We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragon Hall

115-123 King Street, Norwich NR1 1QE , England
Update attraction details
Ranked #42 of 91 attractions in Norwich
Type: Historic Sites
Owner description: Dragon Hall is a magnificent Grade 1 listed medieval trading hall in the heart of Norwich. Visit us to see our beautiful carved and painted dragon in... more » Owner description: Dragon Hall is a magnificent Grade 1 listed medieval trading hall in the heart of Norwich. Visit us to see our beautiful carved and painted dragon in the stunning timber crown post roof of the Great Hall. Discover more about Robert Toppes, the man that built Dragon Hall, commerce, trade and civic life in the 15th century and how Norwich became England's second city. After Toppes the building was changed and adapted over the centuries and the Great Hall was lost and only rediscovered in the 1970s above the attics of a row of terraced houses and shops.We provide a great programme of activities for children and families in school holidays, curriculum linked days for schools, craft and textile workshops for adults as well as markets, fairs and living history events, concerts and performances. Dragon Hall is also available to hire for weddings, celebrations and business events. Dragon Hall is managed by The Norfolk & Norwich Heritage Trust, a registered charity. All our activities help us to care for this unique building and keep it open as for learning, cultural and community activities. « less
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 NEW

On April 5th 2014 my son and his new bride had their wedding breakfast at this beautiful old building. It was stunning. The food was good, the waiters were good and the Great Hall looked wonderful. A great time was had by all. Thankyou!

Was this review helpful? Yes
norwich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Went to visit the medieval Christmas fair on Saturday 7th December but never actually got to see it. I had been waiting many months to attend and was absolutely disgusted that I was expected to pay an admission fee to go in and buy some goods from the stall holders. I do not expected to pay an admission fee to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A beautiful building, with some interesting history but it really only warrants a half an hour visit as is quite small. They do have an audio guide and are extremely friendly and helpful but still a little pricey for what it offers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Today I took two boys under 6 to Dragon Hall. Although it is stunning from an architecture point of view, I was disappointed with the lack of things to do for children. As the price suggested there would be more. I feel they should make it free entry for children.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DragonHall N, Manager at Dragon Hall, responded to this review

Dear Miafrancesca Thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the admission price and your visit. We have a number of activities for children including a free detective trail. We have also introduced some new interactives for children this summer including a puppet theatre, some food artefacts for children to lay a medieval table... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is possibly thre best place in the city for a function for up to 100 people. The medievil room is simply enchanting. My only tip wpould be to avoid the depths of winter as there isn't much heating!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DragonHall N, Manager at Dragon Hall, responded to this review

Tony Thank you for your lovely comment about Dragon Hall being a great meeting venue. We do have modern heating and regret that on the day you were at Dragon Hall you felt cold. We would have been happy to have turned up the heating had you mentioned it on the day. I do hope that you use us as... More

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

the information is really interesting, there are lots of different events there as well. the way the building has been restored shows clearly new from old, so you can see the contrast and know when you're looking at original features.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Suffolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Another group visit but we were all impressed. Great tour guide, very informative. Beautifully restored building and the exhibits are good especially those designed for children.. Good shop with good priced gifts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norfolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We went to the event at Dragon Hall last weekend and enjoyed it. We bought a wreath, some hand made tree decorations and a pair of holly ear-rings ..... all stuff for our Christmas...... and drank a glass of mulled wine there too ....... not our usual tipple. Yes, it was crowded. Christmas markets usually are and this one was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We visited this lovely old building at the weekend with family that had travelled down from the midlands to visit for the weekend. we were all looking forward to our day trip out to see a Christmas event. As previously written by someone else who also visited I can agree with them that the stalls are placed very tightly into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DragonHall N, Manager at Dragon Hall, responded to this review

I’m so sorry your experience of our Christmas market didn’t meet your or our expectations. I’m afraid the musicians probably had gone for lunch during your visit. They play on a voluntary basis over the 2 days of the market and do take regular breaks throughout the day. I appreciate that the market can get busy, that is what gives... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went for the medieval market. The stallholders were dressed in furniture fabrics and selling the same stuff you see at every other sort of craft market. Poor. Also, for the disabled visitor who can't climb stairs, very confusing set-up. Too many people with not enough walking space between stalls made this visit a nightmare for me. I would have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DragonHall N, Manager at Dragon Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about the medieval Christmas market. I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit. With regard to disabled visitors who can’t climb stairs we do have an easily accessible lift. Throughout the weekend we also had a volunteer on duty to assist visitors who needed to use the lift and I am sorry if you... More

Travelers who viewed Dragon Hall also viewed

 
Norwich, Norfolk
Norwich, Norfolk
 

Been to Dragon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dragon Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Manage your listing