We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: 2-4 Winecellar Entry | 2 High Street, Belfast BT1 2AA, Northern Ireland
Phone Number: 44 28 9024 3080
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 102 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 45
    Excellent
  • 29
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
A great place!

I didn't know about this place or the entries when I went to Belfast. I was walking through the city and suddenly I saw one alley really interest and I discover about the entries... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
raissaguimaraes
,
Recife, PE
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't know about this place or the entries when I went to Belfast. I was walking through the city and suddenly I saw one alley really interest and I discover about the entries. So I started to look out for the others entries and I found the White's Tavern, so I sit down to have a pint. While I... More 

Helpful?
Thank raissaguimaraes
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A good mix of customers and cool atmosphere. Disappointed that the beers were all Diaggio and another in brewer. It would be nice to see a great pub like. This supporting real beer.

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great little pub full of character hidden in Winecellar Entry. I frequent here with my partner and friends for drinks and for food. Their food is wonderful, reasonably priced and very tasty and they have a great whisky selection oh and a nice tequila called Kah ! With live music sessions and bands its a spot you... More 

Helpful?
Thank mstevenson1974
UK Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food here was a nice surprise, really good quality food and the singer that came in after we finished our meal was really good! His voice is amazing!

Helpful?
1 Thank Becky G
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Becky! Glad you enjoyed our food, you area welcome back anytime! We have live music every weekend :) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a few drinks in your pub. The barman was very friendly. We loved the decor and asked him if it was hunted he said yes. We seen the video of the ghost on the daily mail. Where coming back in August again and will come back to the pub to try your food and have a few... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank derots
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Derots, thanks for the comment! I'm very happy you had a good time at Whites and enjoyed the decor. We definitely think we're haunted - check out the newspaper clippings on our wall next time you're in. Spooky stuff! See ya August! Jim More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Recently had our Christmas Lunch at White's. The food was absolutely beautiful. The owner, Jim and his staff were exceptional and I can't thank them enough for providing us with a lovely meal and excellent service. Looking forward to a return trip 😊

Helpful?
Thank Shona D
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Shona! Thanks for the lovely comment. So glad you guys enjoyed your food and had a good time. Looking forward to seeing you again! Jim More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

Nice pub and reasonable service but the Irish stew was absolutely terrible. The chef should be ashamed of serving something like that. Not really much else to say. Don't normally write reviews or complain but thought this was off the scale completely.

Helpful?
Thank sean c
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Sean, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your Stew. The Irish Stew is one of our most popular dishes and we've never had a complaint about it before. Can I ask why it was so terrible on the day you came so I can check with the chef? thanks, Jim More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Lovely place, very cosy and friendly staff. The christmas dinner was so good, will be going back to try other things on the menu. .

Helpful?
Thank stephanie d
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, thanks for the lovely comment. So glad you enjoyed your Christmas dinner. Looking forward to seeing you in 2016! :) More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

Awful it couldn't get any worse . Atmosphere was terrible , this one time lovely bar has lost its way . Will not be back Food is bad , no stew and service has a lot to answer for . As for the first person you will meet , ( the door staff ) , absolutely the worst I've ever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nuttster
JimBelfast83, Owner at White's Tavern, responded to this review

Hi Nuttster, sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at Whites. Can I ask when you were in so I can investigate the problems you talked about in your review? More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

Being one of the oldest bars in Belfast, White's Tavern is a lovely little old building that has a very homely feeling to it. Downstairs has a cosy pub with an open fire and upstairs has a disco on a Friday and Saturday night with a great mix of music. I used to go to White's almost every week until... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hugh F

Travelers who viewed White's Tavern also viewed

Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Belfast, Northern Ireland
 

Been to White's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White's Tavern and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from White's Tavern staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?