We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chuan Spa

Neighborhood:
Marylebone
Improve this listing
Sponsored by:
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number: 020 7973 7550
Website
Today
9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Description: Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s...
Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s first hotel spa to incorporate ancient principles of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) into its signature treatments, ambience and décor. Guests can relax in the vitality pool, salt-sauna and steam room before visiting the spa treatment area.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 41 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 20
    Excellent
  • 4
    Very good
  • 8
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Third visit - very relaxing

We really enjoyed today's visit to this spa. We haven't used the treatments yet, just the wet area and sauna. The staff are friendly and you can see they work very hard to keep... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed February 14, 2015
samgl89
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I was given a Chuan Ritual voucher for my birthday, and finally got round to using it today. While I found the overall experience relaxing and the treatments themselves pleasant, I must say that the facilities were disappointing. Like the user below, the jacuzzi wasn't working (pathetic little jets) and so I headed to the pool - only for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kikassgal Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we are very disappointed to read your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies in regards to the workmen in the area, we were experiencing some difficulty with our pool on that day which is why they were around, however any remedial works should have been made when the... More 

London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

After an icy and snooty greeting by the reception staff who weren't even at the desk when we arrived or when we left, we were shown the lockers. The majority of people here are kind, but not really available, when I was having difficulty at the coffee machine it was a gym goer who helped me out. This is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear cellrone Thank you for your review. I was disappointed when I learned of your experience at Chuan Spa. Once again please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard, in which we pride ourselves on. I do hope following our recent conversation you will reconsider your decision to visit us again. Please do not hesitate to... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

I decided to treat myself and booked the city chic package. The treatments were carried out by Bethany and she was fabulous. I was so relaxed I fell asleep which made the painting of my nails slightly difficult as my hands kept falling off the table but she handled it superbly. After the treatments, I could relax with some herbal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear M_in_the_city1981, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at Chuan Spa. Please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard, in which we pride ourselves on. With regards to the children swimming hours, to avoid disappointment we add this information to our treatment confirmation email and... More 

Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

My friend and I treated ourselves to a treatment in Chuan SPA on Sunday. I had their signature facial and my friend had an aromatherapy massage. Both were amazing and literally was the best facial I have ever had. Staff are professional, friendly and the treatments are worth every penny for a nice treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenaj, Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to submit it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Chuan Spa More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

My treatment was at 1015 for a 2 hours 30minutes Tao of Detox.It was beautifully done by Gosia! I enjoyed very much! The Chuan spa staffs all has a beautiful smile on their face as I walked in,There was one lady downstairs collecting towers and topping up the beverages as she noticed the slippers are way too big for me,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We really enjoyed today's visit to this spa. We haven't used the treatments yet, just the wet area and sauna. The staff are friendly and you can see they work very hard to keep the place clean and tidy. It was a little busier than normal today but then it is Valentine's weekend. Walked out feeling very refreshed!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

The Chuan Spa venue is a lovely venue, high ceilings and beautiful decor, with a relaxed vibe. We spent a day there on Saturday which was nice, and we used all of the facilities before our treatments, however if you do want to swim in the pool, it is quite cold! Complimentary tea and coffe was good however shocked that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Holly B, Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at Chuan Spa. Please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard of five star, in which we pride ourselves on. In regards your review please can you contact me at your earliest convenience on erinn.cracknell@chuanspa.com or... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

My husband booked a pampering afternoon for me as a treat with 3 hours of treatment included. Unfortunately I got delayed in tube and was 15 mins late, I was told immediately and very rudely this would come off my treatment time. I was then taken to a room and told to get changed - this took 2 mins but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pooja822 Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience at Chuan Spa. Please accept my sincerest apologies that this was not to the standard of five star, in which we pride ourselves on. From my initial investigation I have noted that your treatment was changed to a Pedicure due to... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
548 reviews
275 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I had a wonderful visit to the Chuan Spa. I booked the one hour prenatal massage, which I felt was very reasonably priced for the high quality of the massage. The spa facilities were nice and service was excellent. I appreciated that while the spa products were pointed out, there was absolutely no pressure to purchase anything. The spa seems... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Visited Chuan Spa on Saturday and it was beautiful. I had booked their signature massage and arrived two hours before to use the facilities. Fresh fruit, water, tea and coffee on hand with no charge. My massage therapist was Yasika. She is a tiny wee girl so I thought my massage wasnt going to be very good, she was brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers who viewed Chuan Spa also viewed

 

Been to Chuan Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chuan Spa

Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number: 020 7973 7550
Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  London>  > Marylebone
Open Hours:
Sunday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Monday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday 10:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.

Manage your listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chuan Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Marylebone

Neighborhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighborhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighborhood