We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Fountain | 1 High Street, Christchurch BH23 1AE, England
Phone Number: +44 1202 475000
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Wed 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thu 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Sat 10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Description: Paint Your Own Pottery cafe offering a great opportunity to relax in a...
Paint Your Own Pottery cafe offering a great opportunity to relax in a friendly and help environment. The cafe offers a wide range of high quality food and drink. Open every day including late night on Thursdays.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 52 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 41
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Lovely creations

We spent a few hours here on a dull Monday morning. There is a huge selection of pottery to chose from and staff are on hand to give tips and techniques on painting.Prices started... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 26, 2015
carrieSouthWales
,
south wales
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

We spent a few hours here on a dull Monday morning. There is a huge selection of pottery to chose from and staff are on hand to give tips and techniques on painting.Prices started from around £5 but most pieces are £15 upwards plus you need to add on £3.50 per child, our piece cost £22 in total but it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you had a good time. You mentioned that we do not provide aprons. We have plenty of aprons are available if you ask for one. This is no problem at all. However, the paints are totally safe and will usually brush off clothes even before washing. More 

somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 NEW

We stopped here on our holiday for my daughter and her partner (21 and 23) to paint some pottery. The place is a delight from the moment you arrive. It has a huge range of items to paint. It's light and airy, with super comfy sofas for those not painting. Tea, coffee and divine home made cakes and biscuits are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Your pieces look great and you have every reason to be pleased with them. We appreciate that you drove some distance to reach us and that you feel this was well worth it. We always aim to make your visit enjoyable and a great way to spend a morning or afternoon, or even longer. More 

New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

My little nieces loved this place. Plenty of fun to be had making a beautiful mess and equally beautiful (well, in my eyes anyway!) painted pottery pieces. We all went away with something we were delighted with and having had a thoroughly good time. One point to note, some of the base prices for the pieces for paining are a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review and we are very pleased that you had a great time. There is a very wide range of prices and pieces to suit all budgets, painting abilities and reasons for painting. This means there is something for everyone to help you spend a few relaxing hours. Price-wise painting pottery compares very favourably with other leisure... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

A great place to spend a few hours or all day. Suitable for all ages and abilities. Something to enjoy with family,friends or even on your own Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful Food also good End product something to keep or give as a present and something to be proud of

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You have summed up The Clay Studio very well, for everybody to spend just a few hours or even all day. You have produced some lovely pieces too. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We visited the Clay Studio recently and had a great time. It was so much fun and we were really pleased with the end results. The staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. They gave us lots of suggestions which was very useful to us as this was the first time we had tried painting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you had a great time. We noted you had never painted pottery before but you proved that having "no artistic skills" is no barrier to painting great pieces. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Came here lots when it was in the previous location, and just been back with my (24yr old) grandson. He thought it was fabulous. He had never done anything like it before and spent so much time getting it just right. I made a sign for our beach hut. Nacho was more amazed when we collected the finished glazed items.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

It was good to see you again and you have clearly not lost your painting touch as the beach hut nunber plaque proved. Nacho's mug looks great too. More 

Dorset United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Just visited here with grandson (2 and half years) very friendly staff and pretty soon grandson was getting down to the task of choosing his piece( a tank) and colours of paint, he then set about applying his colours to his tank. The lovely patient member of staff was on hand to offer lots of advice which grandson was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The pieces have now been fired and tank has an unusual camouflage scheme! We look forward to your next visit. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Last Tuesday we took our young daughter and her friend to Clay Studios for the first time. Greeted very politely by a kind gentleman who proceeded to fill us all in on things. Once sunk in, we then chose our pottery bits and off we went. Easy Peazy! As a busy adult I thought I would be bored but I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Pottery painting makes a great bonding exercise for staff. We call it "teambuilding without getting wet". Come and have a chat about the different things we can do to make your team day rewarding and fun. More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Today I popped into The Clay Studio and had a wonderful time. Everything is so well layed out and there is lots to choose from to paint and add your touch of creative flare too. The staff are friendly and so eager to help. They also have a lovely menu of meals, cakes, cookies and hot and cold beverages to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us yesterday. Your plate looks wonderful and we are looking forward to taking it out of the kiln on Monday. More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Well i went in stressed but what a way to de-stress with a nice cup of coffee and a slice of dorset apple i became a calm zone of zen the staff were lovely and answered all of my questions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin P, Public Relations Manager at The Clay Studio, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Like yourself many find that painting pottery is a great way to relax and distress. This explains why our late nights on Thursdays have become so popular. More 

Travelers who viewed The Clay Studio also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Clay Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Studio

Address: The Fountain | 1 High Street, Christchurch BH23 1AE, England
Phone Number: +44 1202 475000
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Christchurch
Open Hours:
Monday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 5:30 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Clay Studio staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?