We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarice House Spa

Address: Layer Road | Kingsford Park, Colchester CO2 0HS, England
Phone Number: 01206 734301
Website
Improve this listing
57%
Ranked #10 of 30 Activities in Colchester
Attraction details

Hotels near Clarice House Spa

Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    69
    40
    43
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 NEW via mobile

I came here with my partner and we had a wonderful day very relaxing treatments and our waiter Ben went out of his way to make sure we had a very enjoyable dinning experience. Nothing was to much trouble! We will definitely be returning again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

We booked a spa day using a gift voucher for 8 of us. The first date available was January when we had been trying since October. We already knew we had treatments at 9am but lunch not until 1.30pm, which was not ideal. However, we turned up at 8.30 happy to b having a day together to celebrate a 40th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manningtree,Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

My wife and I visited over the weekend for a distress day for two. We had a full body massage, which definitely sorted out our aches and pains. Our treatment was the first slot at 9 am. This was the only time we could book for. Our voucher was extended for a month over the 12 months, as we couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

I had a lovely day with my mum at clarice house. Staff are friendly and helpful food was delicious facial and back massage were divine. However, manicure and pedicure was not very good, but this was the only let down part of our day. If you are going by public transport, you may need to get a taxi to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Me & My partner were bought a superior pampering weekround spa day for two voucher for Christmas. I just phoned up to book our treatment & was told that the earliest availability is May, as the voucher runs out in June i'm glad I didn't wait any longer to book in! We're going to decide if it's worth the five... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your concerns. I am sorry we have not found a suitable date for you to redeem your voucher. I have checked and there is availability to book during the week, weekends are getting very busy due to the success of our amazing offers and also those offers and vouchers purchased through Buy A Gift, maybe if... More 

Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

we received a voucher from our kids for Christmas for a pamper day which including a 2 course lunch and an aromatherapy massage. Do be aware that if you want a weekend slot you need to book quite a while in advance, but as vouchers are valid for 12 months you should be able to find a slot. we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

Terrible service, unhelpful staff and rude receptionists. Would never use again. Do not buy a voucher it takes about 3-4 months to get a Saturday / Sunday slot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

I am really sorry you had such a bad day with us. I notice you visited in August so I am very sorry but it is very hard for me to comment so late after your visit, however if you do feel you would like us to investigate your complaint and can give us more detail please email colchester@claricehouse.co.uk however... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015 via mobile

I went in December for my first visit. For the money I paid it was excellent value ... Around £60 Inc lunch and treatments. The areas for improvement is def the pool area. There are too many loungers crammed in and no cushions on them which is a real shame. It's hard to get to the loungers as you can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and Katie was delighted to receive such lovely comments about her treatments. I was really interested in your thoughts about the pool house and these have been passed on and you may be really keen to try our Love to Lounge day - this includes a specially selected lunch with a glass of fizz and... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014 via mobile

This is what I emailed - We had a spa day on the 18th of December. We have some great feedback and some disappointing feedback about our day. The spa it self was stunning. The rooms were very clean. The changing rooms were clean. Swimming pool area was very clean. The staff outside the swimming pool area was also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and apologies that you had cause to complain. I am aware that you have made your complaint to our general manager at Colchester Clarice House so we will respond accordingly following a full investigation into your comments. Thank you for giving us this opportunity and we will be in contact very soon. More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014 via mobile

I recently visited clarice house with my partner and thought the premises to be superb , however the reception staff were incredibly rude and unenthusiastic towards giving me any kind of direction, how ever the beauty therapy staff saw I was lost and helped me out , so thumbs up to them !, also my car was vandalised in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ClariceHouseManager, Owner at Clarice House Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your visit to Clarice House. I am very disturbed to hear that you had such a dreadful experience and that your car was vandalised. I have checked with all the staff who know nothing about this and are very keen to investigate for you to find out if we can help in any way. If you... More 

Travelers who viewed Clarice House Spa also viewed

 
Thorpe le Soken, Essex
Colchester, Essex
 

Been to Clarice House Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarice House Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?