We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

John Knox House Museum

Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 43-45 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SR, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 131 556 9579
Website
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description: Dating back to 1470, and now incorporated into the Scottish Storytelling...
Dating back to 1470, and now incorporated into the Scottish Storytelling Centre, John Knox House is one of Scotland's greatest cultural treasures and is associated with the most dramatic events in Scotland's turbulent history. Located at The Netherbow, the halfway point on the Royal Mile and the site of Edinburgh's medieval gateway, the House was the home of James Mossman, goldsmith to Mary, Queen of Scots, and became known as the final residence of John Knox, the Protestant Reformer. On three floors, the exhibition highlights the building's beautiful craftsmanship and the stories of its famous inhabitants. Come close to the most dramatic conflicts in Scotland's history. Stand where they stood and hear the drama in their own words. The original Netherbow bell, cast in 1621, and a carved stone plaque from the Port (or Gate) have been reinstated in the Storytelling Centre's bell tower. We also offer Audio guides for £1 and you can also experience one of the Centre's bespoke tours of John Knox House and the surrounding Netherbow area. Opening times: Monday- Saturday 10am-6pm. The House is open on Sundays from 12-6pm in July and August. Admission prices: Adult - £5, Concession - £4, Children over 7 - £1, Children under 7 - Free.
read more
Visit John Knox House Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$22*
and up
City Sightseeing Edinburgh Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 70 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 30
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
John Knox house could have been better

I was disappointed with the John Knox house in that I had hoped to learn more about the reformation or at least see period furniture, it was pretty plain. There was a house down... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed April 2, 2015
Thomas H
,
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Escanaba, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I was disappointed with the John Knox house in that I had hoped to learn more about the reformation or at least see period furniture, it was pretty plain. There was a house down the street, the Gladstone house, that brought the period alive. The John Knox people should talk to them to see how it should be done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear you didn’t find the museum interesting. The Gladstone's Land exhibits are from the 17th century, some 100 years after John Knox's time, and it is purposefully designed to show how people lived during that period. Our intention is not to show what daily life was like during the Reformation, rather to give our visitors a unique... More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
68 attraction reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

The house is located on the Royal Mile, and gives a potted history of the lives of John Knox and James Mossman, who ideological opposites in the 16th century. An audio tour complements the exhibits to talk through the two lives of these men in the mid 1550s and their relationship with Mary, Queen of Scots.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to John Knox House and I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh. More 

Toronto
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
55 attraction reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

A must-see visit in Edinburgh, given Knox's importance to the history of Scotland, together with the fact that the house is Edinburgh's oldest. The tour - combination of what is on the walls, sounds, plus the supplemental audio guide -- is a bit of a jumble between Knox, the other owner, Mossman, and the house architecture. Still a worthwhile visit...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to John Knox House and I hope you had a great time in Edinburgh. More 

Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

I was very warmly welcomed by the very pleasant and efficient Rachel. Thank you very much. The house itself is rather plain and simple, but I don't think it could really be any other way in the circumstances, and I enjoyed my visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I will pass on your kind comments to Rachel. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

My wife and I visited this house about two years ago. We are both very much interested in history and culture. That part we really enjoyed , I seem to remember the décor especially the old fireplace with a date carved into it of a Halloween evening hundreds of years ago. That said its funny how the negative experiences linger;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I thought that it would be interesting but I found the more I learned about john Knox the more I didn't want him to live on in history. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not interested in John Knox's story. He is a controversial figure in Scottish history! However, I hope you were able to enjoy the experience of visting this medieval house, and that you had a pleasant time in Edinburgh. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Of course, this was John Mossman's house rather than Knox's, but I guess history hasn't treated them in equal measure. I hadn't been here for over two decades, and I was delighted to come back as a refugee from the Royal Mile's remorseless retail therapy. Scotland in the mid 1500s was a turbulent place; Darnley's demise, the siege of Edinburgh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad we could prodive shelter from the Edinburgh weather and give you a glimpse in to the history of the house. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Although I used to work off the royal mile I hadn't ever visited this house until last week. It was a very enjoyable afternoon browsing the museum and learning all about John Knox and the Reformation - I wish I'd done it sooner. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, explaining various features of the house to me as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the various aspects of the house, and we would be delighted to see you back here to visit the Storytelling Café. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Unfortunately I can't really comment on the overall experience but on the service we received trying to book a tour. We pre purchased vouchers to the John knox house and emailed to enquire about a booking. We were originally asking for a Sunday slot not realising the house isn't open on a Sunday unless in the summer. No1 responded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Let me just explains how Groupon works for us. We cannot claim the money you have paid to Groupon until we receive your voucher and redeem it with them so to accuse us of running some sort of a scam is not only untrue, it is illogical. There would be no benefit whatsoever for us... More 

Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Mostly boring. Iconic & beautiful house with poor, uninteresting displays of information. The audio guide was useful but some wall numbers were difficult to find. Enjoyed the information about the lower floor & outside but once inside there are SO many written wall displays & they use those movement activated voices in some wee rooms so while you are trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the museum. As a small attraction we have tried to fit in as much information about John Knox and the Reformation period as possible, however I’m glad you enjoyed exploring the original features of the house. With regards to the audio tour, I have... More 

Travelers who viewed John Knox House Museum also viewed

 

Been to John Knox House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from John Knox House Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?

Staying in Old Town

Neighborhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavored souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.