We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akamba Garden Centre

Address: Tythe Barn Lane | Shirley, Solihull B90 1PH, England
Phone Number: 0121 733 3111
Website
Improve this listing
87%
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Solihull
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

Hotels near Akamba Garden Centre

Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    62
    12
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
4 attraction reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014 NEW via mobile

We went as a family party of 8 to a Club Classics night and had a great time. The drinks are reasonably priced, and the staff are really friendly and extremely helpful. We had a table right by the stage, but to be honest we didn't book until the day before. The band were excellent and Mikey the Fireman was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Wasn't to fond of the buffet food, didn't particularly like much and it wasn't filling. However the bar scene was good and the performance acts there are of good quality. Nice for an event or larger family party.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This venue is something different sort of Africa in rural setting - not only is it a sort of African garden center but their functions have sort of Caribbean food - its not 5 star but a pleasant change.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Solihull
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We visited Akamba for the first time earlier this month for breakfast. Beautiful breakfast in really lovely surroundings. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. My husband had a quick look at the aviary (it was raining) and commented on what a great set up this is. We are returning with family next week. Thanks to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Visited with a couple of friends who have often talked about Akamba. Although it probably was not the best of days to visit (miserable weather) we still had a good stroll around the gardens. We were told this nursery sold many unusual plants but it seems to be lacking in the exotic plants that we imagined to find. The restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Machakos, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Best Wali Na Kuku...... Our thanks to the chef.... Hot plates, excellent service (thank you Lewis) Lovely surroundings, Kel was very attentive,kind and friendly, made us so welcome on our first visit to the UK. I thought I was back home in Kenya..... Asante sana Ubarikiwe sana wote

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Very dissapointed after looking forward to a family party , very run down as in tables , chairs and toilets! waiter service 3rd rate , food very bland no starter small chicken portion with blob of sauce on followed by aldi choc cake or cheese cake , total rip off at £28 per head! left early and never going back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review. Sorry Akamba is not for you. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Myself & my partner visited here one afternoon as we had heard it was worth a visit..How disappointed we were. The garden centre is just ok and could could do with updating a bit, so we thought we would give the food a try. Now 1st of all even though i am not from jamaican or african descent but my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review. Sorry to hear we are not for you. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

When we first visited Akamba back in September 13, we were absolutely amazed by the place, hence we booked our wedding reception here for the 15th August 2014. From the moment we booked it, the service from our wedding planner Stephen was first-rate, he couldn't do enough for us and was always on hand to answer any questions and he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for such a wonderful review - it means a lot to all of us here to get everything right. Stephen is great - we are very lucky to have him, it was a pleasure to serve you and your families on your special day and we look forward to welcoming you back, also thank you for introducing... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Visited Akamba for a friends birthday on 6 September. Firstly couldn't understand why the bag search at the door, followed by a further interrogation "you haven't got alcohol, in that bag have you?". Is this now normal practice for a restaurant in England? On entering and sitting at our table, which we were not led to, there were too many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kel c, Owner at Akamba Garden Centre, responded to this review

Sorry Akamba is not for you, all our furniture is hand made in Kenya by local artisans from recycled wood, we say quirky rather than rickety we do realise that some people may prefer McDonalds chairs or something similar. On the event nights the venue is treated more like a club, we have security who have to perform security checks,... More 

Travelers who viewed Akamba Garden Centre also viewed

Solihull, West Midlands
 
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to Akamba Garden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Akamba Garden Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?