We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church

Certificate of Excellence
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Monk Street, Abergavenny NP7 5ND, Wales
Phone Number: 01873 858787
Website
Description: This should definitely be listed. There is a wonderful museum, cafe with...
This should definitely be listed. There is a wonderful museum, cafe with outdoor seating area, and exhibition,beautiful Millennium Tapestry
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 76 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 36
    Excellent
  • 26
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
A Lovely Quick Stop

A lovely old building with a lot of stories to tell on the information displays. Tapestry is excellent. Free entry but please leave a donation. We did not use the cafe but it was... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed April 15, 2015
OzzyKT
,
Kettering, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

Nice cuppa and cake place friendly service and nice cake selection. Little off the beaten track but a nice spot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StMarysPriory, Manager at The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor. We also feel it is a lovely place for a cuppa and although we are on the edge of Abergavenny we are extremely fortunate in our surroundings. Our court yard in the sunshine is a great place to relax, Thanks again for your kind comments Paul Thompson... More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 NEW

It's worth visiting to see the 12th Tithe Barn itself, but the cafe is definitely worth avoiding. The waiting staff are everything you would expect from zero-hours contracted workers, utterly indifferent to the customers with little or know motivation to do their job. I asked one bored looking teenager if I could have a glass of water and you'd swear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
StMarysPriory, Manager at The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church, responded to this review

Dear Lee J Whilst we appreciate comments on Trip Advisor and if not always positive as you felt your experience has been on visiting us, we use these as hopefully constructive criticism. Please do not make false assumptions firstly none of our staff are on zero hours contracts, Also it is confusing who served you as the only male member... More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 attraction reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

A lovely old building with a lot of stories to tell on the information displays. Tapestry is excellent. Free entry but please leave a donation. We did not use the cafe but it was busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StMarysPriory, Manager at The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words I'm pleased to see the Food Hall was busy even though you didn't sample our food. We hope you get a chance to visit again soon. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Called in for some soup and a coffee at about 3.45 on a sat pm to the coffee shop. People were occupying tables, food was out on display, the boards were still out with menus and options including soup, went to the counter and asked for 2 soups (as advertised) and 2 coffees (as advertised). Was told by the team... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StMarysPriory, Manager at The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church, responded to this review

Although a late response of which my apologies as the original response didn't post. When we reviewed this it would appear that a new Saturday staff member was a bit over zealous on our closing times and serving of food. We do close at 4pm but you should have been offered the option of food even if not hot food... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

This is a perfectly amazing tapestry, showing good craftsmanship and nice colours. Below on the first floor, is the food hall with a average cafe serving soup, teas and coffee, and the occasional bread roll.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
StMarysPriory, Manager at The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Tithe Barn. We are blessed to have our wonderful tapestry on show and still free to see for all visitors. I was surprised by the comment average cafe as we also offer sandwiches , baguettes a hot dish of the day which was lamb cawl on the day in question along... More 

Southwest
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Attended a course there today. This is a superb venue, simple but comfortable. The catering was excellent and extremely accommodating in view of my fairly extreme food allergy. The course was top quality as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

A very beautiful place to visit, it's a bit of a tardis, it's huge and beautiful inside. Took my wife, daughter and the mother in law and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
StMarysPriory, Manager at The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our facilities. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we along with yourself and others think this is a beautiful place. Many thanks Paul Thompson Manager More 

CoB
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Free to enter both, but a little bit disappointing, I have been church's with a lot more history than this one. Very little gronds to explore. Cafe in the barn is good for a coffee and cake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abergavenny
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I had a visit when everything was disappointing but on another visit it was all good. The service could be better, ok as a cafe but won't rush back. Some items over priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
warminster
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Having spent a few hours looking for somewhere to have a spot of lunch on a day trip to Abergavenny, came across the Tithe Barn cafe quite by chance. And what a delightful spot. Usual fare (jacket potatoes, paninis and so on) but great for veggies and good value for money. Only downer would be more outside tables needed but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church also viewed

Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
Abergavenny, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tithe Barn, St Marys Church staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?