We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sampo Icebreaker

Other
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Sales office: Kemin Matkailu Oy- Kemi Tourism Ltd | Kauppakatu 29, Kemi, Finland
Phone Number: +358 16 258878
Website
Description: Sampo, the former icebreaker for the Finnish government, offers a unique...
Sampo, the former icebreaker for the Finnish government, offers a unique cruise experience on the Gulf of Bothnia. The union of the majestic steel, ice and the sea will be unlike anything else you've ever experienced. Four hour cruises yearly from December to April. Come and experience the Sampo in the midst of vast open arctic sea-scenery!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 92 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 71
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Just Do It

I am not a big fan of cruises but this one is pretty cool. Its rather popular so you are strongly encouraged to book way in advance in order to secure your preferred cruise timing... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed April 2, 2015
aichoo
,
singapore
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I am not a big fan of cruises but this one is pretty cool. Its rather popular so you are strongly encouraged to book way in advance in order to secure your preferred cruise timing (we booked 3 mths in advance and took the LAST seat). Guided tour on board the ship is pretty organised. You hv got to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

have you ever walked on a frozen sea or dipped in it wearing a rubber suit?? You havent? because I (and every one that submitted a review here) have! It might be VERY expensive, but you have gotten pretty much to the end of the world, dont you want to experiance it all together? That was what we thought and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Really well organised trip. Great food and opportunity to lay in the Baltic Sea. History of icebreaker very interesting. Fantastic trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Had an amazing time on the sampo. First of all we had an amazing eclipse through the ride so took great pics. the tour itself is nice but not amazing excpet for the ice water swimming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

It is true that its expensive but who can say that has swimmed and walked on frozen sea? Sampo will remain in my memory as one of the best experiences I have lived. My husband and I spent the whole time outside because the views were astonishing. It is impressive to hear the ice breaking as the icebreaker goes on.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My friends and I were excited with Sampo Ice Breaker. The guide told us about the history of Sampo and the difference with Sampo and other ships. We went to the deck, wanting to see the ice break. However, Sampo was cruising on the same route whereby the ice was already broken. Despite this slight disappointment, the rest was nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my husband visited the Sampo Ice Breaker on 4 February 2015. Since we planned this trip long ago we were very excited to see and hear the ice crack underneath the boat... Unfortunately there was almost NO ice to break. It was really really disappointing. We paid 390 euro's per person for eating salmon soup, cruising 2 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Titta V, PR-johtaja at Sampo Icebreaker, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, sorry to hear that you have been disappointed on Sampo! The ice situation in the Gulf of Bothnia is sometimes very difficult to forecast, and it might also change very quickly. During your visit we had couple of days very hard wind, which can in some circumstances move the ice dramatically. This is what happened in early February... More 

Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We rented a car from Rovaniemi and drove 1.5hrs to Kemi for this 4 hour cruise. There was an English speaking guide assigned to us the moment we stepped onboard and she took care of us very well, right until we departed the ship. Cruise was very well organised, captain and the crew were all very friendly and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
17 attraction reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

It was a 2 hour drive from Rovaniemi. The Sampo is the Former Ice breaker of the Finnish Government. It offers a unique cruise experience on the Gulf of Bothia, It was a 4 hour cruise and staff showed us around the cruise. Watching the ice break and crack was a great experience too. We had lunch on board and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

simple an experience that was fantastic. The service from the crew excelled. Watching the ice break as you are going through it on the ship is amazing. Then you get to suit up in waterproof onesie type things and jump in to the ice water.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers who viewed Sampo Icebreaker also viewed

 

Been to Sampo Icebreaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sampo Icebreaker and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sampo Icebreaker staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?