We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Sightseeing Rome

Neighborhood:
Trevi
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: Via IV Novembre, 147, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number: 0669797554
Website
Description: Rome Hop on Hop Off Open Top Sightseeing Bus Tour
Book ahead on Viator
More Info
$28*
and up
Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 738 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 81
    Excellent
  • 95
    Very good
  • 111
    Average
  • 137
    Poor
  • 314
    Terrible
The worst red bus tour

Waste of time if you are not the 1st time in Rome. Audio commentary is very poor - you listen to the music 75 % of time.

2 of 5 starsReviewed July 31, 2015
Elena12345
,
Moscow, Russia

Similar Things to Do in Rome

Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marino
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

I've done these in other cities and loved it--this one, not so much. You don't really get to see most of the sites while on the bus as the bus stops are blocks away, so you'll have to get off at each site. At half the seats, the recorded guide didn't work, or was off time, so you couldn't figure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 NEW

Waste of time if you are not the 1st time in Rome. Audio commentary is very poor - you listen to the music 75 % of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

I would recommend take a metro pass or some other tour bus than City Sightseeing.. Buses are in extremely bad condition with NO AC.. Roof is without the hood and staff was rude.. Staff doesn't care about passengers.. They don't even announce the stops in english..I had a bad experience with this tour bus.. Not recommended at all..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

Neither the City sightseeing website or the ZooMarine website are clear about point of departure area in regard to ticket purchase at bus stop, so we purchased ticket online for bus and zoomarine. Something to work on: If tourist purchase a ticket online while in Rome and do not have access to a printed, develop a system to take customer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 NEW

My family of four purchased tickets for this bus service on tickitaly, hoping to use the service to move between attractions. It was a hot day, and we were jetlagged. The double-decker bus was open on top, and not airconditioned below. We found wait times longer than advertised, and at least one pick up location was difficult to find. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Rome is beautiful and definitely worth the cost of an open top bus. Unfortunately City Sightseeing Rome is not the way to go. Buses are old and worn, queues are long and staff are rude! We joined queue at Termini station and waited over 1 hour to get on a bus. In their brochure, it is advertised that buses come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, our buses departures are every 10 minutes but due to the traffic conditions and to the large numbers of customers who get in and get off the bus in each stop, there could be delays. We are planning to increase the number of the buses to face the problem. We apologize if our staff member was unprofessional, as... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015 NEW

Not a happy experience at all. It was the heat of the day, and you can't rely on finding a bus with a covered top canopy. IF they all had one, it would be tolerable because at least you'd get some open air wind while being sheltered, but because the full sun was not an option, we sat downstairs with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for the review. Half of our buses are equipped with the rooftop and we have already applied for more. We do have AC bus, as you know our buses are open and the hot air comes inside them despite the ac. In order to offer a more pleasant journey, from July 10th we have the bus... More 

Woodbridge, Canada
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

What a waste of money! Too few buses to accommodate the number of passengers they have, so wait times for buses over 1 hour! We spent more time trying to get ON a bus than actually seeing the sights. We ended up taking the metro or cabs and abandoned the buses altogether. I've been on hop on hop off buses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your holiday in Rome. Rome is actually a chaotic city and we are in high season but we are trying to our best to offer you a quality service. We really appreciate your feedback, it will help us to improve. More 

Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 NEW

Two of us had tickets for the bus tour. Probably the biggest waste of money I've ever done Having recently done the Gray line tours in New York and these same busses in other European cities, this one is horrendous The majority of the tour was spent listening to music with the occasional piece of information. I would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your review. We offer our apologies if our staff member didn’t inform you about the long wait. We appreciate your feedback because customer care is really important to us, in fact we always train our staff. As regards the commentary, we have already changed it and it will be soon insert in our buses. We... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 NEW

Having been on this companies equivalent tour in a few other cities such as Paris and Barcelona and having enjoyed these, we chose the distinct red city sightseeing bus outside Termini station, taking a two day ticket to give us time to get around. €56 for two people. The heat was unbearable upstairs, which clearly is not a pop at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Customer. We have already provided to change the commentary and it will be soon insert in our city sightseeing buses. Less music, more histories and sync! As regards the long waits, our buses stop 15 minutes at the Terminal and the staff tell customers to change the bus if they want to leave right away. That day there was... More 

Travelers who viewed City Sightseeing Rome also viewed

 

Been to City Sightseeing Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Sightseeing Rome

Address: Via IV Novembre, 147, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number: 0669797554
Location: Europe  >  Italy  >  Lazio  >  Rome>  > Trevi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of City Sightseeing Rome and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from City Sightseeing Rome staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Trevi

Neighborhood Profile
Trevi
A non-stop photo and souvenir opportunity, Trevi is all about action. From early morning through the wee hours, the piazza surrounding Trevi Fountain hosts a never-ending flow of tourists hoping to make a wish or take a selfie. Clever restaurants, charming gelaterias, uncanny bars, kitsch shops, and a range of hotels make up the local landscape. Beneath the bustle are the remains of an ancient neighborhood that you can visit by heading over to a repertoire cinema and asking for a peek underground. There is something for everyone, but if peace and quiet are what you seek, plan to visit in the early morning hours.
Explore this neighborhood