We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bowood House and Gardens

Route A4 | Derryhill village, England
01249 812102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 157 Attractions in Wiltshire
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens
51 visitor photos
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    14
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 NEW

Coming From Kent we have a range of large historic houses so we weren't sure whether to go to Bowood! but we were incredibly impressed. Everything's been thought of! Soft play areas, fabulous outdoor play areas, picnic areas, cute cafés, absolutely gorgeous! The facilities we very very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello JR&SSR - many thanks for your lovely review and for coming all the way from Kent to see us. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your day with us - we all think it's gorgeous here too but it's nice when other people say it. Kind regards More

county durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

As fairly new grandparents and visitors to the area, we were looking for a place that had something for everyone. The gentleman at the gate was very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in where we'd come from. The house and gardens are beautiful! Our granddaughter was welcomed by the friendly staff at the house who even offered to watch her... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello librarian71 and thanks for your review - I'm delighted you had a good day with us. I will pass on your comments about the coffee shop. I hope you and your granddaughter can come back and see us again. Kind regards. More

Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 NEW

As the website says "the best outdoor play zone in the uk" it really is. It cost £32.49 for myself and my 3 boys, but good value as we did not stay still for the 3 hours we spent there. We will definitely be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

hello Blueeyestrue. many thanks for your great review - I'm really pleased you and your boys had a lovely time with us. Hope you can come back and visit us again. Kind regards More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The grounds are very well kept - a mixture of lawns, wooded areas, a walled garden, a lake and waterfalls. If you visit during May/early June (which unfortunately I didn't), I would recommend a visit to the adjacent Rhodedendron gardens which should be in full bloom at that time. The area of the house open to the public can be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Mike B Thank you for your review - so pleased you enjoyed the house and gardens. Do come back in May/June next year to see the Rhododendron gardens that you mentioned you didn't get chance to see this time - they are stunning and well worth a visit. Thanks again and kind regards. More

Adana, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
84 attraction reviews
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I found Bowood online by accident and immediately added it to our recent road trip. I was disappointed it was not covered by English Heritage or National Trust, but I was awe inspired as to why; that it is still owned by the family and they continue to reside in half of the manor, allowing the other half to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Corrine R Many thanks for your feedback - I'm really pleased that you enjoyed the playground and it sounds like you got to see plenty of the lovely grounds as well. I will pass on your comments about the range of sandwiches to the catering team (we do normally have the sort of fillings you mentioned but maybe there... More

Corsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We LOVE Bowood as a family and have season tickets, but the cafe near the car park is SO poor. They really need to sort it out. It is convenient to eat there, especially with our young son, but the food is always poor and overpriced. We tried it again yesterday in the vague hope things would have improved, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello AliClareBevan Thanks for your feedback - pleased you love the House and gardens so much but I am sorry to hear that you had a less than enjoyable experience in the Café. I will be taking your comments up with the manager of the café and we will look into all the points you raise. The café can get... More

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 attraction reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Bowood has an excellent adventure playground and my son absolutely loved it (he is 10). The grounds are lovely too and the house has a good exhibition running about the family and the First World War. I think that it would be good if there was a different pricing policy however. For example my son only went on the adventure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Lyn C Thanks for your review and I'm pleased your son loved the playground. Our tickets offer access to all the things on offer at Bowood House - the playground, farm, grounds, house and gardens - once people are in we want them to be able to roam freely without showing if they have paid for one particular bit... More

Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 attraction reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I went here on a sunny day with my boyfriend who had happy memories of the park from his childhood. We took a picnic and planned to relax by the lake and enjoy the gardens. However, you're not allowed to take picnics in, which is utterly ridiculous in my view, especially given the poor quality of food on offer. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello NMelton Thanks for your feedback but I have to say I am very surprised by most of what you said. Firstly we welcome (and always have done) picnics in the gardens - we want people to sit and enjoy their lunch in the beautiful surroundings. The café and toilets are situated in near the entrance so they are close... More

Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had a fantastic day. Entrance price was very reasonable and there was plenty to see and do. The play area has lots of exciting slides and climbs. The ice creams were good value. The house was very interesting and the staff were knowledgable and friendly. We had lunch in the restaurant in the house. I had the beef salad,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Punter B Thanks for your review - sounds like you had a great day with us which is great. Glad you enjoyed the food too - I will be passing on your comments to the staff. Thanks again and hope you come back and see us soon. More

Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Visited house and gardens last week. The parking is excellent and if parking to the side , affords great picnic location, without lugging all that entails around. The house is beautiful and staff are very informative, although, there is obviously much much more to see..House and grounds approx £10 each and fair value. should you have a number of children... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bowood H, Marketing Director at Bowood House and Gardens, responded to this review

Hello Douglas Many thanks for your response and I'm delighted you had a lovely day with us. Glad you enjoyed your picnic without having to set it up very far from the car - there is also a good choice of tasty, good value food in the café if you want to be completely unburdened with catering next time. Hope... More

Travelers who viewed Bowood House and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bowood House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowood House and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing