We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chuan Spa

Neighborhood:
Marylebone
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number: 020 7973 7550
Website
Improve this listing
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Description:

Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s...

Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s first hotel spa to incorporate ancient principles of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) into its signature treatments, ambience and décor. Guests can relax in the vitality pool, salt-sauna and steam room before visiting the spa treatment area.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 49 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 26
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 9
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
An oasis of calm and Tranquility

Went with a companion, and what a Xmas treat this place is. A quiet and relaxing Spa, everything about the visit is fantastic. It was a great place for spoiling and pampering and... read more

5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Graeme M
,
London, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with a companion, and what a Xmas treat this place is. A quiet and relaxing Spa, everything about the visit is fantastic. It was a great place for spoiling and pampering and the afternoon tea afterwards was amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

The Towels are old don't smell fresh. Very low on cleanliness. Showers looks not cleaned in weeks. Toilets not flushed!! Skip

Helpful?
3 Thank Hassan1123
langham08, Owner at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hassan1123, Many thanks for taking the time to review Chuan Spa. We endeavour to keep our standards at a five star level so I am very disappointed to read your comments and would like to apologise for the service you experienced. I have been investigating this further and if you would like to contact me directly please do so.... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

This was my second visit here and I was blown away with the level of service and the experience recieved. We were running slightly late and arrived just in time for our treatments. After being greeted by the very pleasant staff, we were whisked through to the treatment rooms and pampered to within an inch of our lives. I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M_in_the_city1981
Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

From the moment you walk in, the soothing music & fragrant scent put you at ease, the staff are polite & professional, great facilities to use before your treatment, I would advise booking at least a week in advance.

Helpful?
Thank christopherbQ4118NQ
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015

I needed some me time, I have been to quite a few spa,s. I would definitely say this is top of my list. I had a back massage and use of facility saunas and Jacuzzi pools :-). after your treatment you are given a bowl of fruit, berries & grapes some tea, you can help yourselves to bottles of water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

First of all I had tried to call the spa over a 2 day period where I was continuously getting voicemail. This is not great at all. I finally got through and booked my treatment a facial. I was greeted by a very polite and smiley lady. The customer service was great however the issues I had made a huge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Preeti K
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear MsP, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you found our staff to be polite and smiley. Please accept our apologies for the problems with reserving your treatment, air con and lack of music. I shall be investigating each thoroughly. If you would like please do contact me directly to discuss your experience... More 

london
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2015 via mobile

Had an amazing massage here. Staff were friendly and helpful. Veronica who was my therapist was fab! Will return soon.

Helpful?
Thank AliceCWLondon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

I treated my wife to a day at the Chuan Spa, which involved an hour massage in their VIP (twin) room, followed by an afternoon tea in the Palm Court. Both my wife and I were extremely happy with the service, and how professional the team where. We felt very relaxed, de-stressed, very well pampered and looked after. I wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank 83GBH1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I was given a Chuan Ritual voucher for my birthday, and finally got round to using it today. While I found the overall experience relaxing and the treatments themselves pleasant, I must say that the facilities were disappointing. Like the user below, the jacuzzi wasn't working (pathetic little jets) and so I headed to the pool - only for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank kikassgal
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kikassgal Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we are very disappointed to read your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies in regards to the workmen in the area, we were experiencing some difficulty with our pool on that day which is why they were around, however any remedial works should have been made when the... More 

London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

After an icy and snooty greeting by the reception staff who weren't even at the desk when we arrived or when we left, we were shown the lockers. The majority of people here are kind, but not really available, when I was having difficulty at the coffee machine it was a gym goer who helped me out. This is a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank cellrone
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear cellrone Thank you for your review. I was disappointed when I learned of your experience at Chuan Spa. Once again please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard, in which we pride ourselves on. I do hope following our recent conversation you will reconsider your decision to visit us again. Please do not hesitate to... More 

Travelers who viewed Chuan Spa also viewed

 

Been to Chuan Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chuan Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Marylebone

Neighborhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighborhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighborhood