We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aloha Kayak Co.

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 79-7248 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua Kona, Honalo, Island of Hawaii, HI
Phone Number: 808-322-2868
Website
Improve this listing
Today
7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:30 am - 5:00 pm
Description:

Aloha Kayak Co. is a Hawaiian owned and operated full service kayak outfit...

Aloha Kayak Co. is a Hawaiian owned and operated full service kayak outfit based on the Kona coast of Big Island of Hawaii. We offer award winning kayak and snorkel tours to multiple areas of the island and are permitted by the State of Hawaii to operate in Kealakekua bay out to the Captain Cook monument. We also operate Kayak tours to the Lava tube caves of Keauhou bay, and snorkel with turtles in the City of Refuge, Honaunau bay. We offer kayak rentals and paddle board lessons and rentals too. All rentals include all proper gear and car racks for mounting on your car! Any car, convertibles too. ATT: Permits are required for some areas please call us for more info! We are open from 7:30 am to 5pm daily. Please call our office for more info about any of our services! We are Located 9 miles south of Kailua-Kona on Hwy 11 just south of the 114 mile marker. Call for further assistance.

read more
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
More Info
$99*
and up
Big Island Keauhou Bay Kayaking and Optional...
More Info
$100*
and up
Snorkel, Kayak and Dolphin Experience in the Big Island’s Kealakekua Bay
More Info
$100*
and up
Best Big Island Manta Ray Night Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 273 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 231
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Amazing snorkeling

Very helpful guides and snorkeling at Captain Cook was wonderfully out of the ordinary for us. Lots of fish and coral to see. Was glad to have help in and out of the ocean... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Linda S
,
Elmira, New York
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very helpful guides and snorkeling at Captain Cook was wonderfully out of the ordinary for us. Lots of fish and coral to see. Was glad to have help in and out of the ocean - don't know if we could have accomplished it on our own.

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The owner of Aloha Kayak provided an excellent overview of the history of Captain Cook before going out in the kayaks. It provided a lot of context to what we were about to see. The guides had great attitudes and shared even more history during the tour. On top of that the snorkeling at Captain Cook is beautiful and since... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ginger C
Houston
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

My wife and I really enjoyed our kayak and snorkel trip to Kealakekua Bay with Aloha Kayak. Very well organized. Great safety discussion before leaving the shop. Our guide, Makai was excellent. Was nice being able to land on shore and see the Captain Cook monument and relax onshore before heading back in the kayaks. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank OverNextHorizon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Drove an hour to get turned away because the booking company sucks and they didn't have enough guides. The employee told us to Google hour to get a refund. While I understand this is likely the most efficient way to give us an answer, telling tired travelers that you just stiffed "Google it" with no other alternatives out even a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dan B
Salisbury, Vermont, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

I'm reluctant to post a negative review, but feel candid feedback is important here. We showed up early for a tour and were met by an empty, locked store front. The "owner" showed up about 15 minutes late and one of his first comments was a moderately inappropriate one about my weight. I'm a big guy, but clearly capable based... More 

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

We should have read more reviews. It seems our experience is not unique. We booked this adventure through Viator and arrived well ahead of the scheduled time of 12:15pm. The place was locked up tight with a sign saying back at 3:30. This is ominous! One hoped that this was just an oversight. Didn't worry to much and went for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean T
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

We had Makai as a guide who was very friendly, knowledgeable and safety-conscious. Tour started w a brief notcquite accurate nontheless entertaining history of Captain Cooks time and demise on Hawai'i. From reading other reviews it appears the company owner must be somewhat of a loose cannon which is a shame for the hardworking guides. There were just 4 of... More 

Helpful?
Thank QualResearcher_9
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

Due to the high surf, Aloha Kayak cancelled the trip and said it would be refunded. I tried calling the company but they have not picked up. I have tried to settle the dispute through my credit card company but the company is trying to say the tour was non-refundable.... except they FAILED to say that they cancelled the tour,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
AlohaKayakCo, Owner at Aloha Kayak Co., responded to this review

Aloha David, I sent you a email to your personal email. It is not us that did'nt refund you. it is the online booking service. We always refund every client for tours that don't go out due to bad weather of staffing issues. As i stated in my email. i have been having some health issues due to some newly... More 

West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

I greatly enjoyed kayaking and snorkeling with Aloha Kayak to Captain Cook. It wasn't just an adventure tour but included talk of the history and culture of the area which made it a richer experience. The snorkeling in the reef was quite good and the water by the shore is extremely clear. Even if you're not a good swimmer it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger_S6502014
Balgowlah, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We booked this tour because we had heard fascinating stories about being able to snorkel above the feeding manta rays which we could just glimpse from the Sheraton Kona lookout each night. We turned up 15 minutes early at the store as instructed, the store was closed, and we waited...and waited, but no one turned up... (there was only a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peter J

Travelers who viewed Aloha Kayak Co. also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aloha Kayak Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aloha Kayak Co. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?