We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
Phone Number: +44 1723 373414
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Opening Easter 2015: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our...
Opening Easter 2015: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their upgraded pool and waterfall - you could even pick up a fish and treat them to lunch!* Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 884 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 220
    Excellent
  • 279
    Very good
  • 200
    Average
  • 115
    Poor
  • 70
    Terrible
full of interesting sea life

A fantastic place for children and lots of things for them to do and see. Inwatched the otters and seals being fed. The staff were full of information and you ciuld feel their... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed March 12, 2014
Helen C
,
Stoke-on-Trent
Add Photo Write a Review

884 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

A fantastic place for children and lots of things for them to do and see. Inwatched the otters and seals being fed. The staff were full of information and you ciuld feel their pride and care for these creatures. Excellent. Allow 3 hours .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Helen Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad that you and your children found Scarborough SEA LIFE excellent with lots of things to do and see! The staff at SEA LIFE very much so care for the animals and are a bounty of knowledge about them! Thank you for taking three hours to visit... More 

leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

we love sea-life centers and have been to quite a few of them in the uk. we liked this one especially because of it location by the sea its a great area to have a walk and there's a nice pub nearby that serves local ales, just what you need for walking ha! but we mostly liked it because unlike... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Reviewer1986 Thanks ever so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and especially the Seals! Our resident Seals are super cheeky and love having visitors! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

As title says not pushchair friendly at all, no lift to cafe or to the attractions upstairs - surely this is a basic! Had to carry my sons pushchair up and down which with a bad back is hardly ideal and I must say put a bit of a negative on the trip constantly up and down. Agree with most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Mrs A Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you found our attraction not pushchair friendly. We are currently undergoing work to make the centre more accessible so rest assured this will soon be sorted. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our vast variety of marine life. We hope that you return in the future. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We found the place overpriced for the time that you could spend here. We did enjoy our trip around but were shocked at the cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am disappointed to hear that you felt the admission price you paid on the day of your visit was expensive. We encourage visitors to take advantage of our promotions and vouchers. Using a 2 for 1 voucher, the entry fee per person works out at £8.10. This is cheaper than The Deep who charge £10.75 per person.... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Avid sealife fans, this was not our first visit, but it was our first time on their crazy golf (an excellent course!) and we always seem to find something new each time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Falula Thank you for your fantastic comments! It's great to hear you are avid SEA LIFE fans and always find something different on each visit. The centre really is always changing, from Magical Jellyfish to Fearsome Black Tip Sharks there is always something to see. We would like to thank you for your continued support and hope to welcome... More 

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

After visiting other Sea Life Centres in the past in Great Yarmouth and Blackpool, this one was a bit of a let down. We really were not impressed. We definitely wouldn't waste money going back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry you felt your experience did not represent good value. We do encourage our guests to speak with a Duty Manager during the visit if there are any concerns. If you chose not to do this, we would welcome you to get in touch via email: slcscarborough@merlinentertainments.biz More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Took my daughter here she did enjoy it however it cost £29 for 3 of us this was including using a 40% off voucher and lasted about an hour there's not much to see and cafe is expensive too! I found the visit expensive for what it was and will not be revisiting!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi LNewton Thank you for your review. I am thrilled to hear that your daughter enjoyed her visit to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary! We are dedicated to providing magical and memorable experiences to all our visitors but especially our youngest ones. It's sad to hear that you feel a visit to our attraction would be complete in an hour. We... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great day out in Scarborough visiting this sealife centre not only telling the story of local sea life but the wider picture of the history of this area and caring for its natural habitat. Kids and big kids will all enjoy this. Sharks and all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Mavericktopgun Thank you for your kind review of the Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary. I am so pleased that the big kids and the little ones all enjoyed their day out! Our dedicated staff love telling the stories of the animals in our care, and as a conservation sanctuary we are constantly getting new animals and new stores, so make... More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 attraction reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

There's a great selection of wildlife and the staff are helpful, friendly and informative. You can also adopt seals, penguins etc for additional charge - perfect if you have a penguin obsessed child like I do!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Salwal It's fantastic to hear you had a great visit to SEA LIFE! The Penguins sure love the younger visitors! So much, Piglet has got herself a twitter account to keep in touch with her visitors! See our twitter for a link to Piglet and your daughter can get regular updates from the Penguin Pool! Many thanks More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a lovely afternoon. We took part in a few of the talks and a rock pool touch session which only served to increase our enjoyment of our visit. We did have a voucher for half price entry for 5 of our party which was very welcome and made it good value for money, but we all had a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi mousehole Thanks so much for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you had a lovely afternoon learning about our fantastic animals. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. More 

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?