We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

National Wax Museum Plus

Neighborhood: South City Centre
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: The Armory, Foster Place | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number: 353 (0)1 671 8373
Website
Today
10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Description: The National Wax Museum Plus located in the historical Armoury Building at...
The National Wax Museum Plus located in the historical Armoury Building at the heart of Dublin's city centre is Dublin's newest and most interactive visitor attraction promising a fun filled day out for all.The National Wax Museum Plus offers a museum experience unlike any other, whether you are young or old, a culture vulture or fun seeker, star struck or star studded, featuring the Wax Factor and recording Studio a Science exhibition, The time vaults of Irish history plus all your favorite superstars and much much more! The National Wax Museum Plus is the ultimate entertainment experience for all.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 584 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 98
    Excellent
  • 155
    Very good
  • 160
    Average
  • 104
    Poor
  • 67
    Terrible
Fun for all the wrong reasons

Myself and my boyfriend visited the museum a little while ago. We found the sculptures to be incredibly unrealistic and most of the "famous people" themselves would barely... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed May 19, 2015
Michelle M
Add Photo Write a Review

584 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

It wasn't bad at all. It was an interactive place and the wax figures were great. A bit pricey but it's a tourist attraction so that's to be expected I guess. It was our first time in a wax museum, We liked it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015 NEW

If you have ever been to the London or Blackpool wax works then don't go here as it is nothing like them, much lower scale that is dated or should I say out of date. I did feel sorry and disappointed as I went round, it seems maybe 15 years ago this would have been a better attraction, but today... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 NEW

Myself and my boyfriend visited the museum a little while ago. We found the sculptures to be incredibly unrealistic and most of the "famous people" themselves would barely interest me had they been there in the flesh. We did however enjoy the experience. While we made our way around the place place in under 30 minutes we did find ourselves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for deciding to review our museum. I’m glad to hear you were able to have a good laugh and enjoy yourself, as here at the museum we don’t take ourselves too seriously. I appreciate your input regarding the length of the tour and while we do suggest you spend between 45-60 minutes, I’m happy to inform you we’re... More 

tampa, fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 NEW

"Amazing for a family to pass the time!" That was my son, who is 9 and LOVED it. Here are my feelings: -The price is 0 with the Dublin Pass, which we had. As a pay off the pass, I feel this is unmissable if you have children -This was our first intro to Irish history. WOW. So vivid and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our museum. We do consider ourselves a family attraction are we’re delighted to hear that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your time with us! It’s great to hear that you also found the educational part of the tour fantastic as well. Finally I’m glad to read that you... More 

Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 NEW

Paid €35 for 2 adults and 2 kids. Definitely not worth it we were finished within 30mins. The figures are of very mixed standard but mostly poor and you had to read the signs to figure out who it was. On top of that they were lazy / underfunded. The sports figures dated from the 90s and were unknown to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out to review our museum. I’m disappointed to read that you didn’t fully enjoy the experience we have on offer. While the models are down to our artist’s impression and thus, are not exact replicas, we do thank you for your input regarding the age of our wax figures and I’m happy to inform... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
513 reviews 513 reviews
312 attraction reviews
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015 NEW

First visit here and I thoroughly loved it. Saw lots of very life like wax models. Had a whistle stop walk around, but I would reckon you need a couple of hours especilally with kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our museum. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and thought the museum would also be suitable for kids! We’d love to see you again for a longer visit. More 

swindon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

Was on our list to visit though did disappoint a little and I believe we were only in there for 30 to 40 minutes. Some of exhibits are better than others and we did like the horror section. Not sure it was worth the ticket price and if we didn't have a Dublin pass probably wouldn't have gone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. I'm glad to hear that the museum was on your list of places to visit and also that you particularly enjoyed our Chamber of Horrors. Although the tour is self guided, we do recommend you spend around forty-five minutes to an hour to fully experience the tour. More 

Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
75 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

'Twas interesting to see all the famous folk doppelgängered in wax..! Took loads of pics and enjoyed the tour of the museum. Good value for money. Worth a trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the opportunity to review our museum. I’m delighted to hear you had an all round great experience and enjoyed taking photos with the models! We’d love to see you again. More 

New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Visited and was not really impressed, the welcome person was really nice and helpful, children will like it though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our museum. I’m sorry to hear you weren’t completely satisfied with your visit although I’m happy to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful as that’s something we pride ourselves on. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

We went with a voucher for a 50% discount and overall I'd say it was ok. Definitely not worth the full price. Ok for an hour of bad weather in town .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
L_Wax, General Manager at National Wax Museum Plus, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your visit overall. We hope to see you again. More 

Travelers who viewed National Wax Museum Plus also viewed

 

Been to National Wax Museum Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from National Wax Museum Plus staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?