We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stobo Castle Health Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY , Scotland
Phone Number: 01721 725300
Activities: Dining

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 227 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 176
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 13
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
So relaxing

Went for an overnight with friends for my friends 30th birthday. Was so relaxing, treatments and staff were fantastic, food and drinks were delicious and spa/pool area was great... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 1, 2015
leehannah
,
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this attraction
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 NEW

Went for an overnight with friends for my friends 30th birthday. Was so relaxing, treatments and staff were fantastic, food and drinks were delicious and spa/pool area was great. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will definitely be back. X

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Further to your friend's 30th birthday celebrations at Stobo, I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your visit and are thinking in terms of returning soon. With best wishes, More 

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015 NEW

A wonderful surprise from my sister after my return from Tanzania, a lovely room in the Lodge (would be fab for a group event, with a lovely sitting room, patio doors out to the tranquil gardens and a fridge, glasses etc.). Wonderful service at mealtimes - James is a treasure. The spa receptionist couldn't have been more helpful to us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your trip to Stobo and in particular, the benefits of choosing Park Lodge as your preferred accommodation. Thank you also for mentioning the standard of care you received from our staff - they all get such a boost from reading such positive comments! With kind regards, More 

Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Lovely setting in beautiful Scottish Borders, stunning building with tranquil gardens and vistas. I had a gift day from my work colleagues, and it was my first spa visit. Staff were very helpful, explaining everything to me and giving me a tour of the facility. Plenty of space to relax, or use the pool and steam rooms. I was called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review, and also for choosing Stobo for your first spa visit! I was delighted to hear our staff looked after you so well - regarding the temperature of the building, should you feel too warm on a future visit, please ask for one of our thinner, waffle robes. With kind regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Arrived at Stobo and decided to upgrade - great decision because we ended up in a delux suite with amazing views!! The spa is quite remote but that ensures you relax. Lovely grounds and the facilities are great. Liked the touch of a free car wash! Food is good and plentiful! Free wi fi all round the Spa and lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was an absolute pleasure to read your review and many thanks for mentioning all our unique selling points in one go! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Stobo on a future occasion. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

I was delighted to be given lazy afternoon vouchers for my wife and I, we had heard so many good things about this place. It did not disappoint overall. The welcome was warm from reception staff and the facilities were very appointed and clean. As a treat to myself I arranged for a back massage for £35 . I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to review your Lazy Afternoon at Stobo Castle. I was sorry you felt your treatment was not value for money - the back massage is in fact advertised as lasting 25 minutes and our prices compare very favourably with our competitors in the industry. I fully take on board your annoyance that... More 

Bathgate
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

What an amazing break with my daughter. We had a 2 night break, staying in The Cashmere Suite which was so comfortable and luxurious. The food, surroundings, spa facilities and treatments were outstanding. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were courteous throughout. We were treated like royalty. Simply faultless and stunning. A special mention for Jimmy who kindly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for posting such a lovely review, following your recent stay in the Cashmere Suite with your daughter. Jimmy (our employee of the decade) is a credit to Stobo and his profession - just one of our highly valued members of staff. In closing, I do hope you will consider returning to Stobo when the time is... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Wow,love it here!friendly greeting on arrival.so much to do here.spent the afternoon in the many steam rooms,hydro spa & pool,followed by an amazing back massage!dinner was delicious,3 courses.staff couldn't do enough for us.after dinner,had a waterbed massage.lovely.then relax & chat with others in the outdoor hot tubs.large selection for breakfast ,followed by more treatments.then lunch.the bedroom was gorgeous,bed really comfy.cant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for such kind comments following your recent overnight stay at Stobo. I am delighted you are thinking about coming back next year and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back to when the time is right for you. With kind regards, More 

New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Everything was overrated: room, services, food, setting, price. The staff were fantastic, the hike I took was really great although not well marked even though it was straight. Wifi only within 10 feet of the spa reception desk, not in rooms or the castle itself. Rooms had stains on throw blanket, those old single faucets, tiny shower stall. The facial... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I write with reference to your overnight visit to Stobo on 26th May and would like to thank you for mentioning how fantastic our staff were. Also, to confirm that WIFI is now available in all our guest bedrooms and public areas. To say our gym is “pathetically small” is disingenuous to say the least given that this... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

My daughter and I have just returned from another lovely 2 night stay at Stobo Castle. The facilities are excellent for relaxing and having a bit of mother/daughter catch up time. To get the full benefit of all that is on offer, including using the spa, the treatments and walking in the gardens, I would recommend a 2 night stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comments following your latest two night stay at Stobo. I am delighted that you chose to spend your special mother and daughter time with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed the time together taking advantage of what Stobo has to offer – especially our new Swedish sauna! The views are quite... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Lovely spa day with 3 family members. All four of us had additional treatments, which were fab and they were all engineered to finish at the same time, which was thoughtful. The staff were wonderful on the day and in the lead up when one of the group members became somewhat indecisive about their treatments. Can't wait to go back,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking your time to write a lovely review of your spa day at Stobo, in the company of your family. I am delighted to learn we could accommodate your additional treatments at your family’s convenience. We look forward to your overnight break with us when the time is right for you and your family. With... More 

Travelers who viewed Stobo Castle Health Spa also viewed

Peebles, Scottish Borders
Peebles, Scottish Borders
 

Been to Stobo Castle Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stobo Castle Health Spa

Address: Address: Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY , Scotland
Phone Number: 01721 725300
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Borders  >  Stobo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Stobo Castle Health Spa and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
North Berwick, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle Health Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?