We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Thornhaugh, Peterborough PE8 6HJ, England
Phone Number: +44 1780 782254
Website
Description: You probably know us as a lovely place for children to see the animals...
You probably know us as a lovely place for children to see the animals, run around in beautiful countryside and let off steam in our state-of-the-art play barn - but there's a lot more to Sacrewell. With the help of £1.4 million from the Heritage Lottery Fund, our 18th century water mill is being transformed into a national centre for milling excellence - take a tour and find out how your great-grandparents got their daily bread. Foodies can also join a tractor trip around the fields of our tenant farmers Riverford Organic Farms (it's on our land). Then there's our wildlife trail, scavenger hunt and two new rambles - if you're lucky, you'll see the rare red kites and brown hares. Seasonal events range from our Lamb National to ploughing with vintage tractors. You can even meet a film star - some of our shires appeared in War Horse. In our 50th year as a charity dedicated to agricultural education, we continue to welcome students of all ages who want to learn traditional skills and get an insight into rural life. We hope that all our visitors not only have a great day out but feel they've learned something too.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 140 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 61
    Excellent
  • 33
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
A fun afternoon spent with friends and family

Enjoyed an afternoon with friends and family wandering around. We were kept busy for a good 3-4 hours, and we loved the duck race! We were able to take our dogs with us on leads... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2015
Anna H
,
Alton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 NEW

Enjoyed an afternoon with friends and family wandering around. We were kept busy for a good 3-4 hours, and we loved the duck race! We were able to take our dogs with us on leads which was great as we were on holiday and limited to where we could go. Not like a zoo, so don't expect it to be.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

Many a happy day or two spent here. The hay bale maze is always a firm favourite and the sheep races are great fun. Whether just going for the day (be sure to check out the beautiful shire horses) or camping overnight. Excellent place. Easy to get to off the A1. The kids love it. Lots of events over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Hi Carol, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We've not had a straw bale maze for a couple of years as the straw started to biodegrade. Maybe it's something we should think about putting back in. Hope to see you when the Mill opens on 19 July. Megan More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Good value day out, under 2's free. £1.50 for 20 minute tractor ride- which is well worth it. Good food, available instantly- no wait for hot meals. Well cared for animals, equipment & childrens toys. Will definitely visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your great feedback. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! Megan More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We visited today and had a lovely time, it wasn't a planned visit as we were driving past Peterborough and decided to find something to do and we were very pleased! Our toddler loved running round and seeing all the animals he found the pigs especially enchanting! The tractor ride was a great 20mins and worth every penny! Play barn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Hi Becci, Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you had such a good, spontaneous day at Sacrewell. Perhaps next time you could combine it with camping and visi the new mill when it opens on 19 July. See you soon! Megan More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

My family have been season ticket holders at Sacrewell for about 4 years. The cost for our years membership: 2 adults, a 5 year old and a 2 year old is now £150. Ouch. Gate entry prices for day visits have also risen by quite a large amount over the last few years. The positive changes - refurbished play barn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We review our membership prices annually and are still very good value for money compared to similar attractions that also offer camping, events, heritage, education and family activities. As an educational charity, Sacrewell emphasises the educational value of its events, so rather than feeding the lambs with no explanation as a lot of farm parks... More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

We came to sacrewell as a party of 6 - 4 adults and 2 children total to get in £ 42 -- this included £1 each (5 only) for tractor ride which lasted 10 minutes and showed us exactly what we were going to see NOT MUCH!! I camped here last year and it was even worse this year and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you have read my replies to other reviewers. I have made a note of your feedback and will pass it onto the relevant departments, although in future, it would be easier for you to tell us your concerns about equipment like the slide at the time of your visit, and we... More 

United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We recently returned to Sacrewell Farm after about five years, we were disappointed to find there had been no improvements, infact it looked run down with rusty pieces of farm machinery scattered over the place, the experience was less hands on, in previous years children have been able to feed the animals, including assisting in giving the baby lambs milk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Hi Claire, Thanks for your review, although we're quite surprised by it. We've made significant improvements in the last five years-the majority in the last 18 months. We have a new, state-of-the-art Playbarn, a refurbished cafe, new fences, new animal shelters, new flooring in the animal village, new signage, complete rebranding across the site, and are currently spending £1.7m on... More 

Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We have visited several times, the latest with friends. It was over the Easter holidays and expected it to be very busy but because of the size of the farm it didn't seem overrun. We had 4 young children, aged 3-6 and it was lovely to be able to let them run off and know they were pretty safe. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Hi Joanna, Thanks very much for your review. We're glad you had a great day. The mill work that's being carried out at present means that for safety reasons, we've had to cordon some parts off, but this will all be reopen again in the summer (along with the mill). Hope to see you then, Megan More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015 via mobile

Very expensive for poor farm experience. Went easter so expected it to be busy. Tractor rides for Easter egg hunt fully booked-fine but couldn't the second tractor be put on for tours of farm. Parking good. Shop selling usual farm goodies for all children ages. Soft play area for children available. Nice outside play area. Area for picnic tables. Plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All feedback is appreciated and I'm sorry you feel you did not have a value for money day out. Although we do have some traditional farm animals on site, Sacrewell is not a farm park and we have as many animals as we have room for, allowing for stocks to increase in the spring when... More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We visit the farm a few times a year, as they always have different things going on. We spent the day at the farm with four adults and four children, we planned the day as there was lamb feeding demonstrations and the Easter Egg hunt to fit in around looking at all of the animals, playing poo sticks and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Megan A, Public Relations Manager at Sacrewell, responded to this review

Hi Tara, Thanks for your lovely review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your day out. The photo is brilliant. We hope to see you again very soon. Megan More 

Travelers who viewed Sacrewell also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Sacrewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sacrewell staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?