We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
Phone Number: +44 1723 373414
Website
Today
10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Description: Opening Easter 2015: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our...
Opening Easter 2015: Penguin Island Get closer than ever before to our colony of Humboldt Penguins in their brand new walkthrough home. Waddle side by side with our adorable penguins and watch them make a splash as they play in their upgraded pool and waterfall - you could even pick up a fish and treat them to lunch!* Let us take you on a fascinating journey from the coastline to the depths of the ocean. Discover a magical underwater world filled with a dazzling array of amazing creatures. Every step will reveal something new, from a face to face encounter with sharks to a hands-on rockpool experience. Discover the truth about the much-misunderstood shark, the plight on the endangered sea turtle, the remarkable life of the seahorse plus countless surprising facts about these and hundreds of other incredible creatures. Meet Ed our playful seal and watch out for him splashing around. Watch our otters Eric and Pumpkin as they learn new skills through a special training programme. Visit our Turtle Sanctuary and help feed our native sharks and rays! Pirate Adventure Mini Golf at SEA LIFE Scarborough Now you can combine your SEA LIFE voyage with a round of Pirate Adventure Mini Golf*! It's a swashbuckling game for the whole family offering a new challenge at every hole.In true pirate style, your navigation skills will be tested as you make your way around cannons, treasure chests and gunpowder barrels. Will you hold your nerve as you jump aboard a pirate raft and make your way over water to the half way point? Can you conquer all 12 holes? Do you have enough skill to beat your friends and family? There's only one way to find out!*Separate charge applies
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 974 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 246
    Excellent
  • 308
    Very good
  • 219
    Average
  • 126
    Poor
  • 75
    Terrible
Enjoyed it, and it was well priced.

This was a nice sealife centre. Well priced and allows you to go around at your own pace, as well as listening to talk about the animals.

4 of 5 starsReviewed July 6, 2015
Z0eeee
,
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

974 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 NEW

This was a nice sealife centre. Well priced and allows you to go around at your own pace, as well as listening to talk about the animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 NEW

I have been to this Sea Life Centre three times with my children and I'm sorry to see it has gone downhill over the years. First of all, the prices are ridiculous. £18 per person? When I asked why it had shot up so much, I was told because you can now play golf. Well, didn't really come for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015 NEW

Had to queue to get in as photographers inside the barrier were harassing people to have photos taken. When we said we did not want photographs, they were in no rush to let us in and two ladies who had been pressurised got up and went in also. It cost £16 each for 5 people, including my grand daughter, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to SEA LIFE Scarborough. We appreciate you taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts, as all guest feedback is extremely important to us, and goes to ensure we can continue to develop and improve our service each day. First of all we would like to apologise that your experience... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

Scarborough Sea Life santuary is a bit far out but well worth the time and effort. Lots to see for young and old. Good idea to wear walking shoes and bring a camera and oh DONT FORGET THE KIDS.. Ours was a a short visit and we particularly liked the penguins and how they had been rescued.. The giant turtle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hello patriciaj177, and thanks for your excellent 5 star review! So glad to read you had such a great time with us, and additionally that you enjoyed our new penguin area, Penguin Island. All of our penguins are actually captive bred, however we do have 2 younger birds who were rescued when their parents rejected them. It's so lovely to... More 

Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

Not impressed, there should be labels on each exhibit, giving info on the contents. When staff are giving talks there should be amplifiers so everyone can hear. Didn't like been pushed to have photos taken as soon as we entered. Protesters and police outside was off-putting. Not easy to navigate your way round the maze of exhibits. Expensive for what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Christine W, and thanks for your review, I was disappointed to read your review, and that you seem to have had a less than satisfactory experience with us. There are a couple of things that have confused me, however. We do have interpretation around each and every single one of our tanks. If it is not directly on the... More 

Ayr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW via mobile

Kids loved it but when we tried to book the tickets online it wouldn't work, we were then charged double at the door as a result! Plenty for kids to see but place was very busy and noisey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi EveD14, and thanks for your review. I'm so sorry to read that you had difficulties purchasing tickets online. We do offer significant discounts for guests pre-booking their tickets through our website. Should you have an issue, our contact details are all there, so we would have been able to help you had you let us know :( Yes, we... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 via mobile

Kids were really excited to see all the beautiful sealife. Although were given a activity passport to get stamped on the way around but none of the stamps worked which was annoying so therefore couldnt complete to get the prize. Lovly place otherwise bit pricey

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Kaykien and thanks for your awesome 5 star review! Sorry to read that the stamps didn't work - are you sure about this? Our stamps are not physical stamps so as not to waste ink, they actually emboss the card of the Dive Log Books. I hope you kept hold of yours so you could have a look... Otherwise... More 

Derby, england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

So nice to go to a sealife centre that's actually by the sea ! (Our local one is Birmingham). Good selection of sea creatures - fish, jellyfish, turtle, seals, penguins, sea horses etx and bits of info to read on each. Small cafe with narrow selection of food (chips, burger, sandwiches and a couple other things) and a small soft... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi MsZamboni and thanks for your lovely review, HEY! Birmingham is also awesome, I used to work there :) Great to read you had such a nice time with us in beautiful Scarborough (yes, our location is a little enviable) and that you got to see the wide range of creatures we have here! Noted your comments about the café... More 

County Durham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

Great day out for all seeing these beautiful creatures. Some areas being refurbished but did not disrupt any of the viewing and nice too see they are looking after the animals so well and keeping the grounds and the animals homes kept so well. Staff very informative about the animals they have. Would recommend to every one to go great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi Clio74, and thank you for your awesome 5 star review! Your pictures are great, I especially like the penguin close-up! Sorry you were annoyed by the parking, unfortunately it is council owned, so my hands are frustratingly tied! Remember, there is free parking located at the top of the hill - top tip for next time :) We hope... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

I visited here with my young daughter and we both had a fantastic day. A great mix of indoor and outdoor exhibits and we particularly enjoyed the talks with feeding sessions. For anyone visiting the area this is a must. If you go online and book your ticket in advance the prices are excellent value for money, we paid just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scarborough S, General Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this review

Hi andy tdk, and thank you for your fantastic review! Glad to read that you benefitted from our brilliant parent and toddler tickets, which really do represent great value at just £10 each! We are constantly developing and improving our attraction, so do come back soon and see all of the fun new things! We hope to see you again... More 

Travelers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary

Address: Scalby Mills, Scarborough, England
Phone Number: +44 1723 373414
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Scarborough
Open Hours:
Sunday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?