We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chuan Spa

Neighborhood:
Marylebone
Improve this listing
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number: 020 7973 7550
Website
Today
10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Description: Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s...
Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s first hotel spa to incorporate ancient principles of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) into its signature treatments, ambience and décor. Guests can relax in the vitality pool, salt-sauna and steam room before visiting the spa treatment area.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 36 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 18
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Most recent review
Third visit - very relaxing

We really enjoyed today's visit to this spa. We haven't used the treatments yet, just the wet area and sauna. The staff are friendly and you can see they work very hard to keep... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 14, 2015
samgl89
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We really enjoyed today's visit to this spa. We haven't used the treatments yet, just the wet area and sauna. The staff are friendly and you can see they work very hard to keep the place clean and tidy. It was a little busier than normal today but then it is Valentine's weekend. Walked out feeling very refreshed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The Chuan Spa venue is a lovely venue, high ceilings and beautiful decor, with a relaxed vibe. We spent a day there on Saturday which was nice, and we used all of the facilities before our treatments, however if you do want to swim in the pool, it is quite cold! Complimentary tea and coffe was good however shocked that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Holly B, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at Chuan Spa. Please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard of five star, in which we pride ourselves on. In regards your review please can you contact me at your earliest convenience on erinn.cracknell@chuanspa.com or... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

My husband booked a pampering afternoon for me as a treat with 3 hours of treatment included. Unfortunately I got delayed in tube and was 15 mins late, I was told immediately and very rudely this would come off my treatment time. I was then taken to a room and told to get changed - this took 2 mins but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pooja822 Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at Chuan Spa. Please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard of five star, in which we pride ourselves on. From my initial investigation I have noted that your treatment was changed to a Pedicure due to... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
274 attraction reviews
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I had a wonderful visit to the Chuan Spa. I booked the one hour prenatal massage, which I felt was very reasonably priced for the high quality of the massage. The spa facilities were nice and service was excellent. I appreciated that while the spa products were pointed out, there was absolutely no pressure to purchase anything. The spa seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Visited Chuan Spa on Saturday and it was beautiful. I had booked their signature massage and arrived two hours before to use the facilities. Fresh fruit, water, tea and coffee on hand with no charge. My massage therapist was Yasika. She is a tiny wee girl so I thought my massage wasnt going to be very good, she was brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

As frequent luxury spa goers, my husband and I were excited to try out the chan spa for his birthday. Having found a rather excellent deal on its website on sunday, I rang up and triple confirmed that this deal included wonderland tea on a WEEKDAY offer.I was quoted the price back and awaited email. The only confirmation I received... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Paleja, Many thanks for taking the time to review Chuan Spa. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our facilities and the treatments. I am very sorry about the mix up on reception, we have two different afternoon tea and spa packages and we will be reviewing both so this never happens again. I do hope... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was staying at the Langham and after 3 weeks of business travel needed a good deep tissue . The spa is supposed to be open at 8 am , I went down at 8 30 and the internal door to the hotel was still locked . Returned to me room rang them and went back down. Booked a 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear skipAussieontour, Thank you for your feedback. Our opening times for the Spa is 10am – 9pm which is why you would have encountered a closed door at 8am. We are pleased however that you were able to book your appointment through the hotel operator. I would like to discuss your feedback further, as part of our Spa journey you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I booked online, confirmed everything via email and had no problems. It was not cheap but I thought we got what we paid for. After reading previous reviews I was concerned that there might be kids in the pool or we might get short changed on our treatments but on the contrary I had the pool to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I FOUND THIS A SUPER RELAXING SPA with very friendly helpful team- i wanted to award 5 but there were 3 down points - hopefully if i go again i will be able to award a 5 therapists were the most professional and skilled that i have experienced for a long time both in london and abroad - hope to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm delighted you found our staff friendly and helpful. I would like to further investigate the treatments being late, would you mind contacting me at Erinn.Cracknell@chuanspa.com We look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind regards Erinn Cracknell Director of Spa More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Once you actually get a treatment it is what you would expect for the price, but the booking system is so bad and the desk staff so hopeless you need another two hours massage just to get over the stress of dealing with it. On both occasions that I have booked treatments with the Chuan Spa I have booked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Oliver D, Thank you so very much for taking your valuable time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Chuan Spa. I was sorry to note your comments regarding your booking experience. Please accept my apologies for this shortfall. We are investigating the comments that you have raised and will be in contact with you . Kind regards... More 

Travelers who viewed Chuan Spa also viewed

 

Been to Chuan Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chuan Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Marylebone

Neighborhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighborhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighborhood