We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours

Address: Bankastraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number: +354 587 9999
Website
Improve this listing
93%
Ranked #54 of 249 Activities in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is proud to be an award winning as well as a leading company for staff training in Icelandic tourism. We have 20 years of experience in educating, entertaining and assuring the safety of our guests. This applies to the Greenland Icecap, the summit of Antarctica and everywhere in between. The pinnacle of our educational program is the 27 days of direct training and exams our glacier guides go through from the time they are hired until they achieve the requirements for an IMG Mountain Guide. The award winning training program is based on safety and training standards from New Zealand. In addition to training courses, our guides work over 100 days under direct and indirect supervision and are required to advance to a certain standard in their personal mountaineering. Most of our guides will have completed an eight day Wilderness First Responder first aid course and have received advanced training from working with the elite units of Icelandic rescue teams.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children

Hotels near Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours

Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    54
    6
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

We had a really good time on the Reykjavik by food tour. It ran on letter than expected but that was fine by us as we were enjoying ourselves. Bring a willingness to try anything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

My husband and I went on a Glacier Hike and Northern Lights Hunting tour by this company, Icelandic Mountain Guides, which Iceland Air uses for their vacation packages. We have nothing but praises for our guide John. Shamefully, we did not get the memo about wearing rain pants. I packed everything on the list Iceland Air sent before the trip,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Went on this tour near skaftafell national park and highly recommend! Our guide stefan pall was amazing and super knowledgeable - we thought the price was also very reasonable compared to other companies Our best experience in Iceland and would highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

It was a last minute booking albeit the price of the tour. Notwithstanding, it was a small group in a small van which meant less waiting time and easy to move around. Vjorn, our guide, was very helpful and friendly. He took the initiative to bring us to see the ice cave which was a very good experience. He even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodstock, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Went on the caving excursion. Stefan was well prepared, made sure we all had the right clothing and shoes. The caving was a wonderful experience, Stefan was calm and reassuring as we climbed through tight spots. Afterwards, when we were all too tired and cold to hike in the rain, he took us to an earthquake exhibition in a mall,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This was the only tour that we went on as we hired a car and visited all the sights independently. Although it was expensive I was glad that we were on the coach as the driving to the glacier was hazardous and I was exhausted afterwards. The hike to the glacier lasts approx 40 mins, 20 mins to get equipment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Signed up for them and then changed my mind about driving myself there. They took the time to warn us about the bad weather coming in so that we could make plans. We still weren't able to conquer the mountain roads on our own, but Icelandic Mountain Guides took care of us and we'll always appreciate the flexibility and great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We took a bunch of students on this hike and glacier walk run by Artic Adventures. We met the guides in the car park and then hiked up to the glacier through beautiful hillside (about30 mins). Wear warm gear for the glacier as it can be chilly especially if there is a wind. You are given crampons, an ice pic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

we did the blue ice experience with tour guide Donna this morning. tour itself was ok since it was only 2 hours. I was so disgusted by Donna's attitude, especially towards asians. Right from the beginning, she was very impatient and rude. When we were walking on the glacier, she only explained how glacier is formed and nothing else. she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IceMountainGuides, Public Relations Manager at Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours, responded to this review

Dear Karry W., We at Icelandic Mountain Guides want to offer our most sincere apology for the negative experience you had with our guide. Though not reflected in your experience, we truly strive to provide high quality tours that offer great experiences in Iceland's beautiful nature. We also realize that you have probably come a long way to visit Iceland.... More

Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 attraction reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Our family had a great experience with the Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours. We did the Blue Ice Experience and it was, indeed, an easy 2-hour hike on the glacier. You don't go far and it takes minimal fitness. But it was a lovely day and we appreciated the opportunity to take our time and get a feel for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours also viewed

Skaftafell National Park, East Region
 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing