We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Harewood

Harewood House, Leeds LS17 9LG, England
+44 113 218 1010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 102 Attractions in Leeds
Type: Historic Sites
Owner description: This popular stately home was built in the mid-18th century by John Carr, decorated by Robert Adam and furnished by Thomas Chippendale. Harewood has... more » Owner description: This popular stately home was built in the mid-18th century by John Carr, decorated by Robert Adam and furnished by Thomas Chippendale. Harewood has exhibitions of contemporary art, award winning gardens, a wide range of open-air events: from concerts to kite festivals, car rallies to craft fairs. If you love art or gardens or walks in the countryside; if you’re looking for a family outing, a cultural experience or a romantic afternoon, come to Harewood. « less
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    97
    41
    26
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

I love Harewood House! I am so glad it is open to the public! I have looked around the house which is well worth doing if you like history and culture! And I have also been to many events here also! It's so nice that they open the grounds up to all kinds of different things! It's a really picturesque... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
scottie
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Given the limited opening hours, grounds 10-4 (?), house 11-4 with last entrance at 3.30, you need to time your visit carefully if you want to see everything, especially as entrance prices are such (£14 adults, £13 seniors) that you want to get your money's worth, whilst enjoying and taking your time over the interesting bits. Harewood has more of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
castleford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Myself hubby and 2 children had a lovely day at harewood house the grounds are beautiful really well looked after. The house is amazing and the guides was really helpful my son asked lots of questions and they was happy to answer them really nice. Oh dear have to agree about the courtyard cafe the staff was very disorganised and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We visited Harewood by chance as we were travelling from Harrogate to Sheffield. It is clearly popular as it was busy with families on the day we were there. The house is beautiful with some of the most stunning Robert Adams ceilings I have ever seen. There were many interesting items of Chippendale furniture and an outstanding collection of Sevres... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We visited with two friends & were a bit surprised by the entry price (reduced to £13 each as we were all over 60). Compared to ana verage National Trust property this is very expensive, access to the ground floor and basement only. The worst part of the experince was 'Afternoon Tea' on the terrace. This cost best part of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We visited Harewood House on a whim on the way back from a weekend break on a Sunday. We were very pleasantly surprised by the attractions and things to see and do. We happened to visit while a 'Volkswagen Festival' was being held in the grounds at the front of the house. This was an added bonus as our ticket... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Fantastic gardens and house, the best afternoon tea one could wish for sat out on the terrace with wonderful views Staff informative and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Be aware of hidden extras to pay on your visit to Harewood House. Two hour drive from Derby to visit this house. Nowhere on their Upcoming Events page on their website did I find that charges of £15 each would be incurred for their VW event just to visit the House and Gardens.. We ended up all paying £15 for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HarewoodHouse, Marketing Manager at Harewood, responded to this review

Hi Fabulous003, First of all we're genuinely sorry to hear you had a bad experience. We take customer service very seriously and we always appreciate feedback. Throughout the year Harewood is used as venue for big events like the VW Festival and the pricing structure is altered to reflect this. We try to ensure it's clear for visitors using the... More

York, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Dirty toilets and high prices spoilt our trip. Nice grounds to wander in. Caged birds a rather dated concept. Staff were friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HarewoodHouse, Marketing Manager at Harewood, responded to this review

Hi Paulpot, Thanks for your feedback. I'm assuming from the date your review was posted that you were possibly here during the VW Festival. If this is the case, you'll be aware that we were hosting a major event which included camping for several thousand people. Facilities are brought in specifically for the campsite however people do still walk up... More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A lovely day out, plenty to do but at £1.90 for a cup of tea and £4.50 for a filled bread roll, you are advised to take a picnic.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Harewood also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Harewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing