We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Sightseeing Rome

Via IV Novembre, 147, 00187 Rome, Italy
0669797554
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #629 of 765 Activities in Rome
Book Now

Type: Tours
Description: Rome Hop on Hop Off Open Top Sightseeing Bus Tour
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    59
    74
    80
    210
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

This is without doubt the worst sight seeing tour I have ever had. Why? Many of the sites in Rome are above you, so the roof on the top deck needs to be open. ( The bus driver and the receptionist do no understand this! ). On a couple of occasions I asked when I got onto the bus, if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014 NEW

Make sure you get tickets from someone wearing the red little vests. Best place to get the bus was from outside the Vatican and down a bit. Sometimes there were two buses there and you could chose! Also recommended rather than another company who does the hop on/hop off - they only come every half hour and don't stop have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kroonstad, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW

When I am pushed for time in a city (visiting for less then 3 days) I always use the hop on and off busses, they give you a nice quick overview of the tourist thing, so I use them quite often. The red bus in Rome is the worst that I have ever used, out of properly 20 busses the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zagreb
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

So much is already said and written about Rome. Just to add a few of our experiences from a visit to Rome (October 8-12, 2014). First, chose a hotel near the city center, preferably near a metro station. The metro is very organized and easy to understand, with both written and spoken directions. However, the vagons are a bit smelly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 NEW

I have used these tour buses in many cities and have always been very happy, Rome's is just a waste of money. There are only 8 stops, 2 of them are at the train station. Because of this there is always a wait in line for the next bus. While you are on the bus there is not a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

If I had seen these reviews before we went to Rome we would never have bought tickets for this bus. We wasted several half-hours standing at bus stops waiting for buses that did NOT come every 10 minutes as had been promised. Staff were rude and unpleasant (treated us like schoolchildren), and as the day wore on buses became fewer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Madame, we can guarantee that our buses departures always leave from the Terminal every 10 minutes and delayes are possible due to traffic reasons or not planned demonstrations. Indeed we guarantee that we'll check our staff politeness. Thank you for your review. Best regards. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We bought a 48 hour trip. It is awful. Commentary very vague too much music. doesnt stop at all designated points. When bus breaks down no preplacement available have to wait until space on following buses are available. so at least 1 hour wasted. Staff on buses are not tourist friendly. very aggressive selling on streets. does not live up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you for your reply. We apologize for the inconvenience. We can guarantee that our buses stop at all the designated points and we can check it from Gps. You have to know that we try every day to improve our servies and we'll make possible to perfect the customer care of our staff. Indeed probably next year... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I have been on this company's tour in other countries and they have been enjoyable. The tour in Amalfi Coast was not a hop on off tour at all and the tour in Rome is awful. It is slow and a waste of money.staff are rude the commentary is superficial band does not match up. Avoid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear Client, thank you so much for your reply. We want to inform you that the tour is slow because allows you to see exactly what commentary says. Indeed is for passengers safety. You have to know that it 's very difficult to manage the commentary due to many aspects of not only traffic but also traffic lights,etc.; however we... More

Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Do NOT choose this company. They arrive late and busses are full. They stop sometimes for 20 minutes somewhere without explanation. And all this time you get frustrated in these busses you see another companies busses going pass half empty and on time. So select one of the others even if this is most visible by their sales people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Dear customer, thank you so much for your reply. We try every day to respect our frequency but consider that Rome is a very caotic city and all companies have the same problem. Indeed during the lunch time (that is different for any bus) is included a stop of 20 minutes, but tourists can take the closest bus often near... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014 via mobile

I have used City Sightseeing tours in other major cities and been impressed with the value and friendliness of staff, so I trusted that the Roma one would be similar. Not so! The buses do not run as regularly as stated and the audio track only sometimes matches the sights being passed. Some of this is understandable due to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CityRoma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at City Sightseeing Rome, responded to this review

Thank You for your comment. The hop on hop on formula is the best way to enjoy a wonderful and unique city like Rome. Unfortunately the traffic conditions sometimes don't permit to do our best. Anyway discover the city walking among the little characteristic streets it's an incredibible experience. We appreciate your positive review. More

Been to City Sightseeing Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing