We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thermae Bath Spa

Hetling Pump Room | Hot Bath Street, Bath BA2 6NH, England
01225 331234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 47 Activities in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Spas
Activities: Swimming
Traveler Description: Thermae Bath Spa, Bath, England, United Kindom [Therme] www.thermaebathsp... Thermae Bath Spa Hetling Pump Room Hot Bath Steet Bath BA1 1SJ... more »
Write a Review

2,314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    741
    383
    161
    92
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pitstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

The spa is nice. It's in a lovely location and the roof spar is very good. I'd suggest a 2 hour stay is enough. It has limited spa attractions / equipment but is clean and tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

Me and my partner had a great time at the Thermae Bath Spa. It is a little on the expensive side but it's a must if you're visiting Bath. We went on a Thursday and we didn't need to queue so I would recommend a weekday visit if at all possible. The rooftop pool is definitely the highlight of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

This place is amazing! The water is hot spring water which therefore doesn't smell of chemicals. The rooftop pool is an experience for the senses. We were in there when it was raining, so we had cold water dropping from above while we swam in warm water! Add to this the magnificent view of the Abbey and the lush green... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Until you actually bathe in the thermal waters, it is impossible to appreciate the difference between tap water and the naturally warm, mineral-rich spring waters. We note your comments about the heat of the steam rooms and the changing room area. With regard to the latter, the architects... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We both went because it was my birthday I wanted to relax I got disappointed by the number of people in the pools too many people in the pool felt I couldn't relax to much on top of people would go again but not when it bank holiday it's aload of money we had 4 hours which was too long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We limit the numbers coming into the Spa but we appreciate that it can be busy on Bank Holiday weekends. We were disappointed to read your comments about the food in the Restaurant and will liaise directly with our Head Chef. More

Sharon, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Great Spa! We had to wait in line for 30 minutes to be admitted. It was well worth the wait. We were unprepared for the Spa, so we rented, robes, towels and slipper all for 9 pounds. Make sure you take your bathing suite. We had an option of staying 2 hours 4 hours or all day. We chose 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're really glad you enjoyed your visit - love your comments about the Romans! You're right about the options of having a 4-hour or full day spa session but would agree that you can enjoy the main spa facilities in a 2-hour spa session. More

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

visited 26/8/14 pre-booked to avoid the queues. entered at 1700 with a twilight package which consisted of using the facilities for two hours and a meal afterwards. i would return during winter to take advantage of the lighting effects in the pools but would probably skip the meal. (not really man size!..if you know what i mean)

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback - may I say that your wife chose a nice treat for you. There are many benefits by coming during the winter months including the greater contrast created by the lighting effects within the Spa and also the illuminated towers of Bath Abbey which can be seen from the rooftop pool. We appreciate your comments... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We had a wonderful experience at the spa. After initially being conscious of the cost, we decided to try it and we were not disappinted! The spa is so clean and beautifully presented. We were really impressed. It was an amazing experience and I would definitely go again. The only downside was the number of hairdryers. I ended up walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're glad that you enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your comments about the number of hairdyers and we are somewhat limited by space in the changing rooms. Quite recently, we managed to install an additional 3 hairdryers but recognise that they are well used during busy periods. We will always be flexible on timings... More

Wales
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

The cost is well over priced. Visited in July was ok but expected something more for what it cost... One of the steam rooms was broken we stayed an hour and found we were more than ready to leave!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we're sorry that your visit to the Spa did not live up to your expectations. Rightly or wrongly, we are not the cheapest, we're not the most expensive but we try to be as accessible as possible and offer good value for money. More

Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Well situated, though in a quiet street, perfect for a relaxing hour or four! The steam baths are a delight, the pools themselves amazing, but the one that takes the cake is the top one, with a view to die for! If you got time to waste or if you need a bit of time out, go with the 4-hour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and would agree that the views across the skyline of Bath are magic. More

Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 attraction reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 NEW

At first we were not sure about it due to the cost, it's kind of pricey. BUT we decided to splurge and it was a great decision. It's very clean, has many different pools and scented steam rooms. We could have spent more time here than we did. I think we had a 3 hour pass and we used every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Bath and the UK. More

Travelers who viewed Thermae Bath Spa also viewed

 

Been to Thermae Bath Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermae Bath Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing