We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bancroft Cruisers

Holiday Inn Stratford | Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England
+44 1789 269669
Website
Improve this listing
91%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best 45 minute sightseeing cruise in Stratford upon Avon!! We offer excellent sightseeing cruises and we're the only company to have a boat with a licensed bar, wonderful cream teas and a Live commentary by our own on-board guides. Our guides share the history - and the amusing unknown history - of Stratford & Shakespeare during your cruise. We're a family business that operate 365 days a year, river conditions permitting. We can also cater for private parties - birthdays, anniversaries, Christmas, schools & coach groups - we do just about everything! Our ghost themed evening cruises are popular with local residents and tourists alike. If you'd like to know more please call or drop us an email.

Hotels near Bancroft Cruisers

Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    24
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014 NEW

Really enjoyed our cruise on the River Avon, went with Bancroft Cruises and met Andy, a guy who really does not know how good he is. Andy was the onboard guide and what a guide he was, his knowledge, delivery, humour were simply outstanding. Bancroft Cruise should make sure they hang on to this amazing young man. Some how I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I loved the cruise on the Avon but what really made it for me was our guide Andy, Andy is a true performer, funny, knowledgable with great delivery. I assumed he was an actor filling in between jobs, I was amazed that this was his full time job. Andy should be on the after-dinner circuit earning good money, he is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

The crew helped me surprise my girlfriend with a cream tea and champagne trip along the River Avon, we were booked into the private bow area and allowed on first which made everything even more special. The staff were extremely helpful and kind, both before and during the trip and the guided talk is funny and informative without being too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We took our two kids 12 and 15 on the trip this afternoon and had a lovely afternoon. We found the site easily and the tour took place on time. The staff were happy and approachable, they ensured that we knew what was going on and the commentary was funny and interesting. I never knew that was where the word... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

On a glorious afternoon, 10 September, a group of work colleagues and myself joined the Rita Ellen cruise boat moored alongside the Holiday Inn hotel. We were warmly greeted by a lovely lady called Fiona, who welcomed us all aboard, and we then proceeded to cruise up the river Avon whilst enjoying our wine and cream tea...a delightful, relaxing experience!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

our guide was called romeo it was a great trip worth every minute it was arranged by tour operate lee,s coachs from durham included in our holiday so if you go to stradford do not miss this trip on the river

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This cruise was included in the bus and boat ticket that cost 18 quid. We were jammed into the boat like sardines with very little room for legs. Was expecting a commentary, but there was nothing - there wasn't anything of particular interest to look at along the way, apart from ducks and swans. A pretty uninteresting way to spend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona R, Owner at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Dear Bayley Willow, I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your trip. I'm very surprised as we always do a live commentary. Could you confirm that your cruise was from the Holiday Inn and the date of your cruise and I'll investigate for you. Betst wishes, Fiona Rae Director Bancroft Cruisers 01789 269669 More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We can recommend this great little river cruise. Only criticism being that it was over in a flash! 🚣. The guide on board was very informative & entertaining . It's rather a shame if a previous reviewer didn't understand his sense of humour , which was all very lighthearted good fun , with no harm intended whatsoever . Our refreshments... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Generally a worthwhile trip. The crew were reasonably informative with some humour thrown in. Maybe could have lasted a little longer as it seemed over in a flash but worth doing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

We bought tickets via livingsocial to take my mother out for a cruise and cream tea. We phoned bancroft several weeks in advance of voucher expiry to book and got no answer so left voicemails. We heard nothing back. Voucher dates finally expired so called living social who said we should have called to complain earlier! Totally un helpful and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fiona R, Owner at Bancroft Cruisers, responded to this review

Hi John, I'm so sorry you had problems getting through to us. We had horrendous problems with our phones and lost many calls. Fixed now! May I invite you to join us for a free cruise with cream tea to make up for your disappointment!!? With a glass of fizz too :) Best wishes, Fiona DIRECTOR BANCROFT CRUISERS 01789 269669 More

Travelers who viewed Bancroft Cruisers also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Bancroft Cruisers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing