We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Sightseeing Rome

Via IV Novembre, 147, 00187 Rome, Italy
0669797554
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
21%
Ranked #734 of 881 Activities in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rome Hop on Hop Off Open Top Sightseeing Bus Tour
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    61
    75
    84
    220
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

I booked a tour on this bus just to get a brief overview of the city, after all it is just a bus tour. Tour offered many different languages to choose from for the commentary. Commentary was good. Some people here have complained that it could have been more detailed however you have to remember that it is a bus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 NEW

What a disappointment, and a wasted opportunity. The 'commentary' was mostly musical, with far too little commentary, and nowhere near as informative en route as it should, or could have been. You can only 'hop-off' at the predetermined stops, and are not warned in advance that the Trevi fountain is shrouded in scaffolding. The advertising leaflet we picked up at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Public Relations Manager at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, we are really sorry about your bad experience with our company. We have to advise you that we are working for a perfect commentary so that next year will be satellite and it should be more informative than musical. Indeed we have to inform you that from November 15th began low season, so there are less bus instead... More

Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We decided to use City Sightseeing Roma due to the little time we had left to see Rome.Yes there was a queue at Termini Station on a Sunday Morning to pick the Bus up. Bear in mind everyone had the same idea to sight see on a Sunday. 8 Languages Commentary with free ear phones & free wifi as well.I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, we greatly appeciate the positive comments and we thanks for your. We hope to see you soon on board of City Sightseeing Roma. More

birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Nice for getting around the city as an alternative to taxis. But I thought there should have been more stops, e.g around the pantheon. Also the Trevi fountains are under repair but no-one told us, maybe if the bus conductor-ess could have mentioned this in her anouncements.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you very much for your positive comment. Unfortunately, about our stops, they depend on the City of Rome, not on us. Anyway, we always try to improve our service. Best regards, City Sightseeing Roma. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Very disappointed. Used sightseeing buses in other cities and this was the worst. Buses old and poor condition. Advertising stickers on windows mean you can't see out if you are inside the bus! Audio not brilliant and often not in time with actual position of bus. But biggest warning - we made very silly mistake of buying out tickets for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we are really sorry about your bad experience with our company. We just now that we have some problems with commentary but next year probably will be satellite so you should listen the audio in right position. We have to inform you that it's true that our price for Vatican are hightest than normal (29 euro instead of... More

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

After using this company in other cities i figured it was the best choice for us specially since it was my moms first visit to Rome, but unfortunately i was wrong........ We arrived at 9am at the Termini stop and it was already a mess, people all over the place there was 2 buses there and the staff didn't do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry for the troubles you have had during your tours. Having read your description, it must have been a busy day with a demonstration that is why our bus stop has been removed and you had to wait to get on board. As for the staff, we will talk to them personally and will make the... More

Almost Paris
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We have just come back from a short break in Rome and took the hop on hop off option for two days. A big mistake! Late October early November is not high season, but the buses were almost always full and most of the time we were unable to get on the first bus that came, as there were too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you for sharing your experience and we are sorry for your problems. Despite of many towns, Rome is full of tourists all year long and having so many sunny days this autumn, our buses still run full. When our passengers remain on board for more than a tour, it happens that there is a longer waiting time... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

We were bitterly disappointed with this tour company. We waited 45 minutes for a bus when they are supposed to come every 20 mins. There were no signs anywhere to indicate where to get on these buses, we saw other companies tour buses pulling in while we waited for ours so took a guess we were in the right place.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We have read your comments and we are sorry to hear you were disappointed. Please, bear in mind that Rome has a huge traffic nearly all day long therefore we cannot always keep our frequency how it should be. We can understand the problems with the delay, but cannot understand why you could not find our stops when... More

Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

This was the worst City Sightseeing tour we have been on. The staff were so rude. The driver was texting and calling when driving us and twice we were asked to get off the bus and stand outside for 20 minutes while they picked up rubbish off the bus. The ladies collecting tickets were unhelpful and completely unwilling to help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Passenger, Thank you for your comments we will definitely take steps to secure a higher proficiency of our staff. If you see our staff using their mobiles, it does not necessarily mean that they use it for personal messages, because the mobiles are also their means of communication. We exchange new pieces of information or problems occurring during the... More

Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We used it, but it was really hard. Bus stops not well marked, no one knows where the stops are, and then only 8 of them! I like to take the tour and learn about the city and then go to some specific sites. But the bus didn't actually go by any point of interest, except Vatican Square and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, We are sorry to hear that the tour was not the way you have expected. However, our bus stops are clearly marked on the map, are also signposted, what is more we have colleagues at each stop to help you to find us and direct to the main attractions closeby. Our route is decided by the City Council... More

Been to City Sightseeing Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing