We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Neptunvegen 6, Tromso 9024, Norway (Formerly Kjetil Skogli)
Phone Number: +47 907 37 552
Website
Improve this listing
Description: I'm the AuroraChaser and as one of first one, if not the first one, who...
I'm the AuroraChaser and as one of first one, if not the first one, who started with real flexible tour to chase the northern lights I have many,many years of experience doing this.Local knowlegde about the weather, professional photography and good knowlegde in astromony makes me able to give you a good experience and increase your chance to see and photograph the elusive Aurora Borealis. People has been writing about me long time before I got this profile and I actually think you find more "reviews" about me outside this profile. I also had the pleasure to work with celebrities like Joanna Lumley, Brian Cox, Queens Brain May and Roger Taylor, Fern Brittain and Globo Sportos Clayton Conservani. Feel free to give me a feedback from your experience from my tours.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 53 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 5
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 0
    Terrible
Worth Every Dollar. We will be back

We went out 4 nights in a row with Kjetil. Every night's display was fantastically different. We felt safe being driven such long distances in the hands of such a capable quide... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 17, 2015
JILL N
,
Perth, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We went out 4 nights in a row with Kjetil. Every night's display was fantastically different. We felt safe being driven such long distances in the hands of such a capable quide and gentleman. Met some great people each night. Recommend having an early dinner before your 7pm pickup at Radisson. This trip is not for those with food on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We went on two nights of aurora chasing with Kjetil, it was a great experience. He definitely knows where to go and that gives you a lot of confidence.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Kjetil was friendly and helpful. I hired a camera and he showed me what to do. So glad he also had a hot chocolate ready for later. I went on a different tour to chase the lights and we sat in one spot for the whole night. Kjetil took us around to different spots until we found something. This was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

I should start off my saying that we chased the lights over 2 nights with kjetil and we were rewarded. The weather on the first night was a litle dissapointing despite kjetil's best efforts (cloudy & blizzarding). He drove around what seemed like the whole southern coastline, reguarly checking for data and weather updates on his phone, together with making... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAuroraChaser, Owner at The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Colin. As you booked two tours you also experienced both cloudy weather and great clear skies. I've said it before and I say it again, it is just "that" much a guide can do to find the best weather and the lights for the clients and guests. Even a glimpse of the lights is a bonus... More 

England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We were picked up at 7pm and started our tour with the words 'I don't want to go to Finland I have been there too much recently' - not a good start for a 'chaser'! We did in fact drive to within 200 metres from the Finish border where we just sat in a layby and waited for the lights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAuroraChaser, Manager at The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli, responded to this review

Dear Sue. Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear you did not find my tour satisfying. The phrase about not wanting to go to Finland...., is a joke and unfortunatly you have probably missed the part where I say that I go to Finland if I need to. Or maybe I just forgot to inform about the last part.... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

So on our trip, we were expecting cloudy skies with rain/snow the entire time. Our hopes of seeing the lights were dwindling quickly. Traveling almost 4000 miles would have been a disappointment to not see them. However, we got in this van with this very determined chaser and although it took driving to Finland and not getting back to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAuroraChaser, Manager at The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli, responded to this review

Thanks for yoru review. In the beginning of this adventure, for 9 years ago, I often heard: You can't go to FInland to see the lights. ref a stupid northern lights war between Norway, Finland and also Sweden. In my mind it has always been more important to find clear skeis for my guest than to just stay in Norway.... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Such a lovely guy and he tried so hard to find clear sky - driving 250 km to Finland and then back again. We waited for hours and he was on and off the phone, checking the skies, but no lights came. Our small group had fun but we were all disappointed. It definitely wasn't his fault though. Nature rules... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheAuroraChaser, Manager at The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Some times there are just no lights and sometimes we don't manage to find clear skies. I'm always so impressed how my guests keep up the spirit and manage to have a good time, even if it is hours of waiting and no lights appear. I hope you had a good time in Tromsø and thanks... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Last week we went out with the Aurora Chaser and had the experience of a lifetime. My wife and I joined four others on this outing - he limits the group to seven. Granted, the Aurora Chaser hasn't the power to cause the northern lights to perform, but he definitely found the perfect spot to observe them (and while we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

We went on 8th Feb. Kjetil is an excellent host and the beauty of this tour is its small size. There was only 8 of us including Kjetil - an added bonus is that it was a lovely group of people to spend time with as well. You really feel that you are getting a personalised experience. The night we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 via mobile

Enjoyed this tour because of it's smaller size and therefore less people getting in the way of your aurora photos. Also, a smaller van means you can stop at nice locations that the big bus companies can't. However this obviously comes with a heftier price tag. Overall a great tour. Just depends on your budget and how bothered you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The AuroraChaser Kjetil Skogli staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?