We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarice House Spa

Layer Road | Kingsford Park, Colchester CO2 0HS, England
01206 734301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Activities in Colchester
Type: Spas
11 visitor photos
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    62
    37
    41
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

Mardy, rude and unwelcoming. That's what we are used to each time we visit the gym. Rarely do we get a 'hello' and heaven forbid, a thank you! I was with a friend last Friday and told her about the contract free membership. She called to ask for information. THREE members of staff spoken to had 'erm ,no idea I'm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 NEW

Good Bits.... Fab food. Great looking pool area. Bad Bits... Pool cold. Steam room too hot, burning hot! Drinks v expensive, £4.50 for orange and lemonade! Facial terrible, no massage, lots of creams put on and then removed straight after. Waste of time. Nails terrible, messy at the edges, not filled properly. Very dull and not shiny! Bubbled up afterwards,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

Went to Clarice House with friends to celebrate their Birthday. The food is really lovely here, we had lunch which was delicious. The spa treatments are OK and good value when included in a spa day, however I would not pay the singular price as it's way over the odds for treatments. Very good value when visiting on a spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

A gift from my husband meant that my daughter and I were looking forward to our second visit to Clarice House. On arrival at 9.30am we found toilet paper on the floor of the toilet and the carpet on the stairs very much in the need of a hoover. We ordered tea and toast. We had to clear tables twice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your day and have spoken to the staff who remember your complaint and rest assured I have investigated all the issues and do hope that the bill being adjusted accordingly for you on the day helped set some of this right for you. I do hope you feel you can... More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

My daughter bought a voucher for us to go for this spar day package but upon trying to book it was told we would have to wait untill next year, the lady at reception seemed uninterested and bored with the conversation however eventually managed to come up with a date 29th october. We arrived at 9am staff were friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments I am really pleased you enjoyed one of our most popular package treatments it is indeed a very special treatment. I apologise that some elements of the day did not meet your expectations and rest assured I have spoken to the team so we can continue to improve our offering. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Visited a month or so ago, found tired and grubby surroundings.we had to share a double locker which was a single at the best. We were on a conveyor belt system of treatments, which were mediocre and undertaken by indifferent staff. The food was only just average & one meal was absolutely cold. The only positives were the wait staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

I joined Clarice House for £53 per month. in the last 7 weeks i have been turned down from 16 spin classes as they were fully booked. it wasn't even as if i was booking last minute. often i was booking two days before (you can only book from 7am 2 days before but if you're not quick sharp you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns about your membership. I have tried to look into your comments. I am concerned about the amount you pay as we do not have a membership at the price you quote so would like to sort this for you as soon as we can. I have no log on any... More

Halstead, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

lovely day excellent food had nails done at 3.30 told they take an hour to dry looked lovely sat around till 5 drove home half hour journey noticed they had bubbled now look awful just rang to be told its the heat !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

So sorry about your nails, if you visit again you would love our Gelish nail treatment perfect for a spa day as it dries instantly and lasts up to 2 weeks. We do hope as the rest of your day was a good experience that it will not taint your view of Clarice House and we will see you back... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

I booked in to five lakes hotel for the bank holiday weekend, but they did not have any treatments available so i found this place to have a spa day. this is a nice place but very expensive for what you get. booked a manicure, pedicure for my wife, a full body massage and exfoliation for both of us which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

I am so sorry about your experience with us, we do pride ourselves on the quality of our treatments so are disappointed that you did not enjoy them. If you would like me to look into this further please do email colchester@claricehouse.co.uk explaining fully the issues you had I will endeavour to use your feedback to improve our service. Thank... More

Essex
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 attraction reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Thought I would post a review based on my experience as a member of the health club, so someone who visits all the time. I have been a member of at least three other gyms in Colchester and there is no match to Clarice House in terms of facilities - the gym equipment is very modern and is just about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ClariceHouseManager, Manager at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Wow thank you so much for taking the time and effort to post such a lovely comment. The team here at Colchester Clarice House are over the moon with your review and we hope you continue to enjoy the facilities and our offering. Thank you again. More

Travelers who viewed Clarice House Spa also viewed

 
Thorpe le Soken, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Clarice House Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing