We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Hyrjarhofdi 4, Reykjavik 110, Iceland
Phone Number: +354 534 4446
Website
Description: Gateway to Iceland is a full service ground tour travel agent and day tour...
Gateway to Iceland is a full service ground tour travel agent and day tour operator located in Reykjavik Iceland.We offer an excellent selection of day tours in and around west Iceland as well as the entire country.We plan complete tour packages for groups and FIT's to the country. This includes all ground transportation, hotels, activities and even meals if desired. All ground packages are personally planned and arranged for individuals, couples, families or any type of group. No packages are "standard", all tours are designed individually at no extra charge.We welcome your query to us at anytime should you be contemplating a trip to Iceland.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 454 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 362
    Excellent
  • 56
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 11
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Golden Circle Hot Tour WasGreat

Thanks Hoogi for a great day viewing the sights of Iceland's Golden Circle. It was great to be in a small group (maximim16 per bus) and the trip to the hot pool at the end was a... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 23, 2015
Mookait
,
Sydney
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 NEW

Thanks Hoogi for a great day viewing the sights of Iceland's Golden Circle. It was great to be in a small group (maximim16 per bus) and the trip to the hot pool at the end was a perfect end to the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Great to hear this, thank you for your review! More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

First of all, I understand that the Northern Lights are a natural phenomena, that are unpredictable, and are reliant on a number of different factors to be viewable on any given evening. Our tour was postponed the previous two evenings because of cloud cover and so we were excited to hear that the tour was going ahead on the 15th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 attraction reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

We recently went on a tour of the Golden circle with Gummi (the tour guide) and a small group of 12. The tour was detailed, interesting, and you got the impression that Gummi loves his job! We visited the waterfalls, geothermal parks and stopped off at the secret lagoon. The tour was easily one of the best holiday experiences I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
truth1011, Day Tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you! We are very happy that you enjoyed your tour :) More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We took the Golden Circle tour and, in spite of being a full day tour, we had a wonderful time in the company of Solla, our tour guide, who made our day interesting, easy, very informative, and relaxing! I think this is the best tour also because it starts later than all the other similar tours. So you don't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
truth1011, Day Tour Department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your tour :) More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

The weather was gloomy but overall the tour to Snaefellsnes National Park was enjoyable. Fredrick was friendly and made a lot of jokes. He's very knowledgeable and gave us lots of information regarding Iceland throughout the tours. Thanks Fredrick!

Was this review helpful? Yes
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Unfortunately we can not control the weather, but we're happy that you enjoyed your guide and tour. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

We had a fantastic experience with GTI. They do tours for smaller groups which is much better than having 50 people on the bus, you get a personalised feel and the atmosphere is relaxed, and yet they are very well organised. They also have good timing, they leave a little bit later to avoid the crowds. Apart from that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience, and if you ever come back to Iceland we hope to take you on a tour again. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had a disastrous Northern Lights tour with one of the big agencies on the island - some seven huge coaches all following each other looking for the lights. Horrid, impersonal and just not what we wanted. So I cancelled the Golden Circle tour we had booked with them for the next day (and of course got no money back)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience with the other tour company, and are very happy that you enjoyed ours. We do feel that smaller tours offer a better and more personal experience in general, and are very glad that you had a good time and would be more than happy to welcome you next time you come... More 

Runcorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We had booked the Hot Golden Circle Tour before we left the UK. Our driver was Jon. His knowledge and obvious love of his country and it's history was fantastic. The tour itself was out of this world. we had opportunities to get out of the mini bus and walk for part of the tour if we wished, but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! You definitely witnessed this crazy unpredictable icelandic weather. We are very happy that you enjoyed your experience and would happily welcome you on our tours again to show you our beautiful country. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Our guide was excellent. He hosted our small group with charm, insight and patience. The hot springs at the end was the icing on the cake. Remember to take your swim gear!

Was this review helpful? Yes
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a good time on our tour. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I was impressed with GTI before I even went to Iceland. I contacted them prior to my trip and they answered all my questions quickly. I booked three tours--hot golden circle, glacier lagoon, & northern lights. The guides were knowledgeable and the smaller group enhanced the experience. I highly recommend this company and would definitely use them again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
truth1011, day tour department at Gateway to Iceland, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We do try to respond quickly and keep our tours small in order to create a more unique and personalized experience and would gladly welcome you again if you ever decide to come to Iceland again. More 

Travelers who viewed Gateway to Iceland also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gateway to Iceland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gateway to Iceland staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?