We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Great Western Trains

1 Milford Street, Swindon SN1 1HL, England
08457 000 125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 27 attractions in Swindon
Type: Scenic Railroads
10 visitor photos
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    15
    9
    54
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 NEW

Foreign resident, booked trip on FGW in February 2014. Had to make a date change and ran into issue on their web page (insists on mailing address for replacement ticket but says tickets can't be mailed outside UK). Tried contacting their customer service using their web form. Got email saying they are busy yada yada but will aim to respond... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Ok so this is worse than the usual delays on first great western. But even by FGW standards this is a spectacular failure. Within seconds of leaving paddington on the 09:15 the breaks "were applied". It's now 9:47 and we are still sat here watching other trains sail past...

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi James. Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry for the delay that you experienced on your journey with us on Tuesday. Unfortunately this was caused by a fault with the train on departure from Paddington resulting in it being 40 mins late. I hope you have a better experience when you next travel with us. Kind Regards, Ollie... More

London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Travelling from Cardiff to London Paddington and there's no Wi-Fi onboard. It's difficult to believe that in 2014 one of the major train operators don't have what has become a necessary - not luxury service - for many travellers. I travelled the same line in April of this year and was told by staff that Wi-Fi would be rolled out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Ian. Thank you for review. I'm sorry for the lack of WiFi on board, the roll out of WiFi has started on these trains. It does unfortunately take time though, the project will be finished by the end of this year. Kind Regards, Ollie First Great Western More

Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I am based just outside London, and for the last ten years i travel around 5/6 times a year to Devon to see My family. Over this ten year period I have lost confidence a couple of times in FGW due to poor customer service, late trains, overcrowding, lack of contingency plans and poor communication and have reverted to hiring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hello. I'm very sorry to see that you had to abandon your journey with us due to the signalling failure caused by a lightning strike at Twyford. Network Rail worked as quickly as possible to allow a limited service to resume, but unfortunately this did take time for them to do. I also apologise for the lack of information, at... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Messy lounge at Paddington, train service poor, no trolley service, no papers, a shortcake biscuit and a small bottle of water, no wifi, staff inattentive. Compared to East Midlands Mainline GW is rubbish

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Tim. Sorry to see you had a poor experience on your travels with us, we would love to look into this in more detail for you, please email full details to: fgwfeedback@firstgroup.com Kind Regards, Ollie First Great Western More

Parker, CO
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Arrived London Heathrow and took the Heathrow Express into London Paddington. Had ample time in London to visit friends in the afternoon before departing on the late evening train to Penzance. There is a first class lounge available in Paddington for patrons using this service. They provide coffee, tea, wine, and light snacks/fruit. A wonderful service! Boarded the train in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Jack. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent journey with us on the Night Riviera Sleeper Service. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your journey. In regards to price, should you ever decide to make the trip in future (if you return to the UK), it is worth noting that a single fare starts... More

Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After arriving at Heathrow mid-day, we spent the afternoon and evening in London with friends then caught the Night Riviera out of Paddington Station to Penzance. This broke up our trip nicely and saved the price of a London hotel, allowing us to arrive refreshed and ready to start our vacation in West Cornwall in the morning. Upon boarding, our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your recent review of our Night Riviera Sleeper Service. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the journey and that it was a good experience for you. I hope that your trip to the UK was a pleasant one, do let us know if you come back again, we would love to welcome you back... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This review relates to my experience of using FGW's first class service from Cardiff to London frequently for leisure purposes over the last few years, mostly at weekends. Advance purchase tickets on off peak trains are good value, particularly for anyone with a railcard. Benefits such as at seat trolley service and lounge access are scaled back at weekends, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Paul. Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you've found our advance fares to be good value and that you have a good experience when using our services. You are correct that we are removing a first class carriage from our trains, this is being done in order to increase capacity in standard class which is where it... More

falmouth, cornwall
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

FGW customer service is amongst the worst I have encountered. The station staff argue with info provided to me by their Twitter team and telephone customer service team despite having the information in front of me. In future I will avoid them at all cost. Their complaints team send a snobbish letter making out their contact teams are giving incorrect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheviot, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

First time I have used the train to get from London to the south west. Train departed and arrived on time on the outward journey but was 30 mins delayed on the return due to one engine not operating and a broken down freight train adding to it). I had reserved a seat in the quiet carriage which in general... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Robert. Thank you for your review of the journey you took with us in June. I'm glad to see that for the most part it went well. I am however sorry to see you were delayed on the return journey, I do hope this didn't cause too much inconvenience and hope that we will be welcoming you back on... More

Travelers who viewed First Great Western Trains also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to First Great Western Trains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Great Western Trains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing