We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First Great Western Trains

1 Milford Street, Swindon SN1 1HL, England
08457 000 125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 29 Attractions in Swindon
Type: Scenic Railroads
10 visitor photos
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    16
    10
    60
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Down trip from London to Penzance was just perfect! Excellent nights sleep and almost total silence. I had to check out of the window to see whether we were actually moving. (we were!!) Staff first class. Use of first class lounge at Paddington for toilets and refreshments is included in the ticket price. The return was a different story: 1.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
bridgend
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

23:20 on a Saturday night I am sitting on the paddington to swansea train outside Cardiff Central, the reason .... We are ahead of schedule, who's schedule I am not sure, as my stated arrival time in Bridgend is 23:30. I am travelling first class ( at least that what it says on my ticket) but have not seen a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

We travellled from Reading to Penzance in 1st class with our 90 yr old mother who loves trains, on a Friday, returning on the following Monday. The outbound trip was marred by chronic overcrowding, bags all over the aisles. Carriage was old and one door opened and closed continuously until the guard stuck tape over it! Staff were friendly but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014 via mobile

Didcot to paddington. £65. What a disgrace first great western are. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Was this review helpful? Yes
United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I travelled on the 18.31 from Twyford to Henley on 10th August. All of a sudden, the ticket inspector appeared and grabbed my ticket to inspect it. I hold a senior rail card, which I had ready with my ticket but this was snatched out of my hand, with her comment "I just want to see your SENIOR railcard" (she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi. Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to read that you had a poor experience when travelling from Twyford to Henley. I note that you mentioned to the staff on the train that you would contact us, if you haven't done this yet, please do email the details to: fgwfeedback@firstgroup.com in order for us to look into this further... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Travelled from Swansea to Bristol Parkway today - Sunday in September, very surprised at how busy it was! It was quite warm and stuffy on the train and I would have struggled with opening the doors as I had lots of luggage with me. Even though I booked my ticket, I had to sit really far away from the luggage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review of your recent journey with us. I'm sorry to see that you found access to the carriage to be an issue, you may want to know that you can book assistance when travelling with us, our assisted travel number is: 0800 197 1329 The reservations system will reserve seats based on either preferences selected... More

Sheffield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Travelled Dawlish Warren to Dawlish, overcrowded and time for all 'pacer' trains to be retired. Great line though nice repair job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear of the crowding you experienced between Dawlish Warren and Dawlish. We recognise crowding is frustrating and recognise that some of our fleet is old, unfortunately, a national shortage of stock prevents the Department for Transport from allocating more rolling stock to us. I hope that despite the crowding, you enjoyed... More

St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

After watching Gillingham vs Newcastle we had to travel back to Cornwall and the Night Riviera is the perfect way to do that. When we got on the sleeper we went straight into the lounge which we were greeted very kindly by a member of staff. We got some drinks and relaxed. I have to give credit to a man... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, Thank you for your review of your recent journey on our Night Riviera Sleeper service. I'm glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly. I am sorry to read so that you didn't get a brilliant sleep, good that you enjoyed your breakfast though! If the poor sleep was something we could have made better,... More

Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I paid for a First Class ticket from Reading to Par over the Bank Holiday weekend and was appalled at what poor value for money it was. The 'free refreshments' consisted of a cup of lukewarm water and a sachet of instant coffee or a tea bag, a tiny bottle of water and a (single) packet of shortbread. (This was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Louise, Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to see that you weren't happy with the journey you took with us over the bank holiday weekend. The complimentary offer in first class is reduced over bank holidays, this is advised on our website. We are however looking to review what we offer in First Class later this year, so... More

Trier, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Last Friday we took the Cornishman from St Erth to Paddington and enjoyed delicious food and fine wine, It was a very pleasant journey. I enjoyed it very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FGWOllie, Senior Digital Engagement Officer at First Great Western Trains, responded to this review

Hi Stephan. Thank you for the review. Glad to see that you enjoyed our Pullman service, I hope you had a lovely trip. We look forward to welcoming you back on board again sometime. Kind Regards, Ollie First Great Western More

Travelers who viewed First Great Western Trains also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to First Great Western Trains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage First Great Western Trains?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing