We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Camel Valley Vineyard

Nanstallon, Bodmin PL30 5LGUK, England
0044120877959
Website
Improve this listing
92%
Ranked #1 of 4 Activities in Bodmin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
Activities: Wine tasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working, family owned vineyards, winery, holiday cottages and shop. Scheduled tours (fee) and wine by the bottle or glass (fee) on the terrace and wine bar overlooking the vines. No food except grissini, crisps, olives etc. Opening times vary according to the season. Booking is essential for the Grand Tours. Sorry, no dogs except guide dogs.

Hotels near Camel Valley Vineyard

Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    27
    5
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We visited this vineyard as part of our East Anglian wine growers Vineyards of the West Country tour. We had a tour of the vineyard and winery led by Bob Lindo who is extremely knowledgeable and extremely highly regarded in Wine growing circles. The wine tasting was good accompanied by some "cheese straws" freshly made for the tasting. We came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Merstham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

As we were staying fairly nearby, took a walk along the Camel Trail to the vineyard to take part in the weekly tour and tasting. Tour was led by Bob, the owner. It was very informative, good balance of humorous and educational. Tour was followed by a tasting. What can I say, but amazing!! Finished off spending some pennies in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
30 attraction reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Our family of 5 visited on Monday afternoon, for the tour led by the owner Bob. It cost us £7.50 each and lasted 45 minutes. The views are fantastic, the setting beautiful and the tour was really interesting especially as Bob is such an enthusiast. At the end you get a glass of their excellent wine of your choice -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a nice review. It's the 100th 'Excellent' one and it makes all the hard work worthwhile. More

Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

it may be because we arrived on opening time, or the staff had had a bad night before, but we did not stay as long as we intended due to the indifferent reception we received. I don't doubt that had we taken the evening guided tour and tasting things should have been different, but we cleared off after 10 minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review

Yes, thanks. I’m sorry the member of staff was unwell that day and you’re right, it’s worth booking a tour, if you haven’t been before. More

Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Had a glass of English 'champagne' in Padstow one afternoon and were impressed enough to seek out the Vineyard on our travels the next day. Thoroughly enjoyed the time sat in the sunshine on the terrace sipping sparkling wine, eating olives and relaxing. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about their produce so we had to take a couple of bottles... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Came across this vineyard accidentally, it is quite a drive from the main road but well worth it, the views from the terrace are stunning, we missed the guided tasting but settled for a glass of the best rose bubbly I have ever tasted sat on the terrace, taking in the views, needless to say a bottle was purchased, if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pool in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We visited this vineyard on Wednesday evening for the grand tour and tasting. The tour was great, lasted about an hour and was really interesting. It is a family business and you really get a feel for how hard they all have worked (and still do). The wine tasting bit is great. The owner ran the tour and he was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

I have never been to a winery which charges nearly £2 to taste the wine before buying. You don't even get the cost deducted if you choose to buy a wine. Paying £12 odd for a bottle of wine is a rip off if they don't let you taste beforehand. Surely you make enough money to spare a mouthful for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
bobCornwall, Owner at Camel Valley Vineyard, responded to this review

Enjoying a glass of wine on the terrace at Camel Valley, with fabulous views overlooking the vines, especially in the beautiful weather we've enjoyed this summer, has been the highlight of many people's holiday. Parking is free, admission is free, but we charge for tours in which a wine tasting, or a glass of wine is included. We also serve... More

Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We went on the wine tour on a sunny Friday afternoon and enjoyed the experience. The tour was very interesting with lots of information we didn't know about grape wines and wine and champagne making. The staff were very helpful. It was lovely sitting in the raised terrace at the end sipping our free glasses of wine overlooking the vines... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Always an absolute pleasure to go here and unwind, enjoy a bottle of wine or bubbly on the terrace overlooking the vineyard. The Family take great pride in the product and clearly it has no carbon footprint, being produced on the premises - cant get more home grown than that. This year we took the wine tour which was extremely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Camel Valley Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Camel Valley Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing