We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Corinthian

Ingram Street, Glasgow, Scotland (Merchant City)
+44 141 552 1101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 178 Nightlife in Glasgow
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Activities: Nightlife
Owner description: Following an eight month £5.7m refurbishment, The Corinthian Club reopened its doors in late August 2010.Scotland’s leading artisan craftsmen spent... more » Owner description: Following an eight month £5.7m refurbishment, The Corinthian Club reopened its doors in late August 2010.Scotland’s leading artisan craftsmen spent hundreds of man-hours painstakingly creating aspects of the building, including a mosaic floor made of more than half a million tiles, over a thousand hand moulded acanthus leaves, fitting hand carved panels and restoring ornate wooden detailing.The iconic 26’ Corinthian dome remains a focal point in the new Tellers Bar and Brasserie where designers have also uncovered a stairway, once the route to the cells of the High Court, which now leads to the relaxed, organically-styled Mash and Press Rooms.A new addition to the venue, The Corinthian Club now boasts the most stunning gaming facilities in the country.Other highlights include the glittering Boutique, offering everything from afternoon tea to evening cocktails and housing the venue’s high-end retail space for ladies to enjoy a spot of retail therapy in the luxurious comfort of the plush velvet and sparkling crystal interior. It’s the first time a Glasgow entertainment venue has incorporated a pop-up retail space into one of its bars and, true to style, The Corinthian Club’s range has already featured high-end clothing and accessories from Comme des Garçons, Agent Provocateur and Boudiche.Bootleg takes its inspiration from a 1920s American speakeasy and is proving a huge hit with gents. Serving the finest matured sprits from around the world, Bootleg is also home to a secret cocktail which, in homage to its speakeasy roots, is only available to those who know it exists. The bar itself is fashioned out of traditional bank safes and the floor is made from a 500,000 piece mosaic tiles which have been painstakingly hand-crafted to form the image of Queen Victoria as she appeared on old banknotes - in a nod to the building’s past life as the Union Bank of Scotland.The new Corinthian Club has revolutionised Glasgow’s meeting, eating, socialising and gaming scene, boasting 14 rooms spaced across 5 floors. Creating more than 200 jobs for the city, the unique venue is open 24 hours and is the only one of its kind in the UK to offer a range of bars, clubs, restaurant, meetings rooms as well as a stunning gaming room all under one roof.Preserving much of the 260 year old Grade A listed building, internationally renowned Glasgow design firm Graven Images was commissioned to work alongside Scotland’s leading artisans - creating a stunning fusion of traditional craftsmanship and cool modern design. « less
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    79
    34
    21
    41
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014 NEW

My friend booked a deal and last night we dined at 6pm, we both ordered Red Pepper & Tomato Soup, followed by Salmon. The soup was delicious, nearly asked for the recipe ! Then our salmon arrived ..but we were given chicken ! We pointed this out to staff who apologised. The chicken was nice, lacked seasoning - none was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 NEW

The building is beautiful inside with the sculptured reliefs. The food was fine. The service was almost the worst we've ever had anywhere in the world (so far). They play loud pop music in the restaurant which is more suited for a bar, not relaxed fine dining. We asked to move to a quieter table but they said the other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 NEW via mobile

Attempted to book a table for 12 people, for drinks. As we were a larger party, I was trying to guarantee we would be able to sit down and have nice drinks for a birthday celebration. Emailed to be told we would have to put a £100 deposit down. Felt it was a little unnecessary but considering it was 9pm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Corinthian20, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Please accept our apologies for the misunderstanding, however there are a limited number of booths available just for drinks on a Saturday evening therefore we do ask for a minimum pre-order of £100.00 from our bottle to table menu in order to confirm a booth. One booth will only hold 8 people We will evaluate how we communicate this in... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 NEW

Impressive building, tasteful and done original theme throughout. Great atmosphere although the main bar area had a very very strong aroma from the obvious fish dishes that had been served, so we headed to the upstairs bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arta M, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Corinthian Club. The surroundings and atmosphere are something we pride ourselves on so your comments are lovely to hear. We do hope that we will see you again soon. Many thanks Kerri Roberts - Manager The Corinthian Club More

Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014 NEW

I had my Hen Night here on Saturday 11th October and it was fantastic! We did the cocktail master class which included 3 delicious cocktails and a 3 course meal which was also delicious! Everyone enjoyed themselves and I would like to leave a special note for Gordon who was our "cocktail master" he was fantastic! Such a nice guy!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinthian20, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Hi Siobhan Thank you for choosing to celebrate your hen night at The Corinthian Club and for taking the time to leave us a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your night and will certainly pass your lovely comments to Gordon. We hope that you certainly will come back to enjoy more cocktails at The Corinthian Club.... More

Troon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014 NEW

Been here a few times recently for afternoon tea which has always been delicious. The service is always excellent, and the added bonus is the offer to box up all the little delights that you don't have space for to take away and consume at your leisure. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon out, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arta M, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Suzanne, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and were pleased with the service you received. We hope to see you again. Many thanks Kerri Roberts - Manager The Corinthian Club More

Edinb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Stopped here for food when shopping in Glasgow with a friend. I'm not a fan of using chains when eating out and love trying new places. We had food in the Brasserie where my friend had the Macaroni and I had the pulled pork ciabatta. We were both impressed with our choices. Service was good although not enough to stand... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinthian20, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Corinthian Club and we will pass your comments to Chef will be delighted to hear that you both enjoyed your meal. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Many thanks Kerri Roberts - Manager The Corinthian Club More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We had a lovely 3 course meal from the market menu and a free glass of wine. To top it all we got a discount as they brought out a different dish from what we had asked. Food was fabulous for price. Definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinthian20, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Corinthian Club, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal from our market menu. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future. Many thanks Kerri Roberts - Manager The Corinthian Club More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

With different rooms under one roof, this place ticks all boxes for a good catch up with friends with food and drinks. Where after there's an option for the casino or the dancefloor. Great for private hire too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinthian20, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Corinthian Club and we appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future. Many thanks Kerri Roberts - Manager The Corinthian Club More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I had booked afternoon tea at the Corinthian. The location is ideal, within the city center and easy to find. When we arrived we were seating and told rather abruptly that we had to vacate by 2pm (Which I was already away of when I booked) Once we managed to move the rather large ornate chairs; which were not comfy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corinthian20, Manager at The Corinthian, responded to this review

Dear Syrah, thank-you for taking the time to post feedback from your recent dining experience at our venue. We are pleased that you enjoyed your surroundings however I am extremely disappointed to hear your comments regarding the service. Please be assured this is not our normal level of service and we hope that you will revisit the venue again and... More

Travelers who viewed The Corinthian also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The Corinthian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Do you own or manage The Corinthian?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing