We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

John Knox House Museum

Historic sites, History museums, Sights & Landmarks, Museums
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 43-45 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SR, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 131 556 9579
Website
Today
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Description: Dating back to 1470, and now incorporated into the Scottish Storytelling...
Dating back to 1470, and now incorporated into the Scottish Storytelling Centre, John Knox House is one of Scotland's greatest cultural treasures and is associated with the most dramatic events in Scotland's turbulent history. Located at The Netherbow, the halfway point on the Royal Mile and the site of Edinburgh's medieval gateway, the House was the home of James Mossman, goldsmith to Mary, Queen of Scots, and became known as the final residence of John Knox, the Protestant Reformer. On three floors, the exhibition highlights the building's beautiful craftsmanship and the stories of its famous inhabitants. Come close to the most dramatic conflicts in Scotland's history. Stand where they stood and hear the drama in their own words. The original Netherbow bell, cast in 1621, and a carved stone plaque from the Port (or Gate) have been reinstated in the Storytelling Centre's bell tower. We also offer Audio guides for £1 and you can also experience one of the Centre's bespoke tours of John Knox House and the surrounding Netherbow area. Opening times: Monday- Saturday 10am-6pm. The House is open on Sundays from 12-6pm in July and August. Admission prices: Adult - £5, Concession - £4, Children over 7 - £1, Children under 7 - Free.
read more
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$22*
and up
Edinburgh City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 65 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 15
    Excellent
  • 27
    Very good
  • 15
    Average
  • 4
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Most recent review
Memories of an interesting day spoiled by receptionist.

My wife and I visited this house about two years ago. We are both very much interested in history and culture. That part we really enjoyed , I seem to remember the décor... read more

3 of 5 starsReviewed February 28, 2015
garrow
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 NEW

My wife and I visited this house about two years ago. We are both very much interested in history and culture. That part we really enjoyed , I seem to remember the décor especially the old fireplace with a date carved into it of a Halloween evening hundreds of years ago. That said its funny how the negative experiences linger;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I thought that it would be interesting but I found the more I learned about john Knox the more I didn't want him to live on in history. I wouldn't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear you were not interested in John Knox's story. He is a controversial figure in Scottish history! However, I hope you were able to enjoy the experience of visting this medieval house, and that you had a pleasant time in Edinburgh. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Of course, this was John Mossman's house rather than Knox's, but I guess history hasn't treated them in equal measure. I hadn't been here for over two decades, and I was delighted to come back as a refugee from the Royal Mile's remorseless retail therapy. Scotland in the mid 1500s was a turbulent place; Darnley's demise, the siege of Edinburgh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I'm glad we could prodive shelter from the Edinburgh weather and give you a glimpse in to the history of the house. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Although I used to work off the royal mile I hadn't ever visited this house until last week. It was a very enjoyable afternoon browsing the museum and learning all about John Knox and the Reformation - I wish I'd done it sooner. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, explaining various features of the house to me as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the various aspects of the house, and we would be delighted to see you back here to visit the Storytelling Café. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Unfortunately I can't really comment on the overall experience but on the service we received trying to book a tour. We pre purchased vouchers to the John knox house and emailed to enquire about a booking. We were originally asking for a Sunday slot not realising the house isn't open on a Sunday unless in the summer. No1 responded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Let me just explains how Groupon works for us. We cannot claim the money you have paid to Groupon until we receive your voucher and redeem it with them so to accuse us of running some sort of a scam is not only untrue, it is illogical. There would be no benefit whatsoever for us... More 

Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Mostly boring. Iconic & beautiful house with poor, uninteresting displays of information. The audio guide was useful but some wall numbers were difficult to find. Enjoyed the information about the lower floor & outside but once inside there are SO many written wall displays & they use those movement activated voices in some wee rooms so while you are trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to the museum. As a small attraction we have tried to fit in as much information about John Knox and the Reformation period as possible, however I’m glad you enjoyed exploring the original features of the house. With regards to the audio tour, I have... More 

UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

An interesting building, with some high-quality information boards. A reasonable audio guide is available, and added to the experience. However, the whole impression was that this was an amateurish exhibit. OK, it is nice that not everything is corporate and uniform, but even the simple things were not quite right. For example, the day we visited the lights on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I have asked the Reception staff about the day you visited and they remember being told the lights in part of the house were off. As you said, they were indeed surprised as it is an unusual occurrence! The duty manager was informed and quickly discovered that the switches inside the museum had been turned... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 attraction reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

good explanations. very nice and knowledgeable people at the reception desk with whom we had a discussion on the differences on catholic and protestant religion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elaine J, Customer Services Administrator at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the house and our great reception desk staff! More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed visiting the house for the museum. Provides an interesting summary of the Reformation period between John Knox and Mary Queen of Scotts through the Mossman family. Brings to life the debate and turmoil in a simple way. Worth the stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LindsayCorr, Marketing and Communications Manager at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing John Knox House K B! Glad to hear you found the Reformation period interesting. More 

Benson, Arizona
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
93 attraction reviews
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This house was also where John Knox lived, he was born in 1505, He was a Scottish Clergyman who was a leader of Protestant Reformation. He stood up to Kings and Queens for what he believed was right. Very interesting to visit this house. It's on Royal Mile in Edinburgh, Scotland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
LindsayCorr, Marketing and Communications Manager at John Knox House Museum, responded to this review

Thank you for your review syette - so glad to hear you enjoyed visiting John Knox House! :) More 

Travelers who viewed John Knox House Museum also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to John Knox House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from John Knox House Museum staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?