We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spetchley Park Gardens

Gardens, Nature & Parks
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Get directions
Address: Spetchley, Worcester WR5 1RS, England
Phone Number: 01453 810303
Website
Description: Three miles east of Worcester surrounded by glorious countryside and deer...
Three miles east of Worcester surrounded by glorious countryside and deer park lays one of Britain’s best-kept secrets. Spetchley is a garden for all tastes containing one of the biggest private collections of plant varieties outside the major botanical gardens. Spetchley is not a formal paradise of neatly manicured lawns or beds but rather a wondrous display of plants, shrubs and trees woven into a garden of many rooms and vistas. It is certainly an ever changing garden and one undergoing many changes. The Revival Project is in its infancy; a ten year project aimed at reviving Spetchley's wonderful legacy. Please follow us to see how we get on and come and visit to view this wonderful garden and watch its transformation.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 66 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 23
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 12
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Most recent review
Lovely morning out

Nice few hours out with another grown up! Nice tea room and an old church to visit within the gardens too. Nice walk, especially in the spring! Will visit again.

4 of 5 starsReviewed January 20, 2015
oakallsmum
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Nice few hours out with another grown up! Nice tea room and an old church to visit within the gardens too. Nice walk, especially in the spring! Will visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Henry B, Manager at Spetchley Park Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I hope you managed to watch the Daffodil episode of The Great British Garden Revival on BBC 2. It is still on BBC iplayer for another 23 days if you missed it. This gives a wonderful view of the Daffodils in Spring at Spetchley with Carole Klein. Spetchlley is magical in Spring. Swathes... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Well Spetchley is shut now ,but my wife and myself can not wait to go back next april. Will be joining for the whole year .. took my dad this yr 8 times he loved it that much he joined and will be coming with us for many a afternoon wondering round .. This yr we found the heard of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Visited here on a quite summer's weekend. Very pleasant walk around the gardens- very well kept. Definitely work a visit,

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

we turned up with the children to see the Magical Winter Wonderland, as advertised until 21st December. Closed, no lights! Disappointed children! We thought we would leave it until just before Christmas to add that extra excitement. remotegoat says open for 10 nights from Friday 12th until Sunday 21st 4:30 till 9:00, same as advertised in my local newspaper. VERY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We came here with family, no one on the gate, so luckily we did not pay for the few minutes we were here. Perhaps in the summer it would be better..... I would not recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Henry B, Manager at Spetchley Park Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and I am so sorry you felt let down by your trip. September is a tricky month for gardens as it is the changeover as many plants begin hibernating. I can guarantee that SPETCHLEY is a stunning garden with many different aspects of horticulture. We are currently investing a lot into the garden... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 attraction reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Visited the gardens last month with my wife. It was a very pleasant and relaxing place to walk around. Whilst it was the end of the season the colours were superb. We have visited in the summer and it is a delightful place. The old church is also very interesting and the lake has wild life on it. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Henry B, Manager at Spetchley Park Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed an autumnal visit as we treasure the variety of trees, shrubs and plants that show themselves off so well when the rest of the garden is going into hibernation. We are now closed and frantic in trying to ensure that all the winter works are... More 

Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Thoroughly enjoying seeing this garden again and again as it changes through the seasons. The plants and grounds are beautiful with an outstanding tree collection. However, the cafe food is very average with a small selection of poorly cooked food. Staff in the cafe are off-hand and look bored. One was on her phone whilst we were trying to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henry B, Manager at Spetchley Park Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Clare Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoy your trips to the gardens. It is indeed a special place to be. We do strive to ensure that every aspect of our visitors' day is enjoyable and of the highest standard and therefore I was upset to hear that the staff and food in the Tea... More 

Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

A lovely alternative to manicured National Trust gardens with their ubiquitous emphasis on 'child-friendly' features (i.e. dumbed down history/dressing up rooms). Here, there are wonderful plants, shrubs and trees in expansive grounds. OK there are plenty of weeds too but that just makes the garden more real, less intimidating to those of us with ordinary patches at home! Best time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Henry B, Manager at Spetchley Park Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and how wonderful that you have enjoyed Spetchley for what it is. Yes, we have weeds, but who doesn't! In our view a garden is not a garden unless it does show an element of realism. We do not like presenting Spetchley as an unloved, unkempt garden but we do like people to enjoy it... More 

Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Really pleasant gardens to have a wander around - plenty of colour and variety of flowers in the borders. The garden is split into a variety of sections giving a feeling of tranquility and privacy. Some great trees and sculptures dotted around too. Along with a lovely lake. There's also a cafe with basic lunch (sandwiches and jacket potatoes) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
66 attraction reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

This is a beautiful place to just stroll round and enjoy the views and the gardens. There is much to see. There is a nice little cafe serving sandwiches and baked potatoes and salads with even a local bottled beer. It has its own sheltered garden with indoor and outdoor seating. My only compliant was that they still had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henry B, Manager at Spetchley Park Gardens, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am thrilled you enjoyed your visit and the cosy ambiance provided by the tea room. You will be glad to hear that the banners for the Re-enactment event are now down and we have updated our leaflets in the tea room. It is never our intention to mislead our visitors. For interests sake,... More 

Travelers who viewed Spetchley Park Gardens also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Spetchley Park Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Spetchley Park Gardens staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?