We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thermae Bath Spa

Hetling Pump Room | Hot Bath Street, Bath BA2 6NH, England
01225 331234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 47 Activities in Bath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Spas
Activities: Swimming
Traveler Description: Thermae Bath Spa, Bath, England, United Kindom [Therme] www.thermaebathsp... Thermae Bath Spa Hetling Pump Room Hot Bath Steet Bath BA1 1SJ... more »
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    742
    384
    162
    92
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW

My husband and I were really looking forward to have a nice 2hours to relax before visiting Bath. It was quite a disappointment, actually stressed me out more! We went early on Saturday morning to try to avoid crowds, but there were still too many people in the rooftop and Minerva pools to be enjoyable. Lots of people also translate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW

I've lived in Bath for a year and a half now, and I've only recently experienced the wonders of the Thermae Spa. I loved it! There are three main areas - the Minerva bath, the steam room, and the rooftop bath. The Minerva bath is indoors, and less crowded. It has a really cool lazy river thing going on too,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW

Have been to the spa a few times before, but this was the first time we tried a package. It was good not to have to rush with the extra time this gave us. The pools were lovely again,especially the open air pool when lit up at night. The treatments were fine, the staff are very friendly and professional. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 NEW

We visited in a group of 8 on a Saturday morning - only a short queue so I would advise attending early as when we left the queue was enormous! The rooftop pool is simply spectacular and not to be missed. The steam rooms are lovely but very hot indeed, make sure you bring water to the spa with you!!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

Visited in October on a day that the weather was beautiful: sunny, vivid blue skies, 65 degrees. We bought swimsuits, and were graciously shown everything and everywhere we needed to go. The bath/pool on the roof offered stunning, sweeping views of the bucolic countryside; roaming, lush green hills with grazing sheep, old stone homes, and centuries-old stone walls. The experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pitstone
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

The spa is nice. It's in a lovely location and the roof spar is very good. I'd suggest a 2 hour stay is enough. It has limited spa attractions / equipment but is clean and tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 NEW

Me and my partner had a great time at the Thermae Bath Spa. It is a little on the expensive side but it's a must if you're visiting Bath. We went on a Thursday and we didn't need to queue so I would recommend a weekday visit if at all possible. The rooftop pool is definitely the highlight of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

This place is amazing! The water is hot spring water which therefore doesn't smell of chemicals. The rooftop pool is an experience for the senses. We were in there when it was raining, so we had cold water dropping from above while we swam in warm water! Add to this the magnificent view of the Abbey and the lush green... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. Until you actually bathe in the thermal waters, it is impossible to appreciate the difference between tap water and the naturally warm, mineral-rich spring waters. We note your comments about the heat of the steam rooms and the changing room area. With regard to the latter, the architects... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

We both went because it was my birthday I wanted to relax I got disappointed by the number of people in the pools too many people in the pool felt I couldn't relax to much on top of people would go again but not when it bank holiday it's aload of money we had 4 hours which was too long... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We limit the numbers coming into the Spa but we appreciate that it can be busy on Bank Holiday weekends. We were disappointed to read your comments about the food in the Restaurant and will liaise directly with our Head Chef. More

Sharon, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 NEW

Great Spa! We had to wait in line for 30 minutes to be admitted. It was well worth the wait. We were unprepared for the Spa, so we rented, robes, towels and slipper all for 9 pounds. Make sure you take your bathing suite. We had an option of staying 2 hours 4 hours or all day. We chose 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThermaeB, Manager at Thermae Bath Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we're really glad you enjoyed your visit - love your comments about the Romans! You're right about the options of having a 4-hour or full day spa session but would agree that you can enjoy the main spa facilities in a 2-hour spa session. More

Travelers who viewed Thermae Bath Spa also viewed

 

Been to Thermae Bath Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermae Bath Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing