We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sampo Icebreaker

Certificate of Excellence
Other
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Sales office: Kemin Matkailu Oy- Kemi Tourism Ltd | Kauppakatu 29, Kemi, Finland
Phone Number: +358 16 258878
Website
Description: Sampo, the former icebreaker for the Finnish government, offers a unique...
Sampo, the former icebreaker for the Finnish government, offers a unique cruise experience on the Gulf of Bothnia. The union of the majestic steel, ice and the sea will be unlike anything else you've ever experienced. Four hour cruises yearly from December to April. Come and experience the Sampo in the midst of vast open arctic sea-scenery!
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 99 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 76
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Only one

Icebreaker Sampo is the only icebreaker to have tourists. Its very fine four hours on the Botnian Sea ice. You see plenty of ice and eat good.

5 of 5 starsReviewed July 30, 2015
valtsu2015
,
Kemi, Finland
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kemi, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

Icebreaker Sampo is the only icebreaker to have tourists. Its very fine four hours on the Botnian Sea ice. You see plenty of ice and eat good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

It is a nice experience, only if you have some extra time in Lapland. On a board it was a bit cold, it is nice to sale in the sea but I would prefer to spend this time on some other activities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Before we went for the trip, this was the first activity we planned. A lot of thinking had been done. We were really lucky to have good weather on 3 April 2015 and we were among the first batch to experience the ice swimming. We all looked like lobsters in the orange suits. LOL! and it felt good to float... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I am not a big fan of cruises but this one is pretty cool. Its rather popular so you are strongly encouraged to book way in advance in order to secure your preferred cruise timing (we booked 3 mths in advance and took the LAST seat). Guided tour on board the ship is pretty organised. You hv got to try... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

have you ever walked on a frozen sea or dipped in it wearing a rubber suit?? You havent? because I (and every one that submitted a review here) have! It might be VERY expensive, but you have gotten pretty much to the end of the world, dont you want to experiance it all together? That was what we thought and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Really well organised trip. Great food and opportunity to lay in the Baltic Sea. History of icebreaker very interesting. Fantastic trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

Had an amazing time on the sampo. First of all we had an amazing eclipse through the ride so took great pics. the tour itself is nice but not amazing excpet for the ice water swimming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

It is true that its expensive but who can say that has swimmed and walked on frozen sea? Sampo will remain in my memory as one of the best experiences I have lived. My husband and I spent the whole time outside because the views were astonishing. It is impressive to hear the ice breaking as the icebreaker goes on.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My friends and I were excited with Sampo Ice Breaker. The guide told us about the history of Sampo and the difference with Sampo and other ships. We went to the deck, wanting to see the ice break. However, Sampo was cruising on the same route whereby the ice was already broken. Despite this slight disappointment, the rest was nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Me and my husband visited the Sampo Ice Breaker on 4 February 2015. Since we planned this trip long ago we were very excited to see and hear the ice crack underneath the boat... Unfortunately there was almost NO ice to break. It was really really disappointing. We paid 390 euro's per person for eating salmon soup, cruising 2 hours... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Titta V, PR-johtaja at Sampo Icebreaker, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, sorry to hear that you have been disappointed on Sampo! The ice situation in the Gulf of Bothnia is sometimes very difficult to forecast, and it might also change very quickly. During your visit we had couple of days very hard wind, which can in some circumstances move the ice dramatically. This is what happened in early February... More 

Travelers who viewed Sampo Icebreaker also viewed

 
Rovaniemi, Lapland
Savonlinna, The Lakelands
 

Been to Sampo Icebreaker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampo Icebreaker

Address: Sales office: Kemin Matkailu Oy- Kemi Tourism Ltd | Kauppakatu 29, Kemi, Finland
Phone Number: +358 16 258878
Location: Europe  >  Finland  >  Lapland  >  Kemi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sampo Icebreaker and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sampo Icebreaker staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?