We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 73 Corso Umberto, 98039 Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number: +39 0942 24653
Website
Improve this listing
Description: Sat Group is the only one in Sicily acting as transportation company, as...
Sat Group is the only one in Sicily acting as transportation company, as well as Destination Management Company and travel agency IATA member, specialized in supporting the incoming tourist flow. With over 30000 passengers per year, Sat Group offers the most important multilingual excursions program towards the major Sicilian destinations with guaranteed departure from Taormina area. The excursion's quality is guaranteed by the use of a team of tour leaders and local guides directly trained by the company for every single site.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
More Info
$103*
and up
Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea
More Info
$91*
and up
Best Sicilian Cooking Class in Taormina
More Info
$23*
and up
Sicilia Outlet Village Day Trip from Taormina

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 185 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 112
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Sunset Tour Mount Etna from SAT/

The sunset was breathtaking. The driver was very skilled and we always felt safe. I think this is likely the best way to see Mount Etna- the guide was also knowledgeable- but he... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed August 22, 2015
Marcia B

Similar Things to Do in Taormina

Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2015

The sunset was breathtaking. The driver was very skilled and we always felt safe. I think this is likely the best way to see Mount Etna- the guide was also knowledgeable- but he didn't offer any information - unless people asked questions. He did speak 4 languages which allowed him to answer questions for all of the visitors. I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

We stayed in Taormina for 8 days and decided to do tours instead of hiring a car. We did the shopping outlet tour which we enjoyed and came back with some amazing bargains. We also did the Siracusa tour which we were disappointed in, we traveled in a large double decker bus which was full so we were a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we thank you very much for both feedbacks. We are glad that you have appreciated the value of our Shopping Tour to the Sicilia Outlet Village. At the same time, we would like to answer with respect to the notes made on the tour to Siracusa. First of all, regarding the delay of the bus, it is quite... More 

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

We booked a family trip from Taormina bus station (paid for in advance) to go up Etna. The coach arrived as scheduled and we set off on time. The tour guide spoke very good English as well as other languages and she was very informative. When we arrived at Etna she was very precise with the times we needed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

We did the Etna Round Alcantara trip. There were three problems with this tour. In brief: it doesn’t go to the summit craters, but a younger crater 1-2km from the actual summit and just under 3,000m. Despite being over 10 hours long, all parts of the tour feel rushed. In particular the time at the “top” is only 1 hour.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain again how all tours to Etna work. SAT Group, as all other Tour Operators, is handling the first part of the trip arriving at 1900 mts. The ascent to the main craters area is always under the responsibility and operativity of the Alpine Guides. Every... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

We went on the Etna tour from Taormina but after speaking to the representative from SAT we were collected from the bus station in Giardini Naxos. I highly recommend you do this visiting to avoid any unnecessary travel. Our transportation arrived shortly after 8am and we headed off along the coast to collect others. This was somewhat slowed down by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We thank you for taking the time to post your feedback; it is useful to us in order to monitor some important issues. Regarding the payment on the bus, that is an extra service we offer to those customers that have not the possibility to come to our agency in Taormina and prepay the tours, so they can... More 

basildon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015

We went on the Mount Etna, Gorge and cathedral. It cost around €93 each. We were picked up at 8am sharp and headed to the Gorge. We had to pay an extra €8 to enter but this was so worth it!! It was absolutely stunning and we could have easily spent all day there! Make sure you take a towel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

We booked the daytime Etna tour which leaves Taormina bus-station at 7am. The first half-hour is spent collecting other tourists from nearby destinations, then there is a half hour drive to a gorge where you have to pay an extra 8 euros as it is not included in the price. It really isn't worth the extra money, but worse than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Kab, first of all, we would like to thank you for using your time in writing a review regarding SAT Group. At the same time, we would like to underline that all our tours have been scheduled and tested for decades considering several factors related to timing, logistics, sites and places of interest. Regarding the pick up, again, as... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

Don't expect individual chauffeur-driven tour (as one reviewer would seem to have expected). This is a coach/boat tour. The boat is not all yours, and the coach is busy/full. BUT it is such a good trip that i have done it twice, in 2013 and 2014. I was appalled that few tourists tipped the guide and the driver. They depend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customer, we thank you so much for underlining the difference between a tailor-made tour and a coach tour. As a matter of fact, our standard program which provides excursions to the major destinations in Sicily with guaranteed departure, can't be based on small groups and individuals. Our company can provide this kind of customized service on a tailor-made basis... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

My husband and I wanted to visit the vulcan Etna, and our hotel recommended SAT. During our days in Taormina we could choose between a day trip which included a detour to a river or a sunset trip, which unfortunately also had dinner on the schedule. We chose the sunset due to an extremely hot weather. We got picked up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customer, It is very important for us to answer to your comment and we thank you for that. We have already forwarded it to the Alpine Guides Company in order share this feedback and absolutely improve the communication Regarding the time spent on the pick up that is unavoidable since customers are based in Giardini Naxos and Letojanni besides... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

Etna by sunset. It started with a 1,5 hours bus drive, 30 minutes in the wrong direction to pick up other guests. The guide was German, and quite good. Spoke good english. When we arrived at 1900 meters we had - of some strange reason - to wait 1,5 hours before we contiuned. It was nothing to do other than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Freetraveller39, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at SAT Group Tours, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your feedback, we are glad we can post a reply to that. First of all, we would like to underline that all our tours have been scheduled and tested for decades keeping in mind several factors related to timing, logistics, sites and places of interest. As many of our customers are based in Giardini Naxos... More 

Travelers who viewed SAT Group Tours also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to SAT Group Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of SAT Group Tours and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from SAT Group Tours staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?