

Welcome to our family run home and business, linking the garden of England...

Welcome to our family run home and business, linking the garden of England and 1066 country! Enjoy a ride abord our ferry, the Dannie Lee; 4.5m along the River Rother to the National Trust's Bodiam Castle. We also offer 15 pitches on our family friendly campsite, rowing boat hire, fishing permits and refreshments in our delightful cafe and tea garden. The Bodiam Boating Station at Riverside Cottage in Newenden is situated right on the Kent/East Sussex border, equidistant between Rye and Tenterden; and just 10 miles from the beautiful sandy beaches of Camber.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 97 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 75
    Excellent
  • 15
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Something special

Easy parking in a beautiful location..the owners have spent a lot of time and money to provide a really lovely experience, whether camping , boating, walking or fishing.....with a... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 4 weeks ago
chris f
,
Rolvenden, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Rolvenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy parking in a beautiful location..the owners have spent a lot of time and money to provide a really lovely experience, whether camping , boating, walking or fishing.....with a smart cafe/restaurant

Helpful?
Thank chris f
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We booked for 2 families to stay for one night in late September. Alex, the owner, met us and was very welcoming and helpful. After a very good evening meal at the village pub we returned to the site and had a nice evening sat out round our hired firepit. The following day (after a great breakfast at the cafe)... More 

Helpful?
Thank kentfamily9992015
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2015

Took a boat trip and discovered an excellent cafe where we enjoyed a breakfast which really set us up for the day. The guy driving the boat was very friendly and made the day of the children on board, letting them each have a go.

Helpful?
Thank Val T
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

We camped for one night for my daughters 12th birthday party with 5 of her friends. It is a fabulous site, just the right size, clean amenities, the bonus of the cafe, the use boats and the ferry and really genuinely friendly owners and staff who would do would they could to make the stay a memorable one. They opened... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry R
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

I am not usually a " review " writer but feel compelled to defend the negative review that appears on this site. We have visited this campsite a few times and have never been disappointed. We love the river and enjoy the rowing boats and the ferry to Bodiam. On our last visit we had very small children with us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Philclarej
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review

Hi, Lovely to know we have people fighting our corner! Thank you so much. Really looking forward to your event next year and really hope between us we can raise loads of money for a great cause. More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2015

We were complete novices to messing about on the water and hired a double kayak for two hours (cost £32). The young girl we met on reception was friendly and helpful and answered all our questions. The only extra advice we could have had was instructions on paddle technique so that we didn't end up zigzagging up the river! However,... More 

Helpful?
Thank SH-J1979
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed it here. Those tandem kayaks can cause people to bounce off the banks sometimes! Next time, do let us know that that that happened as we can of course give you a little instruction to help. Alternatively, the single kayaks are actually easier to navigate. We do also have... More 

london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2015

Great site - it's small and well organised with pits to hire and recycling bins etc. Nice newish facilities (lovely toilets/showers), designed by owners who have put lot of thought in, pretty gardens and the kids loved the football and basketball. Reception is part of lovely cafe/restaurant in pretty wood cabin style building which extends out into pretty garden area... More 

Helpful?
Thank katypotts
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your complimentary comments; it really does make a difference. So pleased you had a good time here and hope we'll see you here again sometime soon. Thanks for the tip about #ing our photos. Trying to figure out how; in fact giving the whole site an overhaul this winter so do keep an eye on... More 

Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015 via mobile

I took my 5 year old grandson for a surprise boat trip. Captain Phil let him drive the boat all the way to and from the castle. We were the only passengers on the early boat, so were treated like royalty. Phil made the trip fun for us all. Once we got back to the cafe the staff were friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Avril C
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review

Love that you had such a great day out with your Grandson; I will definitely pass on your comments to Captain Phil! You'll also be pleased to know that those pesky wasps have all gone now, so hopefully see you again soon. Thank you More 

Blackboys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

The other campers were friendly and there was nice family feel however we won't be going back here. The management were not friendly and were coercive in trying to make us spend more money. They tried to charge us for hire equipment we did not have. Everything here is expensive. Although the new showers were lovely we felt like the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maria111067
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review

I'm really sorry to read about your disappointing experience here. I'm glad you liked the family feel here as that is what we've tried our best to create. However, coercing people into spending money is not our game and I'm sad to think you didn't think us friendly. We have all sorts of people staying here and we try to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

We hired 3 kayaks for a couple of hours from Bodiam Boating Station. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful. We had a nice paddle on the river, very quiet and peaceful. The non-paddlers in the group had tea in the café and apparently an amazing apple strudel, can't confirm this as there was none left by... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MazzaM-London
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the trouble to review us and so pleased you enjoyed your boating here. You MUST come back, it's all true what they say about the strudels .... especially when served warmed up with ice-cream! More 

Travelers who viewed Bodiam Boating Station also viewed

Been to Bodiam Boating Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bodiam Boating Station staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?