We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Edmondstown Road | Rockbrook, Dublin Dublin 16, Ireland
Phone Number: +353-(0)1-4931495
Website
Today
4:30 pm - 11:30 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:30 pm - 11:00 am
Mon - Fri 4:30 pm - 11:30 am
Sat 12:30 pm - 12:30 am
Description: The Merry Ploughboy is the only pub in Ireland owned and managed by...
The Merry Ploughboy is the only pub in Ireland owned and managed by musicians, and it is the 'hands on' approach from the owners that makes a visit to the Merry Ploughboy the highlight of many people's trip to Ireland. The two hour Irish music & Irish dancing show (which takes place nightly at the pub) has been awarded "Best Dinner/Entertainment Event in Ireland" and the pub is the current "Music Pub of the Year” in Ireland. Owners and musicians, The Merry Ploughboys, have been performing together for 22 years making their show the longest running show in Ireland hosted continuously by the same performers. The pub is located about 20 minutes south of Dublin City centre with complimentary car parking. It is easily accessed by taxi or if you are staying in the city centre we recommend our shuttle transfer service (just 5.50 euro return fare). The transfer by luxury executive coach offers an elevated view of the scenic Southside of Dublin city. After the show, the coach will drop you back as close as practical to your accommodation. Reservations are essential, however online bookings for the dinner & show (and shuttle transfer if required) can be made in real-time on our own website. We operate a "ticketless" booking system. You will receive a unique booking reference number on your email receipt and our floor manager will have all your details when you arrive at the pub.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 430 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 317
    Excellent
  • 89
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
This was Great

great entertainment great food and service coach picked us up on time and took us back to the hotel, no problem

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 19, 2011
Carole56
,
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review

430 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
47 attraction reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

great entertainment great food and service coach picked us up on time and took us back to the hotel, no problem

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Being a fan of Irish music and dancing, I was looking forward to the evening here. It was all I expected in that department. For a band that has been at the game for 22 years, the enthusiasm, humour and joie de vivre is untarnished by the years. You cannot help but be caught up and join in. The dancing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 attraction reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

The Irish entertainment was perfect which covered up the less than wonderful food.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ekeby sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a fantastic evening show at your place august 26. We are very happy with everything it was just enought of everything. Please thank everyone from busdriver til the band. once again thanks, and hope too see you at s.t patrick next time...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
U.S.A.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

the show was wonderful and they provide transportation to and from your hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Had a great meal, 3 courses. The four guys played great Irish songs which I was able to sing along to a couple, got the audience to participate which was fun. The three girls and two guys dancing were fabulous, overall a great night out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I have been a long time customer of The Merry Ploughboy and up until last night have always had good experiences both with food and entertainment! I ordered my usual fillet steak last night and I can safely say, I have never been more disappointed with a meal from this place. The steak was as tough as old boots and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MerryPloughboy, Owner at The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. This review applies to the public bar area rather than the traditional show. As you stated in your reply to our follow up email you were disappointed on the night in question and had previously raved about the pub. As you said, it was a pity you didn't raise the matter with any of the staff... More 

Ash Vale
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I took 3 friends for the evening to see the The Merry Ploughboys band, Irish Dancing & Dinner night at The Merry Ploughboy Pub in Rathfarnham. I had several e-mails back & forth with Imelda (Bookings) prior arrival.confirming various details then she even called me personally in Dublin arranging a taxi P/U from our hotel. On arrival the staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

A really great evening out and Irish music experience with food. Although some way outside of Dublin, the Merry Ploughboy arranges bus collection from Dublin centre and return. The musicians themselves own the pub so the show was excellent, the food very good and the atmosphere, despite long tables, first class. If you can only spare the time to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Even this jaded New Yorker was up and singing and clapping along with this professional group of musicians. The food is good and well presented. The singing and dancing show really gives you a wonderful Irish experience at good value. I was afraid it would be hokey or "Disney Irish" but it was the real deal, performed by a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?