We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beth Chatto Gardens

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Elmstead Market, Colchester CO7 7DB, England
Phone Number: +44 1206 822007
Website
Description: Open 7 days a week 7.5 Acres of inspirational Gardens £6.95 admission...
Open 7 days a week 7.5 Acres of inspirational Gardens £6.95 admission (under 14's Free). Gravel Garden, extensive Nursery and Tea Room all free to gain access. The Beth Chatto Gardens began in 1960. From an overgrown wasteland with poor gravel soil and boggy hollows, using the principles of ecological planting, it has been transformed into 7 acres of informal garden comprising of the Gravel Garden, Water Garden, Woodland Garden and Scree Garden all harmonising with the surrounding countryside. The gardens are an inspiration to anyone who visits them - the art of planting at its best. There is also an extensive Nursery with choice of over 2,000 different kinds of mainly herbaceous plants and bulbs. Light and spacious Tearoom with homemade cakes, light lunches, breakfasts, fresh ground coffee and selection of teas. Closed Christmas and New Year
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 318 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 181
    Excellent
  • 99
    Very good
  • 25
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Fantastic gardens

Very tranquille, quiet and adorable place to go to! I loved looking at all the flowers and took in their smell. Also bought some seeds in the shop and look forward to what will... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 21, 2015
Dorit S
,
Stuttgart, Germany
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Very tranquille, quiet and adorable place to go to! I loved looking at all the flowers and took in their smell. Also bought some seeds in the shop and look forward to what will be coming out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Me and my partner visited at the weekend the food was excellent and had a great time will recommend to friends visit again and recommend the salad

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I love going to gardens around the country so much. They have great variety of planting and style purpose, and can br very different every time you go. Fantastic for getting ideas for your own garden. The cafe (is a cafe not a 3 star restaurant as some revues seem to expect) nice with a good choice of sandwiches, cakes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
47 attraction reviews
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

This is a beautifully laid out garden (although more plants good do with labelling) and was looking lovely when we where there. The garden shop was impressive in that not only did it have a lot of plants, it had a lot of varieties of the same plant - something you do not find elsewhere. We ate in the cafe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Had a walk round the garden, which is stunning. Then decided to have lunch, ordered soup and vegetable Lasagne. The soup was served immediately - however my Husband had to wait over 40 mins for the Lasagne to be served - it was mid week and not overly busy and no apology for the delay. We won't have lunch there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I visited as part of a coach party of about 25 from Knockholt Horticultural Society on 14th May 2015. Despite the rather inclement weather we were able to take full enjoyment of these beautiful gardens. Our guide Ian was very informative and managed to arrange to start our hour long tour a little early before the heavens opened properly. Later,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Visited today early so decided to have breakfast, not much choice. Decided on poached egg on toast, my partner had scrambled egg on toast. We also had latte which was tasteless. Breakfast arrived 30 minutes later, there was no one else in cafe at time so don't know why this took so long. Toast was very hard covered in heaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

I love going to these gardens so much I became a member. It is different every time you go. Fantastic for getting ideas for your own garden. The cafe is nice with a good choice of sandwiches, cakes, drinks etc. A great selection of plants for sale and the staff are always willing and able to discuss problems or ideas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex , UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

The gardens are beautiful , we may have chosen the right day and time of year but there are two disappointing factors Went to look at the plants for sale , there were loads of blank areas were the sales has not been topped up Waiting time in the cafe , the coffees were nice although there was a long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BethChattoGarden, General Manager at The Beth Chatto Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Garden. During the Bank Holiday weekend we did have a large number of visitors and customers purchasing plants, unfortunately as we have a relatively small team and take pride in offering advice and guidance on the Nursery on this occasion we did not re-stock as... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Great variety and interest within a modestly-sized garden, looking lovely in early May; birdsong too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers who viewed The Beth Chatto Gardens also viewed

 

Been to The Beth Chatto Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Beth Chatto Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?