We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stobo Castle Health Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY , Scotland
Phone Number: 01721 725300
Website
Improve this listing

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 291 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 218
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 5
    Terrible
Never disappoints

I've been going here since the early 90s and personally have never been disappointed. I've heard a few moans about the place as its continued to grow in size and have to admit it... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 6 days ago
sunloverFontvieille_
,
Fontvieille,
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Fontvieille,
Level Contributor
58 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been going here since the early 90s and personally have never been disappointed. I've heard a few moans about the place as its continued to grow in size and have to admit it was a much more "personal" experience back in the day, but hey times change! The staff all work hard at making you feel special and individual,... More 

Helpful?
Thank sunloverFontvieille_
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for such a positive review following your most recent visit to Stobo Castle – your continued custom since the early 90s is greatly appreciated. I am delighted you both support the addition of our Coffee Shop & Bar where we have an extensive range of spirits, beers, wines and of course cocktails and mocktails.... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The spa resort is fairly good. There is a moderately sized indoor pool with an "infinity" view over a garden and driveway (expect to see cars and vans!). There are loungers around the pool but unfortunately other guests were putting towels over them to make them unavailable. There is an indoor jacuzzi dos which is very large with high pressure... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerK2013
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your day visit to Stobo Castle. Our “moderately sized” swimming pool is a 25 metre ozone-treated pool with panoramic views of the lovely Scottish countryside and hills beyond. There is a small path where occasionally a work van may park however they do make sure they are as out of sight as... More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a two night stay at Stobo Castle. Lovely entrance to the castle we were taken through the hotel shown the diningrooms and drawing room before been taken to our suite The Phillipson lovely room with lovely ensuite with French doors overlooking the lovely gardens and hills. A very short walk from our suite to the spa facilities. Beautiful... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lydia J
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments following your recent two night break at Stobo Castle. The views of the Scottish countryside from the Philipson room really are stunning, with a similar panoramic landscape view from our 25m ozone swimming pool. I am delighted our staff were most helpful during your stay and I hope I can welcome you... More 

Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I gad booked an overnight spa break. Unfortunately, in the day we were due to go, we had both fallen ill to the dreaded flu, all of our family dropped like flies. We had picked the revitalising special offer. Not sure of the terms and conditions but my hubby was sure it was non-refundable and we had... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missynikki79
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your positive comments regarding your recent cancellation with Stobo. First of all I do hope you are your husband are recovering from the dreaded flu. I was delighted to hear that our friendly Reservations Team were able to offer a Gift Voucher for a future visit to ensure that you and your husband are... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have just returned from a spa day treatment having been several times before. Disappointing on arrival for my friend and I to be given our treatment at different times. Having confirmed the day beforehand we were both the same time, we were handed our booking form, nothing explained about the change of time and left for us to find out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hollytop
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a positive review following your day visit to Stobo in the company of your friend. Firstly, I do apologise for a change in your treatment times and thank you for understanding, however, the way in which you were informed about this will certainly be addressed. I am delighted you felt the ‘wow’ factor throughout... More 

Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Spa is excellent. Beautiful heated pool. Treatments well worth it. Friendly staff. Exceptional gardens. Food excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Philipvg
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words following your recent overnight stay at Stobo. I am delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your Stobo experience and I do hope we can welcome you back to the Castle in the near future. With best wishes, More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff are great, very helpful. Treatment was fantastic but going as a couple there were a few things that were for ladies only, maybe you could have certain times that mixed sex can use all of the facilities. Outside hot tub in the snow was fab. I would not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Joan S
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, As mentioned in my response to the review you posted on our other Tripadvisor page, your comments are disingenuous to say the least. Apart from enjoying fitness related classes together, couples can share the following facilities: 1. Gym with state of the art equipment. 2. 25 metre ozone pool (only one in Scotland) 3. Crystal Steam Room 4.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arriving in the cold and wet it was quite a treat to get to my lovely warm, spacious room for a 2 day break of pampering. I had booked several treatments from massage to facials and I enjoyed each one. The pool was great and the facilities and food also. I'll definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Vee F
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review following your 2 day break at Stobo. I am thrilled you enjoyed all of your treatments as well as all the other aspects of your stay and it is great to hear you will be returning to the Castle soon. We look forward to your next visit. With kind regards, More 

Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from one night at this lovely place, just wished I could have done more than that, however, beggars can't be ........ as they say. This was my 5th visit and it surpassed all expectations. Hadn't been since 2009 due to commitments and was looking forward to sampling the new additions that Stobo had to offer. From the moment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Libbey_11
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your positive review, particularly for highlighting how relaxed you felt visiting on your own. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed all our new spa attractions and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the castle in the not too distant future. With kind regards, More 

Renfew
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great facilities and lovely lunch however compared to other spas I have I felt that the treatments weren't value for money 30 minute facial that could only have last 20 minutes and dream waterbed session which was nice but didn't beat a hands on massage.

Helpful?
Thank Wenders1979
Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo Castle Health Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review of Stobo following your recent day visit. I fully take on board your comments regarding your facial and I can assure you we will look into this matter immediately. The Dream Water massage is we feel great value for money, only £15 for 15 minutes, being massaged with 2000 litres of warm... More 

Travelers who viewed Stobo Castle Health Spa also viewed

Peebles, Scottish Borders
Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Stobo Castle Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Stobo Castle Health Spa and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
North Berwick, United Kingdom
11 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Stobo Castle Health Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?